We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option in Bingo”
Review of Grand Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Royale Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent option in Bingo”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nice historic hotel, but expensive. Has breakfast included, but it was not very filling. Nice location downtown. Note hotel is no longer part of Clarion / Choice Hotels anymore. Rooms are a bit worn. Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    33
    21
    44
See reviews for
54
43
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent one night in this historic building that has just recently been renovated. It is centrally located in downtown Binghamton and we were able to walk to places- restaurants, bars, shopping etc. Staff were easily accessible and friendly. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks for a very nice stay at a reasonable charge.

Room Tip: We actually were on the 2nd floor near the elevator and there were several groups of people going th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hotel is a landmark worth checking out. My experience with the hotel staff was very good and my stay was very comfortable. I was there for almost 2 months working flood claims, so my length of stay allowed me to observe and take in many things under different circumstances. I had the opportunity to meet and interact with everyone, from the front desk personnel at check-in, to the service staff, general manager, as well as the owner. Each and every individual was friendly, courteous and professional. There was always a pleasant environment, a welcome smile, and a kind word from each and every employee.

When you are 1700 miles from home for an extended period of time, the attention to detail each person extended made my stay at the Grand Royale a most memorable one. After the first week, I was always confident in knowing my room would be clean when I returned every day, fresh and properly cleaned with all the amenities; fresh towels(fluffy) and linens, toiletries and plenty of coffee supplies for the in-room Krupp coffee unit. And there was always plenty of hot, fresh coffee in the breakfast area at any time, day or night.
I stayed in one of the suites on the third floor facing State Street and there was plenty of room to set up an office and to allow me to spread my work files out. The free internet worked well with no problem. They have free parking in the adjacent parking garage, a free daily breakfast in the breakfast area, and a fitness room with state of the art equipment.

The Grand Royale Hotel is going through changes, which are going smoothly and progressing nicely. Walking into the new lobby area and seeing the amazing Beaux Artes architecture restored to its original state is amazing and very beautiful.

Definitely worth staying here just to see this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Made a reservation online for my family paid in full. when we'd arrived, the innkeeper told me he hadnt noticed my reservation and he'd just given away the room, which was the last family size room, to a walk in. offered no apology. when i asked about refund, he said i'd need to take it up with Expedia and so sent my family and me merrily on our way, in the middle of the night. You know, if Mary with Child and Joseph had been looking for shelter , they probably would have chosen the stable over the 'Royale'. having seen only the dingy lobby and the fratboys filling the sidewalks , spilling out of the clubs and bars making some noise i did realize tho that a low-class college town joint is probably not where i wanted my family to stay anyway.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SitisDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Binghamton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

the rooms were bareable. the service at the front desk could be more friendly,very rude. and there was some creepy guy walking around. never going back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveyou69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Did have doubts about this place, but have changed my opinion.

A good value for the room, the service definitely seems to have improved from earlier reviews, and it's a really cool building (the old Binghamton City Hall). But there were a few glitches....

Upon arrival, we were assigned a nice 2nd floor king room. When we walked in, we found two floor fans instead of a working air conditioner! Since it was nearly 90 outside and very stuffy inside, we asked to move -- and were easily accomodated by front desk staff into a 3rd floor king room. That was nice and cool (though for some reason, all the floor lamps were unplugged).

No other major issues there - bed was comfy, bathroom clean, Internet access good, room was quiet (the hotel is located opposite a strip of late-night college bars and clubs - do try to get a room opposite from them).

Also, there was a gang of 20-somethings on our floor that decided to start banging on doors at 1AM (lots of weddings in town and it was also first week of college). A call downstairs fixed that, and when we further discussed this with front desk staff the next day, they were very apologetic (they definitely had their hands full with them!).

Breakfast was standard and OK - bagels and cereal and coffee, but filling (the room itself is pretty neat). Parking is free in a hotel lot and in a city garage next door (with parking slip from hotel).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJMAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in the 3rd floor "suite."room smelled musty and was dark. Upon check-in, staff had no personality and was not accommodating at all. When we booked the room we specifically asked if it was next to any loud clubs or anything of the sort, clearly we were lied to because there was a very loud block party going on right outside our window until 2am! I would not recommend staying here at all. Yes the historic parts of the building are neat to look at but they have basically trashed what could be a very nice hotel. Grand Royale...get a clue!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jripka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
195 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Of Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale Hotel

Property: Grand Royale Hotel
Address: 79 Collier St, Binghamton, NY 13901-3420
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Royale Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Binghamton
Clarion Grand Royale Hotel
Clarion Binghamton
Binghamton Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing