We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived late at night, seemed deserted”
Review of Grand Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Royale Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Reviewed October 15, 2013

To be fair, we arrived really late at night with no reservation. There was a room available and the price was reasonable (I think there were probably a LOT of rooms available). The building looks very stately and nice, but the interior is a little dated. Again, late at night, but there were random people milling around the town which kind of gave a weird vibe. The room itself was clean enough but worn. The bathroom too. There were someone else's bobby pins left in the shower which made me wonder if the shower/bath is actually cleaned in between reservations... Parking is in the lot next door. Complimentary breakfast in the morning but it's pretty basic (fruit, dry cereal, coffee, toast). Overall we probably would drive through Binghamton next time and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnailLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. We are going to renovate very soon, and we can assure you , your next trip will be even more better with the enhancements, after serious consideration of the other guests recommendation.we do have larger and spacious rooms,
We do apologise for the slip up vis a vis the pins.. weare training the staff on these issues and increasing our supervision to ensure these dont recur.
once we complete our renovation, we are seriously considering to revamp the Breakfast.

We certainly do look forwards for futures visits and stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Grand Royale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

To save some money my girlfriend and I decided to stay in this historic government building. We stayed on a quiet Monday night. The price was agreeable, the desk help was friendly and the room, while small, was clean. The room offered a flat screen TV and a minifridge, but no channel guide. The bathroom was small, but it had everything you'd find in a typical big name hotel. The bed was a queen size and had average sheets and comforters, nothing too cozy but definitely sleepable. The bed wasn't the softest or most comfy, but it was definitely adequate.

The continental breakfast was a letdown though, carbs and fruit. Apple juice, coffee, and OJ are offered for drinks. White and wheat bread and some bagels are offered with a toaster, but no cream cheese, only butter and jelly. There are bananas, oranges and apples, all looked healthy, and some pound cake of various types. Cereal was also offered. No meat at all though, I was hoping for maybe something like a pre-cooked folded egg you'd get on a McDonald's sandwich or something to put on the bagel, but nothing. A poor breakfast is better than none though.

I recommend this place on a budget, it's near Galaxy Brewing and other beer attractions, close to the busses also. If you skip on breakfast then Rolando's is cheap and just down the street. This place has potential, and it's certainly worth staying in. I would sleep here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyaleHotel, Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We are very happy to hear that you would stay with us again, although our hotel wasn't quite what you were expecting. The opinions and feedback expressed by our guests are taken very seriously. In regards to breakfast, I’m sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We will however keep your suggestions in mind to further enhance our complimentary selections. We look forward to your future visits and hope to provide exemplary service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend got stuck in this town and needed a cheap but still nice hotel to stay at. This wasn't a typical hotel; the building use to be a city hall, but it was still nice. As someone else said the layout is a little weird but I actually kind of liked it. The guy at the front desk was nice but kept on pushing us to eat in the dinning area where the prices are a little on the expensive side. Also the dinning area was right by the back door which you have people staying there walking through all the time. The room we got was small but we honestly just needed a place to sleep. The one thing I did not like about the room is that the shower was extremely small! One last thing, the continental breakfast was pretty bad. There only was cereal, bread, bagels, some kind of cake, yogurt and the basic fruits. I had the bagel and it was pretty horrible. Not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyaleHotel, Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We would like to apologize for any inconveniences and less than acceptable hospitality standards you faced during your stay. We take these issues and matters seriously, and would like to rectify them immediately. Certain things we can do overnight, but some situations take time and we can assure you that this would be corrected before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The concept of saving a wonderful Beaux Arts building in downtown Binghamton, NY (a town that needs saving) is wonderful. However, that save is only half done. The original use of the building was as the City Hall and therefore the layout of the floors is odd but gives you lovely, highposted ceilings so that the rooms are spacious. One reviewer has faulted the venue for the fact that his view was of the building opposite. That's the city so he's never stayed in New York. We did have the drone of airconditioners but that was white noise and was no bother at all.

The retrofit of bathrooms is fine even if the final construction touches need to be revisited. The beds are comfortable and the rooms clean so I would stay again. That said, there is a lot left to be done. The continential breakfast is sad. Fresh fruit consisted of some tired bananas, three apples and an orange. Besides some yogurt, the rest of the fare was high-calorie pastries, bagels or toast. The coffee was not worth the effort.

Another disconcerting aspect is the fact that kitchen and cleaning staff use the guest elevators. The staff is very friendly and tries to accommodate.There is no sundries shop and downtown has the sidewalks rolled up on Sundays so there is no chance to get even a newspaper. With some further effort, this grande dame could be a showpiece.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up. Downtown Binghamton's only real economy is the college students who thr...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyaleHotel, Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind appreciation of the building and its architectural beauty. We are currently undergoing a restoration process throughout the hotel to enhance the property's grandeur and historical significance. In regards to breakfast, we have been taking many suggestions from those who stay to find a fitting balance that everyone can enjoy. I understand if it seems unusual for our kitchen and cleaning staff to use the guest elevator, but due to age and interesting structure it is the safest and/or only way for them to do their jobs efficiently. We want to build relations with our guests to last longer than a lifetime and we sincerely hope that you will keep patronizing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Beaux Arts architecture of what was formerly City Hall in downtown Binghamton drew us to this hotel. The exterior and public space of the hotel are magnificent. Our room was very clean and large and the ceilings were virtually cathedral like measuring at least 18 feet high. The water pressure in the shower was quite decent. So why can't I give it all the stars? The air conditioning unit took hours to cool off the room. The bed was so hard that I hurt my elbow when leaning on my side to watch TV. It is surprising how few TV stations they carry. The continental breakfast was weak and could have used some fruit. Last but not least the sheets were hard and scratchy.
Surprisingly, I will stay there again. Simply being in the lobby and other parts of the hotel brings my soul surprising joy. The architectural detail of the 1897 structure is of a grand scale and more than eye candy, this is high art.
If they can just tweak a few things, this could easily be a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the county courthouse.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your patronage and your positive feedback and your appreciation of this property's grandeur and historical significance. We shall look forward to your future visits, and patronage and the loyalty .We are open to suggestions so that we may continue to provide the service to our valued and esteemed guest to their satisfaction.
We are in the process of signing up with cable provider to provide more channels.Our continental breakfast has fruits assorted, but maybe when you were there, it might not have been replenished then and there.. we do apologise for that.With ref to linen, we are going through an upgrade and hopefully you will have to face these issues in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We traveled to Binghamton for a family wedding. We had to choose between two hotels being one the Grand Royale. Looking at the pictures of this hotel we decided to stay there, the building itself dates from the late 1800's. The building used to be the local City Hall and has been transformed into a quaint comfortable hotel.
If you are looking for a place to stay that has character, is clean, comfortable, centrally located and friendly, the Grand Royale is for you
I give the Grand Royale two thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you very much Mr Gino,
Thank you very much for your patronage and your positive feedback. We shall look forward to your future visits, and patronage and the loyalty .We are open to suggestions so that we may continue to provide the service to our valued and esteemed guest to their satisfaction.We want to build relations with our guests to last longer than a lifetime and we sincerely hope that you will keep patronizing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was part of several couples that reserved rooms for a wedding party. 2 of the couples were not expected to arrive until the next day, the day of the wedding. They were able to get a room that had a bed in a bad location, toilet seat loose and no view from the window. For me, reservations were made for 3 day/2 night but was charged 4 days/3 nights and, after speaking to the mgr, would not refund anything of the difference.
While the staff was pleasant and the hotel clean, the breakfast was in an out of the way area which consisted of danishes, 3 cold ceereals and breads. The location is forgiven as the building was not constructed as a hotel. The air conditioner worked, but did not cool. Our window had a view of the next building (or whatever it was). Lovely. Again I can forgive the window (but what building constructs a window to look at bricks of another building?) and the breakfast, but NOT the breakfast or the overcharging. And this was the ONLY hotel I stayed in that had no table for reading/eating..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Good morning mr Jomacho,
We would like to apologize for the discomfiture that you might have faced , and we take issues and matters seriously ,and would like to rectify immediately and as said, it is a work in progress .Certain things we can do overnight, but some takes time and we can assure you that this would be corrected before your next visit.
To better clarify and not justify, sir this building was built way back in 1897 and at that time nobody has envisioned it to become a hotel, and it was a building set up for administrative work and so was the next building adjacent to it.. DO understand your frustrations of looking out of a window to look at another brick building but there is little we can do about it structurally as t is a historical building, and we have to abide by the rules and dictions

as regards bad location of bed or the absence of tables...:
as reiterated it was an administrative govt building and later part of 20th century they converted it to a hotel so not all rooms are alike, it is not a cookie cutter hotel so each room size is different and we try to provide the amenities, furntures and fixing the best we can incorporate.we do have taken note of the table issue and we are considering thinking about going for wall mounted folding tables for the certain rooms only which do not have tables.
as regards bed in bad spot... that could be your perspective but we did design and incorporate based on the fundamentals of design and decoration. once aggain our apologies that it was not upto your liking

our bfast is set up in the restaurant area and we do not have any other place to allocate, and cannot think of putting it in another place as we do have dining tables and chairs right in the restaurant, and putting it anywhere else would defy the purpose and logistics.

we do have a policy that when a reservation is made and we know the check out date, we always make sure the guest checks out on the day he has it on the reservation. if he doesnt by 11 am we make it a point to call up and inform him. but if the guest had reserved for 1 more day we dont disturb the guest unnecessarily because our sytem tells us that you will be there for this day , unless we get indications from you verbally or by the do not disturb or clean my room sign.this is what had happened, initially you had the reservation for 4 days and 3 night, but you might have decided to leave early. if the keys were not returned to the front desk or the front desk is not notified, we have no way of knowingou are still there or gone, and again we have different exits, if you used the lobby exit then also we might have had a chance to know ok you are leaving, we did not know abt it till the next day, as per your reservation when u didnt check out we tried calling the room went in, so we assumed that you have checked out and the system had charged.A guest has to physically inform the front desk if there are any changes to the itenerary or your plans so that our records are updated. it is unfortunate that that happened. because of miscommunication. and nobody could do anything about it.
discomfiture We are striving to do better each day. we take issues and matters seriously ,and would like to rectify immediately and as said, it is a work in progress .Certain things we can do overnight, but some takes time and we can assure you that this would be corrected before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Binghamton hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Binghamton
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
203 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale Hotel

Address: 79 Collier St, Binghamton, NY 13901-3420
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Royale Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Binghamton
Clarion Grand Royale Hotel
Clarion Binghamton
Binghamton Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing