We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you CAN go home again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melody Manor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melody Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
washington, va
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“you CAN go home again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Twenty-six years after we spent a family vacation at Melody Manor, we dared to return to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary together with our sons, now 43 and 39, their wives, and our darling 7- and 5-year-old granddaughters. We found a place that, while indeed neither new nor luxurious, is better maintained now than it was all those years ago! We had a very large room with balcony and lake view. The housekeeping staff added a nice touch by folding the towels in animal shapes that delighted the girls--and made us appreciate the attention to our special occasion. In the evening, all eight of us assembled in our room to watch the opening and first phases of the Olympics. Available lake recreation was still the same, if somewhat limited; we did enjoy, like all those years ago, the various outdoor games. To top it off, the restaurant, now called Villa Napoli, turned out to offer friendly service as well as good food, not only for breakfast but also for dinner: we initially shunned the restaurant because we had less than happy memories of 26 years ago... Indeed, Melody Manor surpassed our expectations!

Room Tip: The lower rooms give direct access to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trimardWashington_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just enjoyed a 5 night stay at Melody Manor with my 11 year old daughter for guitar camp. The owners Rose and Damian could not have been nicer and more accomodating. We had a very large room with 2 very comfortable queen beds and a nice clean bathroom. We took every opportunity to use the facilities like the lake front, kayaks, paddle boats, pool and restuarant. Never made it to the clay tennis court, shuffleboard, ping pong or row boats. The grounds are lovely and previously part of a 90 acre summer estate. Stop by the old carriage house and stable next door to shop for antiques and collectibles. I suggest bringing a good book so you can truely unwind while enjoying the lovely view.

Room Tip: South side end rooms on second or third floor are spacious and have a nice roomy balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is an older property that is located on Lake George about 10 or 15 minutes north of the more tourist-concentrated areas of the lake. The property has great lake access and we enjoyed the food and service at the adjourning restaurant (Villa Napoli). To be sure, there is nothing luxurious or upscale about the place – in fact, it is near the threshold of being a little too tired and worn to be called “rustic” -- but our guestroom was reasonably clean and comfortable. It will not necessarily appeal to everyone, and it is not an option we would choose if it was near a large city, but it offered a pleasant out-of-the-way experience that matched well with what we had expected (and wanted) from this part of our trip through the Lake George area. Just be sure to ask for a lake-facing room if one is available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Highway_Marker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarsdale, ny
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

There's no question that the Melody Manor has seen its better days. That said, the rooms are nicely outfitted, unquestionably clean, the bathrooms are quite nice and the overall layout is very convenient. For the price tag, the waterfront could have been a little nicer and the TV was a little fuzzy. Without question, the view from here is nothing short of spectacular. Listen, nothing is cheap in this area at this time of year and this is a very solid choice in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rangersfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family spent a relaxing 4 days at Melody Manor Resort in June. As others have noted, this resort has nice, big rooms, and beautiful views of Lake George. The atmosphere is very laid back. We enjoyed ourselves very much. The only problem was our reservation, which we made through booking.com. The owner never received any notice of it. There were still a couple of rooms available when we arrived, so everything turned out OK. In fact, the owner gave us a larger room than what what we were being charged for. He had a sort of "not again" reaction when we arrived, as if similar problems had occurred with booking.com in the past. I definitely recommend staying here, just don't reserve through booking.com.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tar heel professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at Melody Manor resort on the Memorial day weekend of 2012. We had a room in Building A on the ground floor overlooking the lake. The view from the room was lovely and we got it at a great price too. This was the only resort that didn't have inflated prices for the memorial day weekend and we got the room at the standard prices for the season. The room was clean and had a small refrigerator along with the normal amenities. Pics attached

We enjoyed paddle boating and Kayaking in the resort. The resort has a paddle boat and 4-5 kayaks. Just pick up the life jackets and oars from the reception and there you go. Thoroughly enjoyed kayaking early morning.

The only negative I found was during the reservation. I reserved 2 weeks before and never received the confirmation mail regarding the reservation. Apart from this, we had a great experience staying at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RohitD2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

The rooms were clean, although a little outdated. We had a 2nd floor corner room with a lake view. The room was very large, with a balcony and had a spectacular view of the lake. The bathroom was on the small side with very little counter space but was clean and decently appointed. There is a pool, nothing spectacular but again clean and well kept. The grounds are really lovely, the motel sits on a hill overlooking Lake George.

There are some nice amenities if you have small children, a wooden swingset, ping pong (outside), shufffle board and a basket ball hoop and volleyball net. The lakeside beach is small but pleasant. There are several boats, 2 kayaks, row bat and a few paddle boats which you can take out free of charge; life jackets are also available at the office.

There is a restaurant on site which offer a standard decent , if a little overpriced, breakfast. There is also an Italian restaurant on site, nice meal but nothing exceptional.

The owners are present and very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
8.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
8.0 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.6 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melody Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Manor Resort

Property: Melody Manor Resort
Address: 4610 Lake Shore Dr, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-3004
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Melody Manor Hotel Bolton Landing
Melody Manor Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing