We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Adirondack lodge on spectacular setting”
Review of The Hedges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hedges
Certificate of Excellence
detroit michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Classic Adirondack lodge on spectacular setting”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The Hedges is just what you envision when you think about the Adirondack's - beautiful old buildings on a mountain lake. The buildings and rooms are clean and well decorated with beautiful woodworking. The service in the dining room was good and the food was acceptable. There are canoes, kayaks, and small boats to explore blue mountain lake. The lodge is well stocked with games, books and magazines, but there are no TV's or other modern distractions except that WiFi is available. The guests while we were there (mid Sept) tended to be in there 60's and 70's. If you are looking for great conversations with new friends in front of a big fireplace, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    32
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2009

My family has been coming to The Hedges for the past twenty years, and I can't think of a better, more relaxing vacation spot. Imagine having breakfast and dinner cooked to perfection every day; a place where your biggest concern is whether or not to go boating - that's The Hedges. The Hedges is the vision of rustic elegance on possibly the most beautiful lake in the region. Add in the great staff, and you've got the ideal getaway for a family or a couple.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simaeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have been on an extended trip through the upstate New York, exploring in our own backyard but far enough away to be away from home. We just spent a few days here and had such a great and relaxing time. It was as if we were in a different area of the country and yet we were only about two hours from home. We loved it and are planning to stay again next season. It is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miquelport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We really liked The Hedges and will be back again, hopefully with our grandchildren and their parents. Stayed in the Stone House - initially requested room 23 because it is the largest and has lake views, but the bathroom is inadequate to our needs so we moved.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2009

The Hedges is an Old World resort hotel (Great Camp) on placid and beautiful Blue Mountain Lake. It is my secret that I am reluctant to share but I am compelled to tell the world. The Hedges has peace and quiet (no telephones or televisions) and the natural beauty of the Adirondacks as its greatest selling points as well as endless hiking, mountain biking, kayaking/canoeing. Pat Benton, owner and loving caretaker, along with her staff take you back to another time,the perfect stewards of the land and the spirit of the Adirondacks - NYS's spectacular resource. Stone Lodge accomodations are well appointed and comfortable. Meals are hearty and satisfying. We shall return over and over again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpitcher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The Hedges is a wonderful secret hide-a-way in the Adirondacks...meticulously neat, clean cabins. A doting staff makes this place easy to relax and enjoy the beauty of the surrounding mountains. The food....exquisite, breakfast and dinner in the main lodge, overlooking the lake. Kayaks, canoes are available to venture out into the cool, clear waters of Blue Mtn Lake.
Upon my visits to the Hedges, I've been fortunate to observe numerous wildlife species, such as a red fox, large deer, and swarms of lightning bugs, something I don't ever get to see.....the lake is full of fish and waterfowl.
I recommend this beautiful setting in upstate New York to anyone seeking comfort and pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiquita525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We,Mom, Dad, boys (8&9) and Nana were lucky enough to spend this past Saturday in the Duxbury cottage. The cottage itself was very nice, even though it does not have a view of the lake, and is a ways from the dining hall and main lodge.
The food at both dinner and breakfast was wonderful and all of the staff could not have been nicer. We enjoyed the use of kayaks, the bonfire and the beach.
I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FourUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
0.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges

Property: The Hedges
Address: Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY
Location: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing