We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place for dinner”

La Bella Vita Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Charming place for dinner”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I ate at La Bella Vista on our recent stay at the Sagamore. If you go in season, make sure to get a table on the porch at or near sunset. There is nothing better than a bottle of wine and dinner while watching the sun go down on the lake. As for the food, we did what we have often done in Europe in that we ordered an appetizer platter (Italian meats, cheeses and fruit) and followed up with a primo. It was more than enough for the two of us. The food was excellent, but this is not and is not really intended to be a 4 star facility. You go for the ambiance with really good food and wine.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cookiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    82
    57
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
“Great meal with outstanding staff!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have stayed at the Sagamore many times over the past 15 years. Much has changed - and not for the better in my opinion - but the food and service at La Bella Vita was wonderful. Our professional, interesting server, Marshall Bouchey was outstanding with our table of six. He was helpful, personable and efficient-a credit to the staff at the Sagamore. Unfortunately, we can't give the restaurant 5-stars because there was a table of six very loud and very drunk people. They sang loudly and cursed, disrupting the dining room and later, got up and were falling all over themselves, hoisting the women over their shoulders and spinning them in circles. We were surprised that no one on the staff asked them to stop or to leave the restaurant. This would never have happened before the Sagamore was purchased by Ocean Properties. We've seen behavior like this creeping throughout the hotel since 2009. It's sad.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views and food.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Loved the views on the terraces. Among others we had the filet mignon and lobster tail. It was cooked to perfection! They had a great wine to accompany the dish - le volte - Ornellai. Server - yuri - was very nice

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank starmanmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Breakfast for everyone!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had the breakfast buffet for 4 day straight and no complaints from anyone. It was good food and has a robust menu. Expectation should be lower as it is not a foodie eatery. Good for kids!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Average food and service with spectacular views!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I'm not quite sure what to say about the La Bella Vita, and I have been teetering between 3 or 4 stars. I ended up opting for 3, but still consider dining here at least once a must do when visiting Lake George.
We went to The Sagamore for breakfast on a sunny Friday morning. We were a party of seven with two toddlers, and we were seated within 10 minutes in the outdoor dining area (by request). Three of the adults in our party opted for the breakfast buffet at the spendy price of $23 pp. Nearly everything that was available on the a la carte menu could be had at the buffet with the exception of Eggs Benedict. Everyone reported that they enjoyed their breakfasts, but were not as blown away by them as they expected to be for the price. The staff was perfectly okay with the two toddlers picking off of the buffet items the adults brought back to the table for their meals, which was very nice. I opted for pancakes, which were tasty and well presented, but smallish, particularly for $10. So, I'm sure you've noticed a trend in this review. Price. It's expensive, and of course it is. It's on the most magnificent resort property in Bolton Landing. So what are you getting for your money? 5 star service? Not so much. The servers were all helpful and friendly, but were clearly high school and college students hired as summer help. A for effort, not so much for execution.
What you're paying for, in my estimation, is the view. It is simply magnificent. I would not even consider dining in the main dining room and miss being a part of the spectacular landscape surrounding the dining terrace. Equally, I can't imagine it being worth the price of admission to have dinner here after dusk when the view is gone. But when the sun is up and the breeze is blowing, it's difficult to think of a more picturesque backdrop. The staff also didn't seem to rush us out, unlike the experience of some other reviewers. They were perfectly content to let us linger of some coffee and enjoy the company and the view. Following our meal, we walked down the stairway to the lake and enjoyed the grounds for awhile, something you must take the time to do if you're going to have a meal here. All in all, the food and service aren't worth the exorbitant prices charged, but the setting makes it worth trying at least once!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bassjwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Vita Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Bella Vita Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing