We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Classic old course well maintained

Sagamore Resort golf course is well maintained with old style lay out. Has a number of blind shots... read more

Reviewed August 2, 2018
milkbud2016
,
East Hampton, New York
Golf tournament

Played in a golf outing in September 2017 with friends. The staff was helpful and very... read more

Reviewed November 6, 2017
Mark A
,
Halfmoon, New York
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
19
18
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
18
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blind shots fast greens average golfer hole donald cart play tee clubhouse issue
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

The Sagamore is a wonderful Donald Ross course with elevated greens, challenging terrain, and complex greens. Surprisingly fast greens. Very scenic. Staff were very polite and helpful. A treat.

Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Sagamore Resort golf course is well maintained with old style lay out. Has a number of blind shots but the variety of holes make it fun. Greens always fairly quick especially the downhills. Try and play below hole. Greens also tend to be firm so play yardages just short of pin #. My only complaint is lack of food services at location. We arrived for morning tee time hoping for an egg sandwich or a bagel. They had nothing, fortunately we got some crackers and chips from the Cart girl who was great. I know its a short season but I think 1 person could handle picking up bagels and croissants or have that 1 person whip up some eggs. My guess is they are hoping for you to eat at Hotel. Next time I will play on a full stomach. We also tried to have lunch after and the bartender told us Kitchen does not open until evening.?

Thank milkbud2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We played mid week in June. The course was in excellent condition - greens were excellent, and quick We liked the back nine best - seemed to be in better condition. We played in the morning as a two-some in just over 3 hours. Lots of elevation changes. We only got "Rossed" a couple of times. We did not eat lunch at the Club. Overall an excellent choice.

Thank rbgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Played in a golf outing in September 2017 with friends. The staff was helpful and very knowledgeable about the course. The layout is interesting as there are many blind shots and landing areas to hit on some holes. Very challenging course for the average golfer.

Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

For a four star, expensive hotel the Sagamore is way below industry standards. The room was dated, the amenities were not luxurious and the service was lacking. When checking in we were directed to our room and the valet told us to park our own car and handle the luggage ourselves. Don't waste your money.

Thank janetsoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

We had a great time, course was beautiful.

Only issue was getting then cart around to feed and hydrate, this was
Slow!

The clubhouse was just okay, but honestly a great time had by all and the groundskeeper should be commended!

2  Thank Tripking07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

For the money you may want to look elsewhere. The rooms need serious updating..old sixty atmosphere .. I heard three complaints from folks in front of me while checking in from broken ac..dirty moldy rooms..etc.. I mean for a three night minimum $300 a night..they can't even set up coffee in the am without charging for it now that's cheap..it is over priced for what your getting. The staff mostly from overseas we're friendly and kind. The views on the lake are gorgeous..not sure if I will be back..not impressed.

I

Thank 54NickiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Went in beginning of October. Nice resort. While checking in computor system was down so the check in desk took our cell #. Contacted us with in 10 minutes to let us know the system was up and ready for check in. Had a suite over looking Lake George. Nice and clean. Had a issue with coffee pot. Maintence came right up with new 1 and apologized. Food was good in the conference center.

Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Played this course while on vacation up in the Adiondacks. Beautiful scenery on every hole (don't forget to take a picture on the first hole tee box with Lake George in the background behind you). Really enjoy the challenge of putting on each hole as the greens had slopes and breaks that are hard to read. Lots of hills so use the cart unless you are preparing for a Spartan race. Enjoy!!

Thank cwhite8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

I played Sagamore 4 times in 2 days with a group of 8 guys. Great track, fine greens, lush fairways and each hole has it's own character.

The service was great from the folks at the counter to the people taking care of the carts, ice, and the on-course beverage cart. We really enjoyed ourselves and felt welcomed.

I would recommend this course to play for anyone in the area. Not to be missed.

Thank Croushay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews