We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good. Owner could be nicer”
Review of Bolton Beans

Bolton Beans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We are a 1946 Service Diner originally from Wooster, MA. This dinner was moved to Bolton Landing in 1989 to replace the old 1904 Bill Gates Dinner which was placed in the Adirondack Museum. We take pride in keeping our dinner in its early native state, and love to see people excited about our little treasure. It is a quaint, buzzing atmosphere in the summer and houses many of the locals in the winter. November thru Mid May hours are: Friday thru Monday 7am-2pm, closed Tuesday's and Wednesday's. Mid May thru the summer we are open Every Day 7am-2pm.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food is good. Owner could be nicer”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend loves this place for the Hangover Helper which is a great wrap, but the owner needs to work on her people skills. One time we went inside and stood by the door as the sign states and one of her regulars told us to come inside and sit at the counter. She had a fit and started yelling at us about reading the sign. I hate going here because I don't want to give her any of my money, but because my boyfriend loves the wrap we made a deal we only go once when we book our yearly vacation. Maybe if she is nicer to us next time we'll go more frequently but I doubt it... Everyone says the same thing about Kat

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    86
    25
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Insultingly bad...”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A filthy establishment... Needs to be power-washed --- starting with interior.... Macaroni and cheese clearly right out of the box... Hair in the food... The window sills snd other surfaces had layers of dust, etc... A real rip-off..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 69YoungCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Convenient and friendly diner for breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Bolton's Beans is the perfect place to get a quick breakfast when you are in Lake George toward Bolton Landing and Lake George Village. They serve the usual breakfast diner fare, in addition to some specialties that weave California and Mexican flavors unexpectedly into the menu. I'd also recommend the very light pancakes, and my husband ordered the Mexi-Cali potato concoction with hash browns, avocado, black beans and cilantro accompanied by eggs - he was happy and satisfied. The place has great coffee, too, as others have noted. Service can be spotty, slow, but is always friendly and congenial. Loved eating outside, as well, overlooking the wonderful War Memorial in Bolton Landing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BotticelliDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great diner”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved this place. My favorite breakfast place. Clean, friendly staff, great food, service and prices. A definite place to check out when you are in Boltons Landing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get a full booth inside the train car”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We got the last 1/2 booth at the back facing the baby chairs, not a nice view. Portions were skimpy and the service was meh.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton Beans also viewed

 

Been to Bolton Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing