We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place for a Family Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hedges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hedges
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Family Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our Family my wife and I, Sister and husband, Nephew, and two daughters and their husbands spent the weekend celebrating three birthdays. We all had a great time and have booked the same rooms for next year. The food was too good - I've got to lose a few pounds. The staff people were outstanding. There was no evidence of mice whatsoever. Lots of cute litte red squirrels around.

Room Tip: Book early. It was our third year there. Many people are repeat visitors for 10 or more years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our first stay at the Hedges and we booked a room in the lodge which had a lovely view of the lake. The trip was relaxing and cozy from the start. Beautifully restored, the common area rooms all were decorated in the style we imagined from a great camp. We would bump into other relaxed residents, but were not put into a situation where we were obliged to share their space whether we wanted to or not. If we wanted our own table at dinner, that was just fine. If we wanted to sit at an empty dining room table in off-hours, that was fine. If we wanted to gather around the campfire after dark and sample the s'mores, that was fine too. Coffee was always available in the dining room, cookies and popcorn were laid out after 9 pm. At breakfast (included) we were given a dinner menu with a choice of three entrees (included) and were asked what time we would dine. We would plan our day around the dinner hour, enjoy a relaxed and tasty meal every evening. Canoes and kayaks were available for a leisurely trip around the lake and the several little islands gave us plenty to explore. Altogether it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Expect to add about $50 per day to the room fee to cover taxes and gratuities.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jorvik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in The Main Lodge, our first time at The Hedges. The room was small, but clean, and the bathroom was spacious. The weather was moody, but with so many interesting buildings with living rooms to relax in, I really didn't care. There were several common rooms with fireplaces which made for a very cozy atmosphere on a chilly Fall day. Breakfast and dinner were excellent! Guests are given a choice in menu items and there is some flexibility in the times of meals. I can't wait to go back in the Spring!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireflyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed at The Hedges many times, but after our recent stay we will not be returning.

This year we stayed in a cabin (the Lodges were booked); we awoke at 4:30 the first morning to "sounds" in the room and chased a mouse out through a hole in bathroom wall near the vanity. There were 2 traps in the room when we arrived but they had no bait in them. The next night we baited the traps and climbed into bed hoping for a mouse-free night. Unfortunately, that was not to be. We ended up trapping SIX mice -- it was a nightmare of epic proportions. We were awake all night to the snapping sound of traps going off -- we would then empty the traps and reset them. At one point the 2 traps went off almost simultaneously! The only thing that ended the carnage was daybreak. SIX MICE trapped - how many more were there that were not caught?

This is NOT a new problem for The Hedges; in past years we have always stayed in a room in The Stone Lodge or The Main Lodge and did not witness a mouse problem, but at bingo night last year it was announced that the cabins had mice and that steps were being taken to correct the situation. Evidently not enough steps were taken. There were little cards on the cabin door when we arrived this year concerning the H.M.P. - Hedges Mouse Patrol, how cute - but the card and un-baited traps do nothing to solve an ongoing infestation. A year has gone by during which professional exterminators could have addressed this serious rodent issue. Hedges management needs to spend the money to get this problem completely resolved.

As we were checking out, another guest said they saw a mouse in their room in The Main Lodge - trust me, if you SAW the mouse there were many more you didn't see.... We were two adults staying in a cabin; how many more mice would there have been if we had children with us and the snack food and crumbs involved in living with small children? I shudder to think. Moreover, this is not just an annoyance and a "pest issue", it's primarily a health issue. We heard that there were mice in the rooms above the kitchen (The Dining Lodge). Are there mice IN the kitchen also??

The Hedges is not an inexpensive place to stay, so there is a certain expectation of quality. Clearly, the cabins are in the woods, but they're not tents. Staying there should not involve rodents crawling around in your belongings. And it seems quite plausible for a mouse (or mice) to decide that the clothing in your luggage would make a comfortable new home -- not a souvenir you would want to discover as you unpacked after your trip.

With the situation as it is there now, we would not recommend The Hedges to anyone

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank hastobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat B, Owner at The Hedges, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
October 12, 2012

Dear Summer Campers,

For those of you who have taken the time to provide me with your written comments about your unfortunate visit with us may I offer my sincere thanks.

I can’t tell you how upset all of us have been with another cycle of ”Deer” Mice over population here in the Park this season. Part of being in these wild environs is enjoying the many animal species Mother Nature has provided. These mice are not one of them!

We had a similar runaway population outbreak occur in the summer of 2007, but not to the degree of this latest event, we battled them then, as now, monitoring patterns, closing down any areas they might use for breeding and diligently destroying any live mice. These efforts were very successful. We had some re-growth but it was manageable up to this season.

This season’s progeny was a complete surprise with their overwhelming numbers invading the camp in a concentrated period of time. I have spoken with many, many other camp and homeowners. They have had the same intense and unpleasant situation.

The camp is preparing to close for the winter season, allowing us to increase our efforts to eradicate these pests without doing harm to other species that are a part of the Park’s wildlife. At the same time, pray we have a very cold season which, according to the Wildlife Biologist at The Department of Environmental Conservation should help us with our efforts.





Would you be so kind and refer to a recent article by Stacy McNulty, Beech Nuts, Mice and Bears at http://www.adirondackalmanack.com/2012/08/stacy-mcnulty-beech-nuts-mice-and-bears.html#comments This informative article helped me immensely to understand how nature responds to different growing and “Mast” periods. I hope you will find it as interesting as I did.

I realize that nothing will make up for the unpleasant experience you may have had as our guest due to the mice. We did do all we could to try and minimize the impact on our campers, sometimes with only limited results.

As the very concerned owner of The Hedges, please know that I will continue to give the highest regard to each person’s safety, comfort and enjoyment while our guest. Have a wonderful fall and Holiday Season!

Most Sincerely

Pat Benton, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

In the tradition of the Adirondack camp exprience, The Hedges is always a pleasure and never a disappointment.
Over the years we have stayed here during the fall. We like to attend events and the Adirondack Musuem (this one, the Rustic Furniture Fair).
We have stayed in the Stone Lodge and the Warriors Cabin. The accommodations are clean and well appointed and without TV's. You truly can just enjoy the lake, kayak or canoe or just sit and watch the lake. The trails are an adventure alongside the lake and spectacular going into fall.
The good experience starts with a warm welcome at checkin and continues.
The restaurant (breakfast and dinner included) is also in keeping with the Adirondack camp experience but with all the dining amenities you would want. Food excellent. Service with Frances supervising the staff also excellent. Thank you for another great experience.

Room Tip: Check The Hedges website for a wide choice of rooms. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmother1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatfield, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Peaceful during the day. Kayak, canoes fun. Lake lovely. Food good. However we had a mix-up with room. Someone was in ours when we got there so they put us in another room. Then we had to move to another room. The first room there was funny noises at night. The second room we found out why-MICE!!! When we complained they told us to deal with it because we are in a forest. So we left a day early. NEVER will go back. Unless you like mice running in your suitcases, visiting you in bathroom, etc. DON'T GO.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TangFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence Center
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here in the cabins with a wonderful lake view. Cabin was charming, comfortable. Enjoyed kayaking, swimming in warm lake. We rowed out and watched folks cliff diving from Rock Island. Food was fantastic with everything from barbecued ribs, crab meat casserole, lake trout, traditional turkey dinner. We were never disappointed. The ambiance throughout the camp was beautiful. The Hedges is a peaceful place. Our fondest memory will be the sound of the loon and the smell of balsam in the air. We heard the loon everyday, daytime and at night. The balsam scent surrounded our cabin. I would need a book to comment on staff. Everyone made us feel so welcome and at home. One day it rained and as I sat in the dining hall next to the wood fireplace reading a book, the owner walked in with a wagon full of more wood for the fire. Very nice lady. Couple of things they do not mention. No need to bring beach towels. They provide large towels for the beach. Amenities in the bathroom only include bars of handsoap, box of tissues, towels. You must bring everything else. The mini fridge has a freezer and ice cube trays. We are going to return to the Hedges. Blissful place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
0.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges

Property: The Hedges
Address: Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY
Location: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing