We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Nearby Hotels
Contessa Resort(Bolton Landing)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonnie View on Lake George(Bolton Landing)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sagamore Resort(Bolton Landing)(Great Value!)
$299
$269
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Point(Bolton Landing)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Bayview Marina & Suites(Bolton Landing)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
135
41
15
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
41
15
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasketball courtprivate beachoutstanding locationspectacular view of the lakesmall refrigeratortwo night stayroom was spacioussitting areacontinental breakfastrowboatpropertyadirondacks
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 207 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my bf in one of the efficiency rooms, right by the water's edge. Like stated before, these three rooms are two feet from the water; and have a great window view of the water; and a small sitting area outside the room - again, right on the water.
The grounds were very neat and clean. It was a little pre season, but there were still a few people enjoying the small beach and row boats. Plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy the lake view. Check in and out was smooth. No problems what so ever. The room was spacious - but I cannot speak for other locations on the property as we didnt see inside any other rooms.
The location is about 10 mins north of the town of Lake George. Perfect short drive to and from town. I recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicak76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed one of our new efficiency rooms. They have been well received since we introduced them last year. This year we've also replaced 5 standard motel rooms with queen motel rooms, with pillow-top mattresses and new furniture. Other rooms have newly remodeled sink areas. Each year we choose a renovation project to enhance our lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Chelka Lodge. We stayed in one of their new efficiency suites which are literally 2 feet from the water. Absolutely beautiful. The room was immaculate--everything was brand new and the color scheme was so peaceful. The view from our room was stunning. The owners were so friendly and helpful--giving us dinner recommendations and even a beautiful running route! The value was unbeatable--we couldn't believe what we received for the price. We loved that it was removed from all the commercial busyness of town but close enough to grab dinner or shop. Thank you for a relaxing getaway Chelka Lodge! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toseewhatwecouldsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location, in a small quiet bay, does offer a serene setting and yet is close to the amenities of the area. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My better half and I stayed Sunday to Monday last week in one of the efficiency rooms (I believe) with a fireplace and a small balcony with a view to the lake. What an incredible experience. No crowds, no noise. IN fact, I think we were the only ones in the hotel that day. The only sound heard was the sound of rain drops hitting the bedroom window on Sunday afternoon, And the room and its setup was just gorgeous. Judy and Dave were very hospitable, as well as their 2 beautiful dogs (sorry, I forgot their names). Rowing on Lake George was another wonderful and interesting experience (Right Mari?).There's lots of places to eat all 3 meals and to visit on Bolton Landing, which is a 10-minute drive north of Chelka Lodge. We are already talking to go back again, and we will. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OACG00682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your review! We hope you will visit again and perhaps try our other watercraft-canoes, kayaks and paddle boards. Our calm bay is perfect for a new boating experience. Sophie and Heidi, our two labs will be here to greet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here Memorial Day weekend last year and have booked another stay for that same weekend this year. Last year, we stayed in one of the motel units which was very basic, but totally adequate. Clean and comfortable, our room was spacious and had an absolutely breathtaking view of the lake.

This year, we booked on of the newly renovated efficiency units only 2" from the lake & we're very excited.

This place is truly a private little gem in the Lake George area, which has primarily become very commercial, with Holiday Inn, Hampton Inn, and other corporate hotels lining the main strip. We were lucky to have found Chelka Lodge nestled in a somewhat wooded area off the beaten path.

You will definitely enjoy your trip...peaceful & gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chelka Lodge was a great stop on our vagabond tour of the Adirondacks. Judy and Dave were great hosts for a hotel/motel they clearly have a lot of love invested.

Close to the town of Lake George and all the excitement, activity and shopping you could want, Chelka is a quiet refuge from sensory overload! The rooms are comfortable and clean and a good value. The location could not be beat, overlooking the lake. There are several accommodations right on the water, but we chose the 'motel' for adjoining rooms for us and my mom.

Often we chose to sit outside the rooms watching the lake activity. Or, we would take our coffee or wine, depending upon the time of day, to the deck overlooking the water. The dogs have free roam of the property, so they often stopped by for a visit, which was great as we were missing ours back home. Other 'wildlife' had free reign too - birds, chipmunks, all fun to watch.

We are not capable of using the available kayaks but loved watching others enjoying themselves. There are other activities on the grounds and a lovely beach to enjoy. But even the physically challenged will be pleased by the environment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Dave and I love Chelka Lodge for many of the same reasons-the peacefulness of the location, the beautiful views, the close proximity to Bolton Landing. Glad you enjoyed our dogs-they love our guests, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews