We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and even better service!”
Review of Villa Napoli Restaurant - CLOSED

Villa Napoli Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
“Wonderful food and even better service!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of dining on Friday evening and then again for breakfast the following morning. We were thrilled that we had the same server, Tracie, both times. She was warm, friendly and knowledgeable. Friday night I had the snapper while my wife had the lobster ravioli special. Both were outstanding along with the artichoke appetizer Tracie suggested. We like to have wine with our dinner but most time we stick with just a glass due to the price. We were thrilled to find a nice bottle of Italian wine for $22! For dessert we shared a piece of chocolate cake that was fresh and presented beautifully.
We returned the next morning where we were greeted by Tracie who must sleep there. She immediately brought us our coffee and talked to us about the area as we were visiting from Baltimore for an afternoon wedding at the Sagamore. Tracie suggested the waffles and or omlettes. I initially asked for no home fries as I hate the frozen kind. Tracie told me to try theirs and boy was I glad I did. The waffle was light and fluffy and topped with strawberries and fresh whipped cream. The only bad thing I feel I need to mention is the family of four next to us who was horrible to our server. They complained about everything and ripped the check out of her hand saying "go **** yourself". We cld tell Tracie was upset and even offered to pay their check. No one should be spoke to like that and we watched the entire thing unfold. Tracie was trying to be accommodating but would have no luck with these nasty, rude people. Want to mention they were in back of the line at the door and by passes everyone , seated themselves and announced "they were local." Hope all the locals don't act like that!
All and all both dining experiences were wonderful except for having to see this poor girl get berated after running around busy making sure everyone was happy and fed! People like that should not eat out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltimoreboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake George NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming restaurant”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We live locally in Bolton Landing and eat at most of the restaurants in and around this town. Among our favorites is Villa Napoli. During the busy summer season, parking is plentiful (unlike any of the restaurants in town). The host, Rose, is always warm, accommodating and friendly. We are seated right away. The bread with dipping oil is delicious. Drinks are expertly mixed and we've yet to order an unusual one that the bartender doesn't know. The atmosphere in the large dining area has an 'old world' feel. We like the filet mignon (but hold the gorgonzola cheese) though others like it. We have tried many of their menu dishes and all are delicious and well sized. Several out of town guests came with us recently and commented that the house salad was the BEST they ever had. The dressing was superb. After a delightful meal, an added benefit is walking the incredible grounds surrounding the restaurant. There is a beautiful stream that meanders around the restaurant and flows into a dramatic waterfall behind it, before it empties into Lake George with the Sagamore Hotel and Green Island making a dramatic backdrop to the north. For a thoroughly satisfying dining (and digesting) experience, you can't beat Villa Napoli located within the Melody Manor Resort overlooking magnificient Lake George.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulaofbasinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Point, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“only place to go for italian”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We live in the Lake George Area and have been looking for a GREAT Italian meal. We Found it! From the appetizers thru dessert it was the best we had. The service was impeccable as well. The menu also featured fantastic entrees beside Italian. If you live in the area or are visiting you MUST try this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Expectations but Didn't Deliver”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After finally surrendering to Villa Napoli's ubiquitous advertising within the local news scene, we succumbed on a Sunday in August to experience what we were hoping would be thoughtful, delicious, daring italian food in Bolton. We were greeted on arrival by the owner, who has a very welcoming and folky vibe. Seated immediately, without fanfare, in a large, open dining room, we were surprisingly comfortable smack in the middle of the room. Our server arrived within several minutes of seating and was a pleasant young man with a knowledge of the menu at an impressive level. Grea start to what was ultimately, a very mediocre, predictable and expensive meal. The food we ordered (an eggplant parm kind of thing with 4 cheeses and a sprinkling of spinach, a sausage on bread appetizer, side of broccolini and a very boring chicken entree) were all presented nicely, but lacked any interesting flavors and all could've been served much warmer. A very basic, anyone can do it medley of italian food smothered in cheeses and uninspired sauces was the result of this meal. Nothing terrible, just lots of typical fare on the hi end of the price scale. Our dinner for 2 with 2 drinks each, tax & tips approached $130 and for that tariff, I would expect a more interesting and flavorful dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davedyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gem on Lake George!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the region. We have dined here twice this summer. Just last night we had delicious grilled salmon over greens, veal parmigiana, and a calamari appetizer. The food is top notch and prices are reasonable. The staff is welcoming, friendly, attentive and accommodating. The atmosphere is "adirondack chic with a hint of Italy". Overall this is a great value and a nice alternative to the hustle/bustle of Lake George Village and Bolton Landing during the high season.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linguistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Napoli Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing