We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion dinner”

Pumpernickel's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family reunion dinner”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were 18 and had the upstairs private dining room. Dinner came with salad bar and soup. Menu had something for everyone, even someone on a gluten free diet. Everyone was very pleased and we would go back again. Hearty servings. I' wont say we licked our plates, but close. Gluten free beer is available...just call ahead of time and tell them to chill it for you. Very friendly service!! A memorable way to end our family vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatcountryareyouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    33
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wappingers falls, ny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful staff”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I ate here during a trip to Lake George. When we walked in we were immidiately greeted by the staff and taken to our seats. The waitress was very nice and explained all the dishes to us and gave us a couple of good recommendations. After our drink order was taken our waitress was occupied with a large group celebrating a birthday. The hostess came to us and apologized and informed us that we could start with our soup and salad bar while we waited. Even though we never felt neglected it was still really nice to have the staff so attentive. The soup and sald bar was pretty standard but the pumpernickle bread served with it was AMAZING! Our dinners were both very good and we found it hard to stop eating even though we were both full. The atmosphere is nice and the wall over the fire place is home to the largest cuckoo clock in the United States (works too!) A nice touch is the no cell phone sign - although I spend about as much time on my phone as most people do it's nice to know we could enjoy a nice meal without having to hear the ringtones of all the phones in the place. The black forest cake was delicious! We will definitely be back during our next visit to the area!

For a little added information checkout their website ( http://www.pumpernickels.com/ ) under the "about us" tab and the clip that was done about this restaurant on the Rachel Ray show!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good German Food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved the Wiener schnitzel ! Nice, friendly staff. Service was very good. Convenient to where we were staying. The deli looked great, too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great German food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we are in Lake George we always eat at Pumpernickel's. The food is always good, they have a good salad bar and the German beers are great (I would not recommend a liter unless you are really thirsty). The cuckoo clock is a great touch and adds to the atmosphere. It's a bit out of the way for Lake George but the ride is worth it. We always enjoy watching the owner and how he interacts with his staff but he has a good restaurant and wants to keep it like that- if only more owners had that approach. We've been going there for over 10 yrs. and I can't get past the Wiener Schnitzel, it is that good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food...service so so”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Food was excellent. Was our first time at a German restaurant. The spaetzel was delicious. Goulash as well...my boyfriend wanted the prime rib which they took the order for and came back 10 minutes later saying they no longer had. He decided to order the goulash as well, but asked for potatoes instead of the cabbage. The waitress was extremely rude about it and refused. She wound up bringing the potatoes anyway, but the attitude was not necessary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pumpernickel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing