We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was my first time back to Lake George in nearly 40 years. We selected Chelka for its location, TA reviews, and their website pictures. Also because there are so few B&B's to choose from in the area. The grounds and lake views of the quiet bay (very few boats) were great.

We stayed in a "motel" room. The room was clean and large and had a fantastic lake view. it was the little things that we have experienced during our extensive travels that brought the rating down from good to only average. The room, especially the bathroom, was like being in a time warp from the 60's. It would have been nice to have had a duvet or at least an extra blanket in the room. The blanket on the bed was fairly thin. In room coffee and higher level toiletries would have been a nice touch too.

Again, this is a very nice property with a killer view and location. With a few added touches could be a great lodging.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brucewiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
89
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our entire experience at Chelka was a pleasure. We were there in late August during the hurricane, and despite the weather problems, the owners and staff made our stay a pleasure.They could not have been nicer. Our two boys took full advantage of the basketball courts and boats provided.
The rooms were clean and well cared for. A very friendly family environment and the recommendations fot local restaurants and activities were excellent. We plan to go back next summer, our boys are looking forward to it. I would recommend them to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a large room with a lake view. Beautiful to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had stayed at several places on Lake George in the 80s and 90s but never at the same place twice due to dissatisfaction. Then somehow we were lucky enough to find Chelka Lodge and have come back for at least 10 years each summer. Dave and Judy (the owners for at least the least ten years) have made us feel like we have a home on Lake George. Sophie ( the most recent Lab) sat with me for a while and seemed to know us since we met her as a Puppy two years ago. Its always a pleasure watching the dogs enjoy swimming in the lake as much as we do. I wasn't surprised to see Chelka Lodge recommended in the Sunday Travel section of the NY Times a couple of years ago. It did make me worry that they would fill up very quickly for the summer. Thus when the annual Chelka Lodge newsletter comes in January, we decide immediately what our plans on for the summer and send our reservation in. The wonderful breakfast, convenient location, ample supply of beach front boats to borrow, very comfortable rooms, and unmatched Lake George views all combine for the most wonderful vacation anybody can have. We always look forward to the improvements Dave and Judy make on the property each year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Been going tp Lake George for 26 years and have stayed in a few different places. Chelka has the best location in a calm cove, and the best part is it does not have a steep hill to go up and down to get to the private beach. In all of the other places we had to use the car to go up & down. The room was clean and well kept, and the grounds are beautiful with a great view of the lake from everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASheinbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was our 8th year of going as a family to the Chelka Lodge. The place is perfect for a family with a good continental breakfast and clean rooms - they do need a bit of updating though and if you are on the first floor you can hear the elephants walking around above you - beds are not to comfortable and the pillows are terrible - bring your own for a decent nights sleep. Dave is a gruf but Judy is a very personable. The dogs can be a pests and whne they are running around watch out!! They are the golden children that will nudge into your room, take a snack from your bag or pop a toy that they believe is theirs and you can forget about any renumeration from the owners.other than that the price is economical and it is one of the best places on Lake George for the value and location outside of the village of Lake George. Watch out for room 15 I think - its' haunted!! They won't tell yuo but it is.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmugno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gradivo
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Because the view is gorgeous and the rooms are adequate, this should make for a lovely vacation spot. But the owners are a pair of cold fish and their bad mood seems to spread over the whole property. The staff are unhappy; they are nice to the guests but tense. The breakfast is carefully measured out and is all sugar - sweet muffins, sweet scones, sweet cereal, canned orange juice. Wireless is not available in the rooms but is free near the main office. The price is high considering what is offered. Again, it's really a beautiful place and I wish I could give it a better review.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gradivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have been staying at Chelka for our summer vacation for over 20 years. The owners, Dave and Judy, are always accommodating and friendly and responsive to your needs. The rooms are clean and spacious. They offer a beach area, shuffleboard, basketball, rowboats and kayaks. It is situated on a beautiful, quiet cove and we can see our docked boat from our room. Normally, the guests are quite respectful of others and keep a close eye on their children so everyone can have a pleasant stay.
This year a very large group took over most of the rooms at the lodge for a few days. We were told that they did not tell the owners that they were all together and there to attend a party. The place was suddenly overrun with what seemed like 50 extremely loud children who were running wildly while their parents were having fun, drinking, and not paying attention to the fact that they and their kids were very disturbing to other guests. Dave and Judy did their best to keep things under control. If you read a bad review of Chelka, it is probably from someone from this group. If they never come back, that is the best thing that could happen to Chelka! We know we will be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
2.1 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
223 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#9 of 89 in Lake George
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
3.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,590 reviews
2.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelka Lodge on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelka Lodge on Lake George

Property: Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Address: 4204 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Lake George, Chelka Lodge offers spacious motel and efficiency accommodations,and the water's edge is just a few steps from your door. Amenities include free use of rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, basketball, ping pong, and shuffleboard, sandy beach and sand-bottom swimming area. Beautiful lake views from every room. Complimentary light breakfast is served during peak season in our beautifully appointed lodge. AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Chelka Lodge On Lake George NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing