We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My happy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turquoise Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turquoise Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bloomville B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My happy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We camped and ABSOLUTELY adored the Barn. We are so happy we went- 3 couples for a small retreat out of the city. We enjoyed the beauitfully talented and welcoming family as well as their beautiful property. Some vegetarians and some meat eaters in the group- but we all enjoyed Michelle's delicious breakfasts in the morning. We spent the afternoon and night cooking over the firepit- camping style. Extremely serene- beautiful hike- in the midst of chickens, cats and farmland...we were at peace.

They have a small kitchen with a fridge for use for the campers- makes it a little easier. Really clean facilities for the campers. We got a peak into the bed and breakfast rooms- beautifully done.

Hard to find, but an incredible gem. we will DEFINITELY be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobawalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We only met Michael (Michelle - we're very sorry for your loss) and since his wife's the raw-foodie, we missed that part. Well, that's a bit of a stretch. We did not "miss" anything at this gorgeous, simple, rustic barn/B&B/house/home.

If you want a simple place where you can sleep long hours and (literally) feel your stress melt away - go to TB. Michael and Michelle are just getting it off the ground but they've gotten everything right so far. The place is quiet, serene and make sure you take their "travel brochure" seriously. It has some fantastic recommendations for things to do in the area, places to see and places to eat at.

The place is very simple - know that before you go. If you're looking for jacuzzis and hot tubs and private swimming pools - not your place. If you're looking for a place that serves amazing and extremely good-for-you breakfasts, has some amazing company to sit around and chat with and where the owners know someone to come to your room and give you a killer massage or to make you do yoga in a barn full of fresh air - this is your place.

There's also camping on the grounds and our second night there, Michael made a gorgeous bonfire right outside. The stars are unbelievable, the peace unmatchable and the place - well, just go. The history of the place and a lot of the area – which Michael shared with us, is phenomenal. We’re not originally from the US so hearing about its history, settlers first in the area was a treat for us.

Michael - we cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchieKVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I camped here for the weekend and it was fantastic. We wanted to camp somewhere while going to the Taste of the Catskills Festival and the Turquoise Barn fit the bill perfectly. Their B&B rooms looked great as well (and we may try those on our next trip), but being able to pitch our tent between a pond and a stand of apple trees was just what we were looking for. Rates are a great value and if you are camping, you can arrange to use bathroom and kitchen facilities as well. Access to the beautiful Catskills Scenic trail is a short half-mile walk. We took advantage of the raw food breakfast and it was delicious too. The family that owns the place is beyond friendly and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. The subject line says it all: If you're looking for place to stay while you explore the Catskills with simple family hospitality, then the Turqoise Barn is your place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjballey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I never got to stay here, so i can't comment on that. However, I did pay a fee to stay just one night instead of the 2 night minimum. 1 month after I prepaid (with an additional fee) my booking, the owner told me that they had another booking that wanted the whole weekend, so they were refunding my money.

Bad Business.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank logic_error
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbarn17, Owner at Turquoise Barn, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Hi Joe
We apologize for the inconvenience we caused you. We are a very small family business and growing and mistakes do sometimes happen. Your reservation (as well as another) was cancelled due to an error on our end with confirming reservations. Unfortunately, another reservation for the same date had already been made prior to yours without my knowledge. We tried to compensate by setting you up in another B&B which was closer to your destination. Also, we have since set up a system where only one person is now taking & confirming all reservations. Again, we apologize.
Best,
T-Barn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I (not vegan or vegetarian but we both interested in healthy foods and eat little meat) stayed at the Turquoise Barn over Presidents Day weekend. We took the trip from New York City and after a 3 hour scenic drive through the Catskills felt a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan. We felt instantly relaxed as Michelle and Michael welcomed us to their beautiful home. It was clear that Michelle and Michael were very happy to chat to us and answer our (many) questions about vegan/raw foods and the stunning countryside by which we were surrounded. Michelle, we learned often gives talks and teaches about food around the US (and perhaps internationally?) and it was great to benefit from the one-on-one time, mainly over the delicious breakfasts, where she was very willing to share her knowledge – at no extra cost. While we felt like friends by the time we left, rather than customers, we also felt extremely comfortable to come and go as we pleased and spend as much or as little time in our charming room (with private bathroom) as we liked. We took advantage of the snowshoes provided on the premises and used Turquoise Barn as a base to explore other areas reachable by car. In summer, we’ll definitely be back to experience the fresh food from the garden and also to take part on one of Michelle’s creative cooking classes. Visitors should definitely check out the barn for handmade jewelry, art and furniture and the food items for sale such as the fresh, organic honey and bee pollen, we found to be much cheaper than those sold in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissEmmaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

IF your interested in having a laid back, and different experience then this the bed and breakfast for you. I have been to many bed and breakfasts before but none quite like this one. You sleep in authentic renovated barn that has been turned into a funky artsy space,where every corner is another piece of art made by the couple that runs the place. The husband and wife are extremely friendly and have much to tell if your interested in listening to their story. I am not vegan or raw but it was great to mix things up and try a filling breakfast and learn some new healthy cooking tips. During the winter there is not a ton to do but we were looking to just veg and maybe check out the local town. The view of the snow and the mountains from our huge windows was such a nice change of pace. I would highly recommend this place if your looking for authentic healthy and warm stay. You won't get fancy soaps but ask Michelle for a taste of her raw carob chocolate desert! They are fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reensbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I wanted to get out of NYC for one night. We felt boxed in by the city skyscrapers and needed a day to unwind. My girlfriend suggested we check this place out and I’m very happy we did. Our stay at the barn was just what we needed. The food was amazing. I felt healthy and rejuvenated. Both of us commented that after just one night, we felt as if we had been on vacation for days, disconnected from the mayhem and noise of big city living.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NycTravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomville
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
16.5 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
9.5 mi away
Stamford Gables
Stamford Gables
#1 of 4 in Stamford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Colonial B&B At Stamford
21.3 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
12.4 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Barn

Property: Turquoise Barn
Address: 8052 County Highway 18, Bloomville, NY 13739-2187
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Bloomville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomville
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 hours from NYC in the beautiful Catskill Mountains on an organic farm, Turquoise Barn is a former Green Certified B&B that has evolved into a full-house rental, retreat, and event center. The Catskills are becoming one of the hottest destinations for 2015. Besides being incredibly beautiful, the Catskills have been listed #2 on on Travel & Leisure's 'Best Places to Travel in 2015 - in the WORLD, #2 on Fodor's '2015 Go List!', and in the New York Times 52 Places to Go Feature. AND...Turquoise Barn has been featured in Conde Nast Traveller's January 2015 issue! Please Note: When you rent the Carriage House via Homeaway, you are renting the entire house Exclusively for your group. Our Home: Rustic . . Simplistic. . . Elegance........We are located in the Western Catskills on a former dairy farm. Our 3-story 3,000 sq. ft, converted 1800's Carriage House has large loft-style open spaces with high ceilings, artist designed & renovated with handcrafted furnishings and art throughout the house. Sleeps up to 16 people in beds and up to 25 with additional air mattresses or sleeping bags; camping on the property is also available. Set on acres of meadows, mountains, wooded areas, organic flower & veggie gardens, a fishing/swimming pond and streams, barns, and an amazing event field (with stage) nestled in the Catskill mountains; this fully furnished home is ideal for your next vacation, retreat, romantic getaway weekend, or gathering with friends & family. It's also the perfect spot for a country wedding, family reunions, group or corporate retreats. Upstairs are four large bedrooms (comfortably sleep 4 in each room), each equipped with a private bathroom, tastefully designed and decorated, and each with AMAZING views of the sunrise, sunset, moonrise, mountains or pond. Downstairs has an additional 5th full bathroom, open kitchen, large handcrafted dining table, radiant heat floors, wood stove and back sun porch. NATURE THERAPY.......Outside are acres of meadows, mountains, wooded areas, organic flower & veggie gardens, a fishing/swimming pond and streams. Fire pit for evening gatherings and open large field for special events. Also on the property are chickens, roosters, ducks, & cats (outdoor only). Hiking in our backyard or up the mountain road and just minutes away from the Catskill Scenic Trail for biking/walking/running/skiing. We are an eco-friendly chemical & pesticide-free environment both inside and out. Fresh spring water is available throughout the house and property; you can drink, swim and even shower in it! We use only natural soaps & cleaners as well as organic cotton linens which we line dry. Our property is the perfect location for large outdoor gatherings or small indoor events. Create your perfect country WEDDING; host a RETREAT, dinner party, or family and friends reunion. We have a large OUTDOOR EVENT SPACE nestled in the foothills with plenty of parking. Please visit Turquoise Barn website or contact us for more details What to do? Watch the sun set, moon rise, stars sparkle, relax by pond, build a bon fire, curl up with a good book next to the wood stove, schedule a massage or reiki treatment, hike or snowshoe the foothills in our backyard, visit the historical graveyard across the street. And if you want to explore, there are plenty of activities in the area. Close proximity to restaurants, SKIING (Plattekill 20-25 min - Bellayre- 30-35 min - Windham - 50 min - 1 hr), hiking, snowmobiling, swimming, fishing, book stores, antique shopping, yoga classes, performance centers, galleries, museums. Bovina 7 minutes, Delhi 10 min., Stamford, 10 min, Andes 15 minutes, Margaretville, 25 min, Cooperstown 50 min., Woodstock 1 hr. Approx. 2 Hours from George Washington Bridge - 3 Hrs. from NYC, 1.5 hrs. from Albany, 1.5hrs. Binghamton, 1.5hrs Kingston. For more pictures and information check Turquoise Barn's website as well as our reviews on Trip Advisor, Yelp! NOTE: We list on a number of websites so our calendar may not always be up to date. Please contact us before booking to be sure your dates are available. Thank you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing