We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure & Tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adventure & Tranquility”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Prospect Point Cottages has become my family's annual summer vacation destination. Located in the heart of the Adirondacks on a pristine lake, PPC truly is our little slice of heaven on earth. Whether you like to go on adventures hiking, canoeing, fishing, rafting or more, or if you'd just like to kick back on a relatively secluded beach, the location is fantastic.

The cottages are wonderful. All have fully stocked kitchens and are clean and are in the style of what a nice cabin on the lake should be: exposed wood, nice windows, etc. The decor inside really makes them stand out. Authentic works of art in birch-bark frames, stained glass windows in some of the cabins. Wall sconces, fireplaces and more complete the serene setting. Plus: the linens are always clean.

The service is impeccable. We truly feel like members of the family when we're there. From the beautiful flower and herb gardens, the to Ice Cream Social, Talent show, Friday Tea and more, the staff take great pride in making your stay truly magical.

PPC has a few boats they allow guests to use; canoes, kayaks, rowboats, etc. You can also choose to rent motorboats or canoes from the 2 rental places on the lake. Plan on cooking or grilling your own food as there are no restaurants nearby. But since each cottage has their own grill and firepit, we ate out only 2 meals in our recent 2-week stay!

There is also a main room called "The Prospect Room" where many retreat to to watch a movie on a rainy day, read a book, or gather in the evenings for games and good company.

We normally try not to tell too many people about PPC... If too many people find out, we'd never be able to book a stay in the winter (which we hope to do some day)!

Room Tip: If you have small children, the main lodge is close to the playground, beach and great lawn. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTLGriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Blue Mountain Lake is a destination of heart, mind and body for me since the age of 10, and without getting into exact numbers, it's been a long time since I missed a year at Big Blue. Prospect Point Cottages is one of a few remaining public places to stay and its perch on the peninsular site of an old three hole golf course gives it a sweeping view of the lake and its surrounding mountains including the majestic Blue Mountain. The waterfront beach is protected from the prevailing winds and is a sandy and safe playground for families of all ages.
The stand alone cottages have been recently remodeled and furnished with an eye to Adirondack décor and views. Swimming, fishing, boating, reading, writing and even sleeping just seem to go better when you have clean and well appointed places to stay. The staff is very personal and attentive with a rare sensitivity to your needs and desires. The Adirondack Museum of world reputation is a must visit experience--a mile up the mountain highway. The BML boat livery is the go-to place for all kinds of boat rentals and tours. Cell and internet service can be tricky, but that's a good thing. Remember 'vacation'? This is the place!

  • Liked — The view from the big windows and screened in porch.
  • Disliked — no super market or restaurant in the village
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a wonderful little corner of the world! The setting is absolutely beautiful. The lake is pristine. The water looked so inviting, but it was just a little too cool for us to take a swim. We did take advantage of the canoes and kayaks, however, and enjoyed a paddle around the lake. There is a dock which was a lovely place to sit in the evening and enjoy the peace and quiet with a marvelous view.

As far as the town goes, there is pretty much nothing to do, which is exactly the point. This is the perfect place to get away from it all. Enjoy the lake, with swimming, fishing and boating. There is the Adirondack museum which was very interesting. Other than that, it is a very sleepy little town. Buy groceries ahead of time and take them with you. There is only a tiny little corner store which charges outrageous prices. However the full kitchen in your cabin makes it easy to prepare simple meals.

We stayed in Moose cabin which was perfect. Furnishings were very comfortable. It was spotlessly clean. The kitchen had everything we needed. There's a nice fireplace, and a porch with a view of the lake. Each cabin also has a fire pit and adirondack chairs outside. There is a library which has books and movies that you can take back to your cabin. Wi-fi was included.

The staff were very friendly and they prepared a delicious, very ample homemade breakfast each morning.

Our time here was way too short. We fell in love with the place. Don't pass up a chance to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckybeckyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went first week of June. Cool but pleasant. Sun shine warmed it up. Lake too cold to swim but brought power boat and explored the lake. If you go boating get a map of the lake especially if you are using a boat and motor. There are some hidden shoals and underwater islands which can ruin your day. Other than that it is the cleanest lake in the USA. Loads of fish - smallies, lake trout (huge), salmon (immense), others. No pike or musky. You will become enchanted with this place if you have never been here before. Cottages are clean, plenty of firewood, (bring your own firestarter or kindling).
The staff is absolutely the best. Carol, Alene, and the others will treat you like royalty. If you like quiet, beautiful grounds, absolutely the best breakfast (included), rustic cottages with modern facilities, clean and perfect, you will be quite pleased. Adirondack Museum is a real treat if you like history. Hiking, fishing, (the best), wildlife, sweet clean fresh smell of the mountains, camping, boating, or just plain chillin out. I give it ten stars. If you like excitement and noise this is not the place for you. The Aidrondacks are wild and incredibly beautiful. Prospect point is worth every dollar you spend. Heavenly!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fir Cottage. I wish I was back there now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schultz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had an enjoyable first visit at Prospect Point Cottages over Memorial Day weekend. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate, and we did quite a bit of traveling to visit area attractions, but the cottages themselves are lovely. Most directly on the waters edge, each with private picnic table, charcoal grill, Adirondack chairs & private fire pits. Extremely cozy cabins with fully stocked kitchens for dinner preparation. Super clean linens are also provided in each unit. Staff was friendly and the breakfasts they offered during their off season were more than adequate. Seemingly most of their clientele are repeat visitors. They offer a beautiful spot away from it all. A place to sit back relax and appreciate mother nature. Be prepared to travel for groceries, shopping or restaurants. We traveled with our 2 year old and would probably seek out a location closer to Lake George to keep our little one busy... but for families with older children, couples or a group of friends this is a great spot with some very nice people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostDrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the staff to all the amenities, everything is perfect. We really don't want everyone to know how wonderful this place is because we want to keep it to ourselves! How does a facility find such awesome, helpful and kind people. They always take care of us like we are family. We want to live there. It is maximum great adirondacks any season. Stay away, it's all ours!!!!

Room Tip: The Fir is exquisite. We want to stay in the Redview soon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been a huge fan of Prospect Point for the past five years and our family eagerly looks forward to the last week in August when we return to the adorable Spruce cabin for our summer vacation. I recently discovered that it's just as incredible in the winter. We had a wonderful time snow shoeing and ice fishing on the lake. The wonderful staff took care of all the details so all we had to do was bundle up and enjoy breathtaking views of the lake and mountains.

Room Tip: If quiet is important to you, you may want to choose a stand-alone cabin instead of the big building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 193jmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
21.9 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
121 reviews
19.4 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
54 reviews
21.9 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
156 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake

Property: Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake
Address: 3381 New York Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY 12812
Location: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming housekeeping cottages on the shores of Blue Mountain Lake in the heart of the Adirondacks. On the water, breathtaking views, private sandy beach, porches, fully equipped kitchens, free cable TV and wireless Internet, phones, linens -- everything you need! Some cottages feature fireplaces, cathedral ceilings, skylights, and are wheelchair friendly. Wonderful fishing, hiking, lawn games, picnics. Free use of canoes, rowboats and paddleboats. Conference Room\Library with fireplace and piano. Tennis and golf nearby. Easy walk to town. Open all year! Adirondack Museum across the lake. Exhibits, concerts, plays, art classes in town. Visa/Mastercard/AMEX accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing