We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good German Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pumpernickel's Restaurant

Pumpernickel's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good German Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved the Wiener schnitzel ! Nice, friendly staff. Service was very good. Convenient to where we were staying. The deli looked great, too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    32
    9
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dighton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we are in Lake George we always eat at Pumpernickel's. The food is always good, they have a good salad bar and the German beers are great (I would not recommend a liter unless you are really thirsty). The cuckoo clock is a great touch and adds to the atmosphere. It's a bit out of the way for Lake George but the ride is worth it. We always enjoy watching the owner and how he interacts with his staff but he has a good restaurant and wants to keep it like that- if only more owners had that approach. We've been going there for over 10 yrs. and I can't get past the Wiener Schnitzel, it is that good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food...service so so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Food was excellent. Was our first time at a German restaurant. The spaetzel was delicious. Goulash as well...my boyfriend wanted the prime rib which they took the order for and came back 10 minutes later saying they no longer had. He decided to order the goulash as well, but asked for potatoes instead of the cabbage. The waitress was extremely rude about it and refused. She wound up bringing the potatoes anyway, but the attitude was not necessary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I had visited this restaurant a few years ago and didn't like waiting at the bar to be seated after people who showed up after us.

I thought I would give it a try. Great beer selection. Very good beer.

Had veal special, very good. Had an item that was off the menu. Very, very salty! Not a repeat for me.

Too much food for the average person.
Suggest sharing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snobfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Luzerne, New York
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food was amazing! The service was excellent! The restaurant is beautiful and clean, everyone is friendly. The portions are hefty and the taste is unbelievable. This is the best place to eat in the area. My family and I loved it and will be back again and again!!! Defiantly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xklm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pumpernickel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing