We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Friendly Place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelka Lodge on Lake George

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
“Great Friendly Place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and it was refreshing to see a couple who work from sun up to sun down maintaining and taking pride in their property! :) Very nice clean and affordable. Highly recommend. The retriever dogs that welcome you were my first impression of how warm and fun the weekend was going to be.

Room Tip: They have new renovated rooms on the water Efficiency rooms! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Sophie and Heidi, our Labrador retrievers, love to greet our guests! For us, Chelka Lodge is a labor of love. We do work long hours, but the rewards are great. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    40
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
86
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PA/NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my bf in one of the efficiency rooms, right by the water's edge. Like stated before, these three rooms are two feet from the water; and have a great window view of the water; and a small sitting area outside the room - again, right on the water.
The grounds were very neat and clean. It was a little pre season, but there were still a few people enjoying the small beach and row boats. Plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy the lake view. Check in and out was smooth. No problems what so ever. The room was spacious - but I cannot speak for other locations on the property as we didnt see inside any other rooms.
The location is about 10 mins north of the town of Lake George. Perfect short drive to and from town. I recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicak76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed one of our new efficiency rooms. They have been well received since we introduced them last year. This year we've also replaced 5 standard motel rooms with queen motel rooms, with pillow-top mattresses and new furniture. Other rooms have newly remodeled sink areas. Each year we choose a renovation project to enhance our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Chelka Lodge. We stayed in one of their new efficiency suites which are literally 2 feet from the water. Absolutely beautiful. The room was immaculate--everything was brand new and the color scheme was so peaceful. The view from our room was stunning. The owners were so friendly and helpful--giving us dinner recommendations and even a beautiful running route! The value was unbeatable--we couldn't believe what we received for the price. We loved that it was removed from all the commercial busyness of town but close enough to grab dinner or shop. Thank you for a relaxing getaway Chelka Lodge! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toseewhatwecouldsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location, in a small quiet bay, does offer a serene setting and yet is close to the amenities of the area. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My better half and I stayed Sunday to Monday last week in one of the efficiency rooms (I believe) with a fireplace and a small balcony with a view to the lake. What an incredible experience. No crowds, no noise. IN fact, I think we were the only ones in the hotel that day. The only sound heard was the sound of rain drops hitting the bedroom window on Sunday afternoon, And the room and its setup was just gorgeous. Judy and Dave were very hospitable, as well as their 2 beautiful dogs (sorry, I forgot their names). Rowing on Lake George was another wonderful and interesting experience (Right Mari?).There's lots of places to eat all 3 meals and to visit on Bolton Landing, which is a 10-minute drive north of Chelka Lodge. We are already talking to go back again, and we will. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OACG00682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope you will visit again and perhaps try our other watercraft-canoes, kayaks and paddle boards. Our calm bay is perfect for a new boating experience. Sophie and Heidi, our two labs will be here to greet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here Memorial Day weekend last year and have booked another stay for that same weekend this year. Last year, we stayed in one of the motel units which was very basic, but totally adequate. Clean and comfortable, our room was spacious and had an absolutely breathtaking view of the lake.

This year, we booked on of the newly renovated efficiency units only 2" from the lake & we're very excited.

This place is truly a private little gem in the Lake George area, which has primarily become very commercial, with Holiday Inn, Hampton Inn, and other corporate hotels lining the main strip. We were lucky to have found Chelka Lodge nestled in a somewhat wooded area off the beaten path.

You will definitely enjoy your trip...peaceful & gorgeous place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solebury, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chelka Lodge was a great stop on our vagabond tour of the Adirondacks. Judy and Dave were great hosts for a hotel/motel they clearly have a lot of love invested.

Close to the town of Lake George and all the excitement, activity and shopping you could want, Chelka is a quiet refuge from sensory overload! The rooms are comfortable and clean and a good value. The location could not be beat, overlooking the lake. There are several accommodations right on the water, but we chose the 'motel' for adjoining rooms for us and my mom.

Often we chose to sit outside the rooms watching the lake activity. Or, we would take our coffee or wine, depending upon the time of day, to the deck overlooking the water. The dogs have free roam of the property, so they often stopped by for a visit, which was great as we were missing ours back home. Other 'wildlife' had free reign too - birds, chipmunks, all fun to watch.

We are not capable of using the available kayaks but loved watching others enjoying themselves. There are other activities on the grounds and a lovely beach to enjoy. But even the physically challenged will be pleased by the environment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Dave and I love Chelka Lodge for many of the same reasons-the peacefulness of the location, the beautiful views, the close proximity to Bolton Landing. Glad you enjoyed our dogs-they love our guests, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My new husband and I spent 3 nights/4 days at Chelka lodge as a 'mini-moon' since we were not able to take a big honeymoon right after our wedding. Chelka provided the absolutely perfect place to get away and decompress after the hecticness of planning and executing our wedding. We were so exhausted when we arrived that all we wanted to do was order a pizza and lay down. Dave, the owner, was very generous and bought the pizza we had delivered since we had told him we were there for our honeymoon.

We stayed in one of the newly built efficiency rooms and the accommodations were excellent! The room was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. We loved waking up and spending our mornings on the little balcony off our room that overlooked the lake - the views were spectacular! We also loved our visits from the Heidi & Sophie - the owner's friendly dogs who roamed freely around the property.

Our time spent there was at the end of September which is the off season for the lodge as well as Lake George which was perfect since all we wanted to do was relax and enjoy the serene surroundings. I would have loved to have used the amenities they offer for free - kayaks, paddle boards, etc. but it was a little too chilly the days we spent there.

I would highly recommend Chelka Lodge and would love to plan a visit back...maybe for our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dave and I are happy that you enjoyed your "mini-moon" at Chelka Lodge. We'd love to have you celebrate your anniversary with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
6.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelka Lodge on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelka Lodge on Lake George

Property: Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Address: 4204 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Lake George, Chelka Lodge offers spacious motel and efficiency accommodations,and the water's edge is just a few steps from your door. Amenities include free use of rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, basketball, ping pong, and shuffleboard, sandy beach and sand-bottom swimming area. Beautiful lake views from every room. Complimentary light breakfast is served during peak season in our beautifully appointed lodge. AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Chelka Lodge On Lake George NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing