We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Relaxing Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelka Lodge on Lake George

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lake George is a home away from home for me but this was my first stay at Chelka Lodge. My boyfriend (who was a first time visitor to the lake) and I stayed here for four nights and had a fantastic time. The lodge is located in a quiet and private bay with beautiful views of the lake and surrounding mountains. We stayed on the ground floor of the motel and were happy with the room. Although some decor was outdated, it added to the charm of the place and we were really not in the room that much to mind. However, the bathroom was updated which was nice. The complimentary breakfast provided every morning was an added bonus and the staff was very efficient and helpful. We made use of the canoes and kayaks provided and enjoyed relaxing on the lawn by the lake. The lodge is close to Bolton Landing where we went several times to eat dinner, and also not too far from Lake George Village.

The only complaint would be that our room was located on the ground floor right under the ramp to get to the second level which got quit loud with other guests going up and down it very early in the morning and late at night.

Overall we had a great time at this beautiful place and hope to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We enjoyed having you as our guests. We appreciate your comments concerning the ramp. Unfortunately the way the motel was built the ramp is necessary and helpful to those guests who have difficulty with stairs, but we are aware of the noise situation. We're glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer here and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    40
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
86
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
valley cottage
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night at Chelka Lodge on our way home from a college tour. It was recommended by someone who had a place there. The lodge is right on the water, has its own strip of beach with a swimming area great for little kids, diving platform, as well as kayaks and row boats that you can row out into the cove in front of the property. It was nice not to have to rent this equipment and it was fun to be out on the water. We played shuffle board...I know...but the lack of electronics and the fun of ping pong, basket ball and shuffleboard made for a lovely evening with my teens. One gentleman played the guitar for a while and later on, as the sun was setting, another young man played the violin while I gazed out at the sunset on the lake. Peaceful. Relaxing. Worth every penny.

The rooms are simple and comfortable, motel style. Bit pricey but its the season. The breakfast room has cereal, oatmeal, muffins, coffee and tea. Friendly staff. Its nice to have this included and not have to go out for breakfast. Worth the visit and I would go back.

Room Tip: There are queen bed rooms which are recently renovated that you might check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelegreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, short as it was! We strive for a relaxing atmosphere where our guests can unwind and enjoy the simple "old-fashioned" pleasures-ping pong, shuffleboard, basketball, and, of course, our kayaks, canoes, row boats and paddle boards. And, sometimes, our guests provide entertainment, as you were able to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had never been to Lake George before and after searching hard and long online for accomodations we chose the Chelka Lodge mainly for the use of kayaks, paddleboards. We were not disappointed. The location on the lake is great as it sits in a cove, great for those who have children and you don"t need to worry so much being on the open lake where there is more current and activity. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and Dave and Judy were terrific hosts. My daughter had a great time with their two dogs. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We also love our location in Boon Bay because it is quieter and calmer than being out in the major part of the lake-perfect for kayaking and canoeing. Our two labs, Sophie and Heidi, love our guests as well! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This beautiful property is perfect for a family vacation . The web site did not however state that check in was required by 8 pm
or that there would be a 30 per person per night charge for additional people in the room - 2 Queen size beds 4 people right ? No ... 2 people per room .. available kayaks, row boats and canoes stay in small bay area ..other guests were very quiet and a little stuffy.
The included Breakfast was dry cereal, juice and coffee served family style.
But the views and lake were what we came for and that did not disappoint !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotJuliaChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. All comments help us to provide a better experience for our guests. We would like to clear up a few misunderstandings. We accept check-ins at any time. We just ask to be informed of a late check-in because we have a late check-in procedure. All of our rooms are priced for double occupancy-additional people are $15. per night which is clearly stated in the confirmation letter guests receive. Our kayaks, canoes, etc. are not limited to our bay;however because of the strong current, rough water and large motor boats in the main part of the lake we request our guests stay in the bay or along the coast for their safety. Our breakfast menu is more than cold cereal, juice and coffee. We also offer home-baked muffins, scones, and banana bread as well as hot cereal and fresh fruit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Owners take great pride in keeping Chelka Lodge up to date. New beds and impeccable grounds. Breakfast was a treat. Boats and kayaks are available for the guests. I would live to come back year after year. Only problem is the lack of efficiency units for those who would like to cook once in a while.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! We would love to have you as our guests again. We enjoy providing breakfast for our guests-we hope you were able to have some of Judy's homemade banana bread. If not, we'll be sure to have it on the menu next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Chelka Lodge and had a great time. Dave and Judy were great hosts and very helpful in recommending good restaurants in the area. The plentiful availability of canoes, kayaks, paddleboards, and rowboats along with the very nice swimming area and all the lawn chairs on the beautiful landscaped property made for an outstanding setting.

Room Tip: While views on the first floor were good, next time we will try to get a room on the upper level or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our canoes, kayaks, rowboats and particularly our new stand-up paddle boards are very popular with our guests. We are so fortunate to have such a large expanse of lawn which gives us the opportunity to plant the perennial gardens. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. We think you would enjoy our second-floor rooms-the view is outstanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our 3-day stay at Chelka Lodge was absolutely amazing. We loved the beautifully manicured grounds, the staff, the dogs (especially Sophie) and of course the private swimming in the lake!
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The view was super. Wish we had stayed a lot longer. Owners Judy & Dave were very friendly and accommodating and you can tell that they take great pride in their lodge. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sophie also thanks you! She loves mingling with our guests. We do have a beautiful spot on the lake and we are so lucky to have large lawns and gardens. We're glad you enjoyed them. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
6.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelka Lodge on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelka Lodge on Lake George

Property: Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Address: 4204 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Lake George, Chelka Lodge offers spacious motel and efficiency accommodations,and the water's edge is just a few steps from your door. Amenities include free use of rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, basketball, ping pong, and shuffleboard, sandy beach and sand-bottom swimming area. Beautiful lake views from every room. Complimentary light breakfast is served during peak season in our beautifully appointed lodge. AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Chelka Lodge On Lake George NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing