We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hedges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hedges
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Right on the lake, the Hedges is a delight. All the ambiance of camping but you get to sleep in a real bed!! Kayaks and canoes are available for guests use. Campfires in the evening, story tellers, live folk music. Very adirondacks. The food was ok, nothing great but adequate and the setting more than made up for it!!

Room Tip: We had one of the cabins. It has two bedrooms and a full bath. Very cute, nicely decorated with thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryBerry05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and thought we'd give the Hedges a try.
First, the staff was very good and accomodating. We stayednin a waterfrnt room, the Colonel's Room. It was clean and quite comfortable. The canoes, kayaks, game room, tennis were all inclusive and we appreciated not charging extra for the amenities.
The reason for our "average" rating is the food. It was disappointing. The presentation, portion size and quality left something to be desired. We have atayed in inclusive resorts in the Carribean, Alaska, Hawaii and in the U.S. The food at the Hedges will prevent us from a return visit.

Room Tip: The Colonel ended up costing over $300 a night including taxes and included gratutities. Nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tom12newengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

You can read the rest of the reviews concerning the quality of the Hedges. This review contains some practical suggestions.

First, quickly, the pros & cons. Pros: beautiful setting on Blue Mountain Lake. Very good (but not gourmet) food (this doesn't matter to me -- it might to you). Cons: fairly expensive (approximately $300 per night per couple, including tax & gratuities).

For the practical suggestions: the Hedges is on the eastern side of Blue Mountain Lake. Great for sunsets, but possibly bad for water sports due to the usual prevailing winds from the west. There is a fairly wide reach (distance) between the lake's western shore and where the Hedges is situated. That provides a lot of opportunity for the water to develop a chop. If you're planning on kayaking or canoeing, take the first day you get with light winds. You might not get another. A partly cloudy or considerably cloudy day with light/no wind is much more preferable to a gorgeous sunny day with 10- to 15 mph winds out of the west. You will get wet (or worse) on such days. Ironically, such days are better for hiking or for the Adirondack Museum than for water sports on Blue Mountain Lake.

Finally, for the big eaters in your party, breakfast at the Hedges is basically a made-to-order all-you-can-eat buffet. You are not limited to one selection. Your waiter will bring you as much from the menu as you want. Great for getting ready for a day of strenuous hiking.

The Hedges is a wonderful asset to the Adirondacks and I hope it stays in business for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigBirdPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is one of those places for a complete getaway. The Adirondack area has what they call, "Great Camps" and this is one of them. There are lodges and cabins, all basic comfy and cozy. One main dining room with delicious food. Heard that they are promoting "Wounded Warrior" by giving a free week to a military member who has been wounded in any war that the US fought in. Meals are included as well. Great idea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, me
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I attended a wedding at the Hedges, checking in Friday afternoon, and leaving on Sunday. The wedding (approx 65 people) had the entire place at our disposal and it was an absolute joy. They have kayaks and bikes to use, the staff was super friendly (particularly Frances!), the food was great, the setting was gorgeous.

It was the perfect mix of "kitchy" and genuine Adirondack historical atmosphere. Facilities were simple but clean and neat. We stayed in cabin one which was closest to the dining hall (yet still quiet) and right on the water.

This would be a great location for a reunion, wedding, or large gathering. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwolken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I were camping in a nearby state park. We were looking for any place to get dinner. Some folks we met told us that "The Hedges" was the only place around. So we didn't have high expectations. As we drove up we saw what a charming and peaceful place this is. It looks like the old fashioned "camps" but beautifully kept. We had dinner and saw the generations of families at big tables in the dining room. They were young and old alike. The Hedges sits right on Blue Lake. We did not have a reservation for dinner, but we were welcomed warmly by the staff. The food was very good and not very expensive.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndoverBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a cabin here Saturday night to celebrate our 25th anniversary. This place is just awesome! I can't say enough about the beauty of the area, the cleanliness of the cabin and lodges, the waitstaff and the amazing food. We are looking into booking again for next year. When you look at the pricing keep in mind this does include a four course dinner and made to order breakfast (as well as snacks and drinks). It really is a good deal for the area and truly a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwoodard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
0.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges

Property: The Hedges
Address: Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY
Location: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing