We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Congers, New York
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My brother came out from California to see the Adirondacks and in our internet search of places to stay on Lake George we happened upon Chelka Lodge. The pictures on the website looked like the property had great views, but snapping a picture from just the right angle can be very misleading. I can now say that the property was exactly as it was portrayed and we couldn't have had a better time! The rooms are comfortable and adequate, certainly not fancy, but the warmth of the owners and their great dogs as well as the beckoning Adirondack chairs, kayaks and canoes, and sparkling views of the lake make for a wonderful time in a very quaint, rather than 'touristy' part of the Lake George area. We would absolutely go back again and would recommend it to any of our friends!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    40
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
86
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Best buddy from Air Force days and I took a week away from our wives to celebrate our 65th birthdays. Did a lot of research on the internet and found the Chelka Lodge, which appeared to be a solid value. What it turned out to be was a GREAT experience. Location on the lake is ideal, situated in a quiet bay on the western shore, close by Lake George Village and Bolton Landing. Terrific restaurants nearby and owners Judy and David treat each of their guests as though they're staying at a B&B, with friendly and personal attention. Rooms are clean and comfortable, the amenities of a private sand beach, canoes and kayaks add a lot of fun opportunities, and the overall value for the price paid was, in my opinion, exceptional. I would not hesitate one second to stay there again or strongly recommend this place to anyone. Ray from Williamsbug, VA

Room Tip: I found the second (top) floor preferable for the better view of the lake it afforded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christmas, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I were on our way back to Fla. from N.B. Canada and had always wanted to see Lake George for years. By fate we stumbled upon Chelka and could not have asked for a more pleasant experience. The owners Dave and Judy and their two dogs could not have made us feel more welcomed. We had a great dinner just mins. away and relaxed back at Chelka looking at the beautiful Lake George, what else could you ask for? We wished we could have stayed longer , maybe next time!

Room Tip: Anything facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was my first time back to Lake George in nearly 40 years. We selected Chelka for its location, TA reviews, and their website pictures. Also because there are so few B&B's to choose from in the area. The grounds and lake views of the quiet bay (very few boats) were great.

We stayed in a "motel" room. The room was clean and large and had a fantastic lake view. it was the little things that we have experienced during our extensive travels that brought the rating down from good to only average. The room, especially the bathroom, was like being in a time warp from the 60's. It would have been nice to have had a duvet or at least an extra blanket in the room. The blanket on the bed was fairly thin. In room coffee and higher level toiletries would have been a nice touch too.

Again, this is a very nice property with a killer view and location. With a few added touches could be a great lodging.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brucewiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our entire experience at Chelka was a pleasure. We were there in late August during the hurricane, and despite the weather problems, the owners and staff made our stay a pleasure.They could not have been nicer. Our two boys took full advantage of the basketball courts and boats provided.
The rooms were clean and well cared for. A very friendly family environment and the recommendations fot local restaurants and activities were excellent. We plan to go back next summer, our boys are looking forward to it. I would recommend them to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a large room with a lake view. Beautiful to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had stayed at several places on Lake George in the 80s and 90s but never at the same place twice due to dissatisfaction. Then somehow we were lucky enough to find Chelka Lodge and have come back for at least 10 years each summer. Dave and Judy (the owners for at least the least ten years) have made us feel like we have a home on Lake George. Sophie ( the most recent Lab) sat with me for a while and seemed to know us since we met her as a Puppy two years ago. Its always a pleasure watching the dogs enjoy swimming in the lake as much as we do. I wasn't surprised to see Chelka Lodge recommended in the Sunday Travel section of the NY Times a couple of years ago. It did make me worry that they would fill up very quickly for the summer. Thus when the annual Chelka Lodge newsletter comes in January, we decide immediately what our plans on for the summer and send our reservation in. The wonderful breakfast, convenient location, ample supply of beach front boats to borrow, very comfortable rooms, and unmatched Lake George views all combine for the most wonderful vacation anybody can have. We always look forward to the improvements Dave and Judy make on the property each year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Been going tp Lake George for 26 years and have stayed in a few different places. Chelka has the best location in a calm cove, and the best part is it does not have a steep hill to go up and down to get to the private beach. In all of the other places we had to use the car to go up & down. The room was clean and well kept, and the grounds are beautiful with a great view of the lake from everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASheinbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelka Lodge on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelka Lodge on Lake George

Property: Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Address: 4204 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Lake George, Chelka Lodge offers spacious motel and efficiency accommodations,and the water's edge is just a few steps from your door. Amenities include free use of rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, basketball, ping pong, and shuffleboard, sandy beach and sand-bottom swimming area. Beautiful lake views from every room. Complimentary light breakfast is served during peak season in our beautifully appointed lodge. AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Chelka Lodge On Lake George NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing