We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Porch”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just returned from our little vacation to Lake George where we stayed at the Boathouse B & B. What a lovely place! As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by friendly Renee who showed us around and the first thing we were shown was the porch. What a view of the lake and how serene it was!!! That captured us right away. Although we had a small room, it was very nice. I felt it was decorated nicely and had it's own (very small) bathroom. But we weren't there solely for the bedroom, we came for a nice relaxing vacation and it was all that and more. The 3 course breakfasts in the mornings were outstanding. I actually came back with one of the recipes to make at home. Joe and Patti were wonderful hosts. Joe's beautiful boat took us on a grand tour of the lake and Joe is very knowledgeable about the lake's history. He was very entertaining. We stayed for 4 days and met some very nice people and had easy conversations every day at breakfast. AN added bonus was use of some of the Sagamore's facilities along with a discount for food and drinks there. All in all, it was a wonderful stay and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb111663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boathouse10, Owner at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments on our bed and breakfast and pointing out what our home is all about. We appreciate your business and our hope is that you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    16
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
190
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The reasons I did love the Boathouse: The Boathouse is a beautiful stone structure situated right on Lake George and the grounds and common areas are lovely. The staff and hosts were very pleasant.

The reasons I did not love the Boathouse: Although very expensive, our room was tiny and the decor was early thrift shop. The bed was very uncomfortable and since there was central air conditioning, there was no way of adjusting the temperature in the room. In the hallway, you could hear everyone's behind-the-doors conversations. The much-touted breakfast was good, but it is served only at 9:00 a.m. sharp. The boat tours of Lake George offered by the host can cost as much as $200 a couple if there are no other takers that day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TuttyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boathouse10, Owner at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We truly are sorry that you didn’t find our little piece of heaven as enchanting and relaxing as would you have liked. We find ourselves not defending these comments but tooting our own horns. To say our room was early thrift shop is a bit insulting if you want to take it that way after all we each have our own tastes. Our furnishings, including our mattresses are brand new and firmer than most and our amenities are high quality from the linens on the bed to all of the amenities in the room. We provide more in a room and even outside of the rooms for our guests to enjoy and use. We think of everything and we do try to leave nothing out.

The air conditioning is central and quite rare for an old home, but you can close the grate should you find it too cold. We try and keep it at a temperature comfortable for everyone.

One would imagine if you were standing outside of someone’s door in the hallway with your ear to the door that you could hear the conversation going on, why would one do that?

Breakfast is a 9 a.m. that works for us as the perfect time to serve as our boat tour goes out at 10:30a.m. And check out is at 11am. You can come out anytime you like but this is a family style meal so it is made at one time and most guests are anxiously waiting. Breakfast is a full and hearty meal; we will definitely keep you going through the day. This is a great time for all of us to come together to talk, probably the only time you will find all of us together at one time. FYI-there is a minimum on the Miss Boathouse Tour, we can thank gas and insurance prices for that.

Our website is a great tool to see our rooms and our home. We have a video on our website for you to view. We do not promote our Bed and Breakfast to be any more than it is. We have told by many that the website doesn’t do our home justice. We love this home and have put many countless hours every year to improve what we have. Our staff is the greatest and our goal is to make you feel relaxed like you are coming home to visit family and friends.

When you come and stay with us take a look at some of the comments that are left in the journals of the rooms, they will give you a feeling of what our home and we have brought to our many new guests and our many repeat guests that visit us every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for a night when I had a to be at a conference at The Sagamore but there weren't any rooms available there. Very conveniently located 5 minute walk up a small hill to the Sagamore (I think there were passes available for the Sagamore gym and other facilities), and right on the edge of the little town. The building is charming and actually sticks out into the water, so sitting on the porch you are surrounded by water on 3 sides. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The room I stayed in was small but comfortable, but getting to the bathroom that came with the room involved going out into the hallway which, even though the bathroom was clearly marked as only for my room, was not optimal, especially for a $300/night room. (The hallway was shared with only 2 other rooms.) Staff were very sweet and helpful. Not a lot of noise-proofing in the place, though the other guests were quiet so that wasn't a problem when I was there. Yummy 3-course breakfast in the morning. It was at a large common table with all of the guests and right at 9am which is a social way to do things but not particularly flexible. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boathouse10, Owner at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
From what you have commented on, we are getting the impression that not only the porch made the place but a lot of other things did as well, from the staff, the building, the view, the water, the accommodations and the convenience to your conference location.

The room you had stayed in is a standard room and the bath is literally two steps from your bedroom door, also it is private and quite spacious and full-you can key lock it if you choose. There isn’t a group of people congregating in the hall so you can get to the bathroom and most times very privately. We have wonderful robes and slippers for you to use as well.

For some that are not familiar with Bed and Breakfasts, let us explain. Most of the B&B’s that we have in our associations of B&B’s or ones that we have visited are someone’s home that was turned into an accommodation, it wasn’t built that way to begin with, especially an old home. Very different than a major hotel and very intimate, that is what most people enjoy about bed and breakfasts, new people and new faces and here no children. Sometimes you realize that the world is such a small place when you find yourself sitting across the table at your next door neighbor that had no idea you were traveling to the same place.

Rest assured that the most that can be done to turn your home into a bed and breakfast was done, including sound proofing. You commented that it was a quiet house, but there wasn’t a lot of sound proofing done. There was a lot done, that is why it is as quiet as it is.

Breakfast cannot be too flexible when you do a family style meal at one time, but we could and would have gladly provided a cold breakfast early should you have needed to attend the conference that you came here for. We cannot apologize for the hotels lack of rooms for your conference, at a most probable reduced rate, but we are truly glad that you came to us to experience the peace and solitude at our Boathouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed June 28th - July 2nd. We had a wonderful time! The Boathouse is absolutely breathtaking. The grounds are beautiful and it's a perfect location. It's a short walk into town and 5 minute walk to the Sagamore Resort, where you could use their fitness center. We stayed in Isabella's Sweet and loved it. It was quiet, cozy, and well-decorated. Patti and Joe, the owners think of everything. We enjoyed talking with them and getting to know them. They made us feel so at home. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and the history of Lake George. I can't wait to go back next year. Word to the wise....book early!

Room Tip: Choose Isabella's Sweet. Quiet and well-decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Boathouse June 18-20 and had a wonderful stay.

First I think it is helpful to know who is writing any review. My husband and I are 32 and have two small children. We seldom get away together, but when we do we like to go somewhere nice and worth our money. Lake George is a favorite location of ours. Usually we camp on the islands, but this June we wanted to do something special, so we decided on The Boathouse. We found Joe and Patti to be very friendly and feel lucky to have enjoyed this fabulous lake front property; there truly is not a place with better ambiance on the lake.

The b+b has a beautiful southerly view of the lake. Sitting on the deck or anywhere on the grounds is fabulous and relaxing. We stayed in theTanner room, which was quite nice. It does have its own small porch that it shares with the adjacent room. The view is quite nice from this porch too. My husband and I appreciated the small porch, but we enjoyed the main deck even more. When we return, we will probably stay in one of the Allaya or Ciara room to save a little money since we loved the main deck so much and really loved sitting by the water. I did peek in both of these rooms. Though smaller than the Tanner room, they are very nice. I will tell you that the bathroom for the one is not in the room, but across the hall from it (this is literally 2 steps away). If you need the bathroom in your room, just call to ask which one you should book so you can have this amenity.

The Boathouse has a perfect location. It is walking distance to everything in the town of Bolton, including the Sagamore. I do recommend going to the Sagamore for at least a drink. There are also plenty of outdoor activites in the area, including great short and long hiking trails, a drive up Prospect mountain, boating access points, beaches, etc.

Joe also has a Hacker Craft. My husband and I have always watched these beautiful boats from afar and wanted to ride in one. We did on our trip. We spoke to another couple at the b+b and they too were interested in a ride. If you like boating and want a thrill, go out on the boat. It is well worth the experience. Joe also takes you to all of the popular sites in the Narrows (a part of the lake).

Enjoy your stay with Patti and Joe...but most importantly be sure to enjoy the majestic beauty of Lake George.


If you are looking for a getaway, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

I can only reiterate what others are saying. Amazing location, awesome room (Reis suite), comfortable bed and comfortable atmosphere. Joe and patti and their staff were great hosts, very easy to talk with, and very attentive to your needs and questions. The breakfasts were beyond words. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this b&b!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiedrow26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We just stayed at the Boarthouse B&B at Boltons Landing, NY this past weekend (May 5, 2012). We have stayed at many B&B's up and down the east coast but this one tops them all. The main house is on the water. Patti & Joe are the best. They have seen to every detail. We stayed in one of the carriage house suites (Isabella's) and the room was very clean with all the amenities. You eat a full breakfast in the main house over looking the lake with the boathouse below. If you sign up Joe will take you for a ride around the lake in his custom wooden lake touring boat. We traveled up from the Princeton, NJ area and it was well worth the trip. We will return again and again. The Sagamore is just a short walk away for dinner with more great views. This B&B has a great location with on site parking and a private swim area. What a great place!!!!!!

Room Tip: Suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadbeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#23 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George

Property: Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Address: 44 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "Lake Castle Estate" is the only B&B in the waters of Lake George. Featured in many books and magazines with its outstanding views of the lake & mountains. Historical site, former home of the Gold Cup Winner George Reis. This boathouse has seven rooms all with private baths, some with fireplaces and two person whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Bed And Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate On Lake George NY - Bolton Landing
Boathouse Hotel Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing