We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay for Lake George area”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melody Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We just wanted a weekend away from NYC, so we decided to try Lake George.
Melody Manor is located on the lake. There were many things to do on the resort if you wanted to, as the other reviewer had mentioned. My complaint is the decor - very dark and heavy. The walls were paper thin, so do not expect any privacy or quiet. Since most of our time was spent outside the room, it did not matter as much, but the rooms were way over priced for what we got.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank WeCrazy4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Melody Manor Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

Nice clean reasonably priced place with a small dock and a small pool. The restaurant is OK for a quick bite or a drink at sunset. As a base of operations it was fine since we spend all our time on or in the lake. One troubling thing and it will likely mean we wont return – The family that was traveling with us had something that was almost certainly stolen out of their room. Of course there is no way to prove a hotel employee committed a crime but we have no other explanation about this missing expensive item. A follow up email notifying the owner of the theft was never answered. A big concern.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank redfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My family and I have been a frequent guest of Lake George area for over 6 years and have been in search of a good place to stay for the week we visit. This year our search took us to the Melody Manor, we were not disappointed. The large property and flowing grounds gave us an immediate positive attitude. Volleyball, Basket ball, clay tennis court, pool, etc gave the kids an hope for a great week. Traveling with 4 other families and many children they had no lack of activities to keep them occupied. The fishing from the dock was great and the numerous docks provided a stress free area in which to keep our rental boat. The beach for the property was a bit shallow and swimming there in this area of the lake was hard for the older kids. The Manor's property manager made sure our stay was carefree. He seemed to be in the right place at always the right time, and always with a smile and a great attitude. The on sight restaurant served a delicious breakfast, good coffee is always a plus. Dinners there were good, slightly expensive and the dinner wait staff were slightly slower than we would have liked. Being from NYC we might have been too critical of the Italian food which was good but not of the caliber we are use too. The rooms were large enough to accommodate a family of four. Having older children, a boy and girl an air mattress fit nicely for the children's separation with room to spare. The lake side rooms and spacious area out back were a nice setting for our groups evening gatherings. The steps to the lake were however, a bit treacherous and steep for the constant and many trips to the docks. A babbling brook on the south end of the property served as a nice back drop for the photographer in me. All in all the many pluses out weighed the few negatives of this motel. A return trip is in order here and we all look forward to next summers trip to our new found vacation spot.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smccar7467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Melody Manor is a pretty piece of property located in a quiet bay of Lake George. They have a good size swimming pool (no life guard, children must be supervised by an adult at all times), swing set for the kids and shuffleboard. Access to the beach area is either by a steep walkway or a very steep staircase. The beach area has ample lawn chairs and shade trees. You can wade out quite far with water only up to your knees. Obviously someone spent a lot of money bringing in sand fill. It's great for the kids, but hard for the adults to swim in such shallow water. We also saw many boats approaching the property to dock that almost beached themselves. Guests also have access to row boats and paddle boats for our enjoyment. You can fish off the end of the docks for some little perch & sunnies -- great fun for the kids.

We stayed in Section A, which has 2 floors. The bottom floor has a patio to sit on. The top floor, where we stayed, has a balcony to sit on and an incredible view of the lake from our sliding glass doors. The room had a king size bed (too soft), ample lighting, dressers & a closet. There is also a small table with 2 chairs. We didn't turn the TV on, but there's one in the room. No phones in the room. The bathroom had been recently remodeled. Lots of hot water & plenty of room. We had extra towels already in the room (it seems I usually have to ask for more, but not here) although they were extremely scratchy!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kja63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

As soon as my husband, my two children (3.5 yrs and 6 years) and I entered our room for the first time we had to hold our nose. The room's old and stained carpet had an awful and stale smell; the two bed comforters also smelled and looked very old; the window and door sills and many of the dresser draws had a collection of assorted dead bugs; there were cookie crumbs on the carpet by the bed; the bathroom seemed clean but smelled of urine; the cloth furniture in the room were also old and smelled the same as the carpet! In general, the room that we were given was in desperate need of a renovation and/or a good cleaning with bleach and carpet shampooing. We paid top dollar for that room; the rate there was higher than many 4 star hotels in NYC; we expected to at least get a clean room for the amount we paid. We should have complained but we suspect all the rooms look like this. Instead, we spent more time exploring Lake George and the surrounding areas.

The restaurant on the property, Villa Napoli was good. The wine selection is overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TartinLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

After checking out of the Sagamore because of their ongoing construction, we we delighted to find this cozy, comfortable motel. Definitely would recommend this as a great value. Great restaurant on the property, Villa Napoli was good, too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkRockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We recently stayed at Melody Manor on our way home from the Adirondacks. We found the resort to be very clean. The room was rather large, with a walk in closet. Bathroom was not huge, but was spacious enough. As far as things to do at the resort, there is a pool, shuffleboard, basketball, the lake, and paddle boats. We loved that there was a restaurant right on site (Villa Napoli), Food was excellent-my husband is Italian and quite picky about Italian food and he likewise thought it was excellent. The rooms that were higher up overlooked the lake and had a large grassy area to run around on. We will definitely stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jen196767_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
0.2 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
7.1 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
8.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melody Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Manor Resort

Address: 4610 Lake Shore Dr, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-3004
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Melody Manor Hotel Bolton Landing
Melody Manor Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing