We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Whats not to Love"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Chelka Lodge, a hidden treasure on Lake George. When your looking for a place to de-stress. This is it. Your close to Village and Bolton Landing, yet just far enough away from the crowds.
Grab a bottle of wine and kick back.. See you on Labor Day Week-end..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobnLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Chelka Lodge on Lake George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Chelka Lodge in Boltons Landing on Lake George was a real "Find".
The rooms and Grounds are excellently maintained with a beautiful view of the lake from Every room . Chelka is a great getaway place for Individuals, Couples and Families looking to Escape from the Rat race and relax. There are fun activities..... Swimming , Boating ( The Lodge has Kayaks,Canoes + Rowboats available for guests @ No extra cost). The Hosts and employees were all Wonderful and couldn't be more pleasant, polite and willing to make your stay a magnificent experience !
We thouroughly Enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djerseygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We always look forward to our time there. Everything's great. Service and accomodations are very consistent and clean. Being close to Bolton Landing is a plus for shopping & retaurants. It's very hard to do better than Chelka on Lake George.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwmgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Clean, pretty room with a great view of the lake framed by tall pines. Beautiful expanse of green lawn leading down to the water's edge where two labs, Heidi and Sophie, can usually be found frolicking. Canoes and kayaks are available for guests as well as basketball, shuffleboard and table tennis. In season, there is breakfast available in the charming breakfast room, consisting of juice, fruit, an assortment of cold cereals,coffee, tea and home made muffins. The hosts are always helpful in suggesting restaurants and things to do.
The wi-fi, new this year, was very spotty though.

Room Tip: As the building is parallel to the lake, all the rooms have an excellent view of the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmob318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family and I stayed at Chelka Lodge for 2 weeks (last week of June, first week of July) and stayed in the Carriage House. This is a beautiful location and everything previously said about the grounds, lake, beach, fishing (I caught many fish on pumpkin seed grubs), boating, games and friendliness of the owners, Judy and Dave, is all true. And when compared to a lot of the other places along the lake that I reviewed on-line and than saw in person, Chelka Lodge was definitely the right pick.

Half way between Lake George Villiage and Bolton Landing, this is a great location to do day trips to all the local attractions an hour away or less. Fort Ticondaroga, Six Flags, Adirondack Extreme (overall favorite thing for our 2 teenage boys), Stone Bridge, horseback trip, charter fishing trip for lake trout with Justy Joes (big fish) and even the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown (about 2 1/2 hours) were all doable (and done) by my family. Also convenient for restaurants, groceries, liquor and outlet shopping. Judy and Dave were happy to make recommendations.

We had the upstairs 2-bedroom efficiency apartment. For the price, it was a real bargain - very spacious and clean with a full kitchen. Some drawbacks were the light fixture over the stairs landing that I kept smacking my head on (Dave - you gotta fix that) and the doors that won't close because of humidity. Lack of air conditioning (we knew that going in) was only tough a couple of really hot days.

Overall, we had a nice first trip to Lake George and Judy and Dave run a very nice lodge. My family and I would recommend it.

Mark, Barb, Evan and Colin

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddgang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our annual trip to Lake George has come and gone and the beautiful surroundings and serenity enjoyed at Chelka Lodge is still on our mind. This is probably our 20th visit and we continue to come back. Every year we see upgrades to the property with delight. This is one of the nicest spots on the lake and you can enjoy many activities. This is family run so don't expect the Hyatt. This is the reason why we come back...its like a family. We come here to relax, read, swim, boat and take in some nature.

Great Job Judy and Dave. We look forward to next years projects. I hope we can be one of the first to try out the new rooms on the waterfront.

Daniel Champagne

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Champagne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you want a four star hotel - don't select Chelka. But if you want a great family place, a fantastic location, and nice owners pick this one. Lots of great things for all to do and the views from everywhere are fantastic. Only down side was the wireless strengh but we made do by changing our location when we needed to use our laptop. I'm not sure this is acutally a problem of the Lodge or a problem of the area in general. We had a great visit, even though the weather was not the best!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
2.1 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
3.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelka Lodge on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelka Lodge on Lake George

Address: 4204 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range: $99 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Lake George, Chelka Lodge offers spacious motel and efficiency accommodations,and the water's edge is just a few steps from your door. Amenities include free use of rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, basketball, ping pong, and shuffleboard, sandy beach and sand-bottom swimming area. Beautiful lake views from every room. Complimentary light breakfast is served during peak season in our beautifully appointed lodge. AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Chelka Lodge On Lake George NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing