We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room OK, would stay again for free breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room OK, would stay again for free breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Although I thought the price of the room with 2 double beds, $119/night for two adults and a child, seemed high for our room, all the hotels with better reviews in the area were much more pricey. The room was OK. Not beautiful to look at, and small, but clean. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet seat was low compared to most modern toilets--although I don't need a handicap toilet, I do have a bad knee and I had trouble getting down and up. Our room was on the I-81 side of the inn and road noise was noticeable, but not so much I couldn't sleep. We got there too late to check out the pool across the back parking lot. Free wifi was slow. The free breakfast in the clean, bright and pleasant lobby was good and made the stay above-average for us. Huge, thick waffles made to order, fresh fruit, bagels, cereal, muffins, yogurt, and beverages. The woman who made the breakfast was very nice, and the people who worked behind the desk were courteous.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyNicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    35
    8
    9
See reviews for
50
41
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Grey, Ontario
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in October, at this hotel. It offers the typical value for money that Comfort Inn is known for, but the entire building could use some updating.

At first glance this is an older building, and it is definitely showing its age, however, the inside of the entire hotel is spotlessly clean.

Our room had a very comfortable king bed with lots of pillows, a window that opens, and while adjacent to I-81, the room was quiet. The free high speed Wi-fi in room worked flawlessly.

There is a spacious sitting area next to the lobby with pub chairs & sofas with a large eating area adjacent to it for the complimentary breakfast offered each morning. Fresh fruit along with a typical continental breakfast is provided, with Belgian waffles made for you, while you wait.

The front desk staff were very helpful, with suggestions on places to eat, where to find stores, etc. If you need directions to shopping or other common destinations, they have pre-printed maps with directions, to hand to you.

The hallways are becoming dated with old / worn carpeting, and tired looking wallpaper. It is definitely time for this hotel to be renovated before it becomes totally threadbare & outdated.

You get value for your dollar, but it’s a bit hard on the eyes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RescueTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Binghamton hotels

Shoreline, Washington USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

We were on our way from Detroit to Connecticut. We need to stay somewhere in between. If there is a next time, it will be somewhere else besides Binghamton.
The prices for all of the motels are high in comparison to what we found almost everywhere else on our seven week, 10,000+ mile trip around the US. Apparently this is due to the exploration for natural gas taking place in Pennsylvania and soon in New York state.
The room was unadorned - it reminded me of a Motel 6. An adjoining room had a hole in the door patched over with a piece of plywood. There was a fire extinguisher standing loose on the hall floor. The carpeting in the hall was worn and frayed.
The only bright spot was the breakfast room. It was relatively large, well kept (the staff were pleasant and efficient and had a number of offerings.
All in all, if you can continue on to somewhere else and are don't have to be in Binghamton, keep going.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groupsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed here after taking in a night of racing at I-88 Speedway. Unfortunately there was something they call Spiedie-Fest going on this weekend, so all the hotels were booked and this place was charging $119.95 per night. Definitely not worth that much. I'm thinking on a normal weekend I would have paid less than $100.00 per night. Hotel was OK, staff was very friendly and helpful. Entire facility looks a bit worn and could use some upgrades/TLC. Beds were not very comfortable and air conditioning unit was incredably loud. I think with some upgrades this hotel could get a 4 star rating from me, and I would be willing to stay there in the future if the rates were better. Roberson Museum down the street a bit was a lot of fun the next morning if you are looking for something to do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We arrived at the hotel in the early evening and unpacked. We had a long day as we drove from Missouri. After we unpacked we went to dinner and returned to the hotel to go to bed. When we pulled back the bedspread we were horrified to find blood stains all over the sheets. We called the front desk and their answer to the situation was they will come up and change the sheets. When we asked for a refund they refused to give us a refund. We promptly left and went to another hotel in the area and refuse to stay at any of the inns associated with Comfort. We contacted Choice Hotels International, the parent company an were told they couldn't do anything as the hotel is a franchise and independently owned. Again we refuse to stay in any of the affiliate hotels if that is the type of customer service they offer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Labrat1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed in this hotel as a stop-over on our way from NYC to Niagara Falls. Paid about USD62 with tax included per room. We had 2 adjoining rooms. The air-con in my room did not work, so we had to keep the doors open to allow cool air to circulate. The carpeting is old, and dirty. TV reception is poor. Bathroom is surprisingly clean and nice.

Wi-fi is of good speed, and parking is free.

Breakfast is of the typical free continental type, with a waffle making machine. However, the waffles turned out terrible due to some problem with the batter, and probably the temperature setting of the machine.

Overall, stay some where else if you can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xraydoc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Days in Binghamton and we were thrilled with the experience. The bed was so comfortable and the room was very clean. We had a great breakfast in the morning and the staff was extremely cheerful. What a great value! We will definitly stay here again when we visit our daughter at BU.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsoxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
3.1 mi away
Grand Royale Hotel
Grand Royale Hotel
#9 of 13 in Binghamton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS of Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1000 Upper Front St, Binghamton, NY 13905-1298 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Binghamton
Comfort Inn Binghamton
Binghamton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing