We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had never been to Lake George before and after searching hard and long online for accomodations we chose the Chelka Lodge mainly for the use of kayaks, paddleboards. We were not disappointed. The location on the lake is great as it sits in a cove, great for those who have children and you don"t need to worry so much being on the open lake where there is more current and activity. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and Dave and Judy were terrific hosts. My daughter had a great time with their two dogs. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We also love our location in Boon Bay because it is quieter and calmer than being out in the major part of the lake-perfect for kayaking and canoeing. Our two labs, Sophie and Heidi, love our guests as well! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Chelka Lodge on Lake George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

This beautiful property is perfect for a family vacation . The web site did not however state that check in was required by 8 pm
or that there would be a 30 per person per night charge for additional people in the room - 2 Queen size beds 4 people right ? No ... 2 people per room .. available kayaks, row boats and canoes stay in small bay area ..other guests were very quiet and a little stuffy.
The included Breakfast was dry cereal, juice and coffee served family style.
But the views and lake were what we came for and that did not disappoint !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotJuliaChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments. All comments help us to provide a better experience for our guests. We would like to clear up a few misunderstandings. We accept check-ins at any time. We just ask to be informed of a late check-in because we have a late check-in procedure. All of our rooms are priced for double occupancy-additional people are $15. per night which is clearly stated in the confirmation letter guests receive. Our kayaks, canoes, etc. are not limited to our bay;however because of the strong current, rough water and large motor boats in the main part of the lake we request our guests stay in the bay or along the coast for their safety. Our breakfast menu is more than cold cereal, juice and coffee. We also offer home-baked muffins, scones, and banana bread as well as hot cereal and fresh fruit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Owners take great pride in keeping Chelka Lodge up to date. New beds and impeccable grounds. Breakfast was a treat. Boats and kayaks are available for the guests. I would live to come back year after year. Only problem is the lack of efficiency units for those who would like to cook once in a while.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review! We would love to have you as our guests again. We enjoy providing breakfast for our guests-we hope you were able to have some of Judy's homemade banana bread. If not, we'll be sure to have it on the menu next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Chelka Lodge and had a great time. Dave and Judy were great hosts and very helpful in recommending good restaurants in the area. The plentiful availability of canoes, kayaks, paddleboards, and rowboats along with the very nice swimming area and all the lawn chairs on the beautiful landscaped property made for an outstanding setting.

Room Tip: While views on the first floor were good, next time we will try to get a room on the upper level or...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. Our canoes, kayaks, rowboats and particularly our new stand-up paddle boards are very popular with our guests. We are so fortunate to have such a large expanse of lawn which gives us the opportunity to plant the perennial gardens. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. We think you would enjoy our second-floor rooms-the view is outstanding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our 3-day stay at Chelka Lodge was absolutely amazing. We loved the beautifully manicured grounds, the staff, the dogs (especially Sophie) and of course the private swimming in the lake!
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The view was super. Wish we had stayed a lot longer. Owners Judy & Dave were very friendly and accommodating and you can tell that they take great pride in their lodge. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. Sophie also thanks you! She loves mingling with our guests. We do have a beautiful spot on the lake and we are so lucky to have large lawns and gardens. We're glad you enjoyed them. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My over-the-weekend stay at Chelka Lodge was wonderful. I enjoyed the beautiful room overlooking the lake......with the private balcony.....incredible views and sounds of the lake lapping the shore. Hosts, Judy and David, and staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast room is so lovely and a perfect place to begin one's day enjoying a delicious light breakfast and mingling with other guests. The Chelka Lodge is fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saratogagrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The lake lapping the shore is such a peaceful one. We're happy to be able to provide a light breakfast. Our guests seem to really like it and it often leads to great conversations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Chelka Lodge, and I wish we had been able to stay longer. We stayed in one of the lakeside efficiency rooms--literally just a couple feet from the lake. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The owners, Dave and Judy, were friendly and helpful, and their 2 dogs who roamed the property were sweet. The view is great, and in addition to a nice little beach for swimming, you can use the various kayaks, row boats, canoes, and paddle boards. Although we have no children, many of the guests did have kids and it was clear that they were having a great time.

The location is between Lake George Village and Bolton Landing, which makes visiting both towns very convenient. The area of the Lodge itself seems mostly residential, so it was quite peaceful at night. Breakfast was simple, but good--cereals, coffee, tea, juice, fruit, and assorted pastries & muffins--and is free with the room in season. Really the perfect way to start off the day.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Chelka Lodge to my friends and family. I hope we will be able to visit again this fall.

Room Tip: We were in room 32, which is under the Lodge's deck. It was a little noisy above us at times wit...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Our new efficiencies have been very popular. We are aware of the overhead noise issue and have moved some furniture to locations on the deck which are not directly over rooms, so hopefully this will minimize the noise. We always appreciate guest's comments and suggestions and we are constantly trying to improve our guests' experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
2.1 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
3.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelka Lodge on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelka Lodge on Lake George

Address: 4204 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range: $99 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Lake George, Chelka Lodge offers spacious motel and efficiency accommodations,and the water's edge is just a few steps from your door. Amenities include free use of rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, basketball, ping pong, and shuffleboard, sandy beach and sand-bottom swimming area. Beautiful lake views from every room. Complimentary light breakfast is served during peak season in our beautifully appointed lodge. AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Chelka Lodge On Lake George NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing