We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for years!”
Review of Northward Ho!

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northward Ho!
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed here for years!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I grew up going to Lake George with my family since I was about 6 months old. My parents always stayed at Northward Ho and have known the owners (now retired and their son Don runs the motel) for 30 years. This year we took my 12 month old son there! It hasn't changed much in 30 years but is clean, neat and very well-maintained. The German family that runs the motel is extremely dedicated to cleanliness (a huge plus near Lake George where many hotels there have a beachy, often buggy, and unclean atmosphere).

The motel is located just a few miles away from Bolton Landing town, which is quaint little town with a small supermarket, cute restaurants and places to eat and some shopping. It's also only miles away from Lake George village and the Lake George outlets.

The motel is right on the lake, has gorgeous views if you stay in a room near the lake. They have rowboats for guest use and a rec room with ping pong, foosball and coffee and homemade doughnuts in the morning, which are just amazing.

Highly recommend this motel!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, rooms near the lake offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TML214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I have been going to Lake George and the Northward Ho for years. Each visit, I have a great time staying at the Northward Ho. The location is great - right on the water (you definitely want to stay at a place on the lake when visiting this area), in Bolton Landing, but still close to the town of Lake George. The rooms and cabins are simple, but very clean, and have an "adirondack" atmosphere. The rates are reasonable. The staff is very friendly and does a great job maintaining the grounds. Each morning, they make home-made donuts - which are delicious! I have family members that have stayed at other places on the lake (when the Northward Ho is not available) and have had horrible experiences - dirty rooms, bugs, ect. I have never heard any such complaints about the Northward Ho. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kannala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

had a great stay at Northward Ho. The rooms were clean the location is great.... just south of Bolton Landing. I would recommend this as a nice place to stay on Lake George .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I am a long time Lage George fan having spent many summers there working and playing! I was excited to get back and visit and picked this motel because of the location (close to Bolton Landing).
The rooms were great! Big and clean and comfy. Glad to have TV and A/C as many places dont have those features! The grounds are so nice and well kept and the pool was clean as a whistle! The best thing was the even with all the guests there, it was quiet in the morning and quiet most of the day!
We loved the fresh home made donuts and coffee they serve as well.
I would go back there without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4goingawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Of the 10 hotels we have tried around Lake George so far this was the best bargain.

Rooms in the motel section are simple, ours had a tiny stove and fridge so we made a simple dinner and stayed on the property for the Fourth of July. Nice to avoid the crowds for a change! We then walked down to the dock and watched the fireworks right from the deck! Nice!

As you get down to the lakefront the buildings change to rustic duplex family cabins with decks and so forth. The familes staying in them all seemed to know each other (many repeat visitors at this place!) and their kids were all having a blast playing at the little beach or just hanging out together. Somebody brought a guitar and knew how to play it!

Our host, Don, is the sort of civic booster to have helped put on a show at the nationally famous bike festival. There are pictures of local goings-on hanging on the walls in the rec room. This is where coffee and donuts were served for a small charge up until about 10am each morning. I let my wife beat me at ping pong in the rec room on several occasions thus getting points as a "good' boy. Fun.

All in all a great home base for exploring the area. There seems to be a fair amount of good food nearby in Bolton Landing. I am already planning on being back for another stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoshHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2009

The place is quiet and relaxing, yet close enough to attractions. Staff is extremely friendly and guests were very polite too. I will be going back on more than one occasion in 2009. Rooms are neat and clean. Moon & sunrise are epic.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjjinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We have stayed here twice. The property has both cottages and motel rooms. We stayed in a room, which was nothing fancy, but was clean and comfortable. The property was well landscaped, and the pool was a nice touch. In the morning they have fresh little donuts for breakfast. There is also a game room with pool and foosball. The beach/dock area is great. Lake George is one of the cleanest lakes I have ever seen. We swam, and there is a small water slide. We rented a boat from a marina down the street, and docked it at the dock.

  • Liked — The lake/dock area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance, as rooms fill up quickly.
  • Stayed September 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hevdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
1.1 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
223 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.3 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#9 of 89 in Lake George
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,590 reviews
5.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northward Ho!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northward Ho!

Property: Northward Ho!
Address: Lake Shore Drive, PO Box 464, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-0464
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bolton Landing
Also Known As:
Northward Ho! Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing