We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Chateau On the Lake
Reserve with OpenTable
Chateau On the Lake is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chateau on the Lake is located in upstate New York on Lake George, and is more than a dining establishment -- it's an experience. Our clients visit our property for at least 3 hours, select from our wine list, sit by the fire pit, savor a three to four course meal, and end their evening with coffee/after dinner drinks by the fire pit while roasting s'mores. Chateau on the Lake has been open since 2013, and we have quickly became a popular establishment, sold to capacity night after night. We are a great place to book your wedding. A memorable time is assured when you visit Chateau on the Lake. We hope to see you soon. We also now offer rooms that can be rented nightly. The rooms are located above the restaurant. They are luxury rooms. $500 - $1,200 per night.
Wynantskill, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My first visit was with my wife on our anniversary and the experience was out of this world. The atmosphere is perfect, the wait staff is well trained, friendly, and professional. The food was out of this world and the owners are there watching to make sure everything is just right. Everything was so great that I returned with a group of business associates for a private party, I left all the details up to the Chateau. They put on a 7 course tasting and wine selection that was so great The Chateau earned a new group of patrons for life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exquisite and worth it!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a birthday dinner fir my granddaughter the staff couldn't do enough. From the smores dessert to singing a personal happy birthday (yes, they asked for her name before we arrived so they could sing TO her & include her name) to the hostess taking her to the lake to play with the other kids...wow! The food was delicious and the drinks were very good. Can't wait to come back!

Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Fine Experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

There is so much to like about this restaurant. From the moment my wife approached the property to see if it met the ambiance and food style we enjoy, everything was excellent or darn close ,
The ambiance reflects the owners talents as branding experts and it shows in a refined yet modern take on elegance. Inside, it was nice bar and dinning area, outside the porch setting was perfect and the seating around the fire pits was very welcoming.

The staff, without exception, were warm, knowledgeable and engaging. The 3 female staff that we interacted with clearly are proud to work there and it shows; they acted almost as though they had a ownership interest ( in a positive way). The chef Shawn/Sean was equally proud.

The food selections were interesting and exceptionally well executed. Drinks were interesting and very appropriate to the mood. The entrees and appetizers were simply perfect.

The fire pit and coffee and dessert around it were an extra bonus.

With plenty of fine dining experience, i would rate this restaurant into the mid 90's for the overall experience.

I would add that I am hard pressed to understand the long winded, negative review that preceded mine as it suggests someone with a broader agenda. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, something seems at odds with their assessment.

Go around 7pm and enjoy the sun setting palates and the evening sky as it comes alive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quality First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were all so excited about the opportunity to enjoy a lovely lunch in a beautiful setting on a spectacular day. If we had brought brown bag lunches, the day would have been a good experience. The food was uninteresting and poorly served,. We had been asked to preorder our dinners. We were given three entrees from which to choose. When we arrived, we were informed that they did not have one of the choices that had been pre-ordered. They substituted a vegetarian dish that was not popular at all. They ran out of plates, food, AND coffee cups despite the fact that they were given our numbers well in advance! The crowning blow came when they served coffee cakes for dessert that tasted like they were left over from a previous event. They were not of the quality that one would expect from a gourmet restaurant. As one of the organizers of the event and a promoter of the local community , I was totally stressed that our group had such a negative experience. I continue to receive many disparaging comments about their experience at the Chateau. There are 48 people who were there that day who have indicated they will never return. The experience would have been more forgivable if we had received an apology when we had tried to express our disappointment with our experience. Instead the manager replied, "we have a strong following already."

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Night !!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic night at the Chateau On the Lake...... The snow was still on the trees and the Chateau was beautifully decorated for the holidays. From the minute we walked in for this special evening, we were blown away. This was a wine and food dinner with Chappellet Wines. As we arrived, we were greeted with champagne from Pol Roger and great hors d'oeuvres followed by course after course of imaginative creative cuisine. One of the courses was Moroccan spiced lamb chops served with a spicy sauce and a cucumber tzatziki. It was the best lamb I have ever had. The service, the ambiance, and the food created one of the top dining experiences I have had. Kudos to The Foy's and their staff for having such created a top notch dining establishment!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesClos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau On the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Chateau On the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing