We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about everybody knows the Park Diner!”
Review of Park Diner

Park Diner
Ranked #19 of 212 Restaurants in Binghamton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
vestal, ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just about everybody knows the Park Diner!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Park Diner is a popular restaurant in the Binghamton area. The food is good and they offer some of the best French Fries in town.

The Park Diner features a lot of "home cooked" type of meals such as "turkey and dressing", "fish platters", "beef sandwiches with gravy". It is not a gourmet restaurant; however, the food is tasty and the prices are modest. This is the place to go when you want a wholesome meal with a fabulous dessert, and don't want to spend a fortune for lunch or dinner. Try their breakfasts too.

Ask for a seat by the window so you can look out on the river while you eat. Its a picturesque location.

This is the place to go when you in a hurry. Food is prepared quickly and the service is good.

Recently we ordered the Fish Platter and a Reuben Sandwich. While the food was good as expected, the French Fries were something to write home about! Very crisp and tasty.

The Park Diner always offers some tasty specials! These are always a good choice. The restaurant is only about 4-5 minutes from downtown, so if you are visiting the area, make it a point to dine there. You will enjoy your meals.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george_vestal_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    35
    12
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice river view in the back”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overlooks the river and a nice place for breakfast,lunch, dinner or eve snack.The view is nice ,the staff is friendly and the food good as well as reasonably priced

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaykk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Toward the end of a recent trip - needed some fuel to recharge and stumbled across the Park Diner. The hostess seated us near the Susquehanna River and we were able to view the river rushing by as it dropped over a little "fall" of sorts. Very good setting to help us all unwind as we sat down and ate our lunch which was breakfast. :) My eggs were cooked perfectly, as was the bacon and the toast was buttered just right. I always send up a prayer when ordering eggs over medium as I've often had to send eggs back for being too runny or overcooked so I'm always pleasantly surprised when they come out perfect the first time. I would definitely return to the Park Diner for breakfast in the future! Service was served with a smile and there was plenty of parking at the restaurant in a lot on-site and I noticed a lot across the street in case there was a need for over-flow.

Helpful?
Thank schnauzermom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Nice location. Clean and revised inside but the food is average. the pricing a little high.

Helpful?
Thank 300adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best diner in Binghamton”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We visit my wife's parents on average every 9 months and in the 5 years she has been in exile with me in England we always put this diner top of the list to visit with Mom & Pops.
The view of the city skyline across the river through the picture windows is a bonus to the extensive menu on offer at sensible prices - and service always cheery and faultless.
I would recommend their French Onion soup to start and then enjoy the chopped steak with onions and mushrooms. We always ask to substitute the fries for their wonderful beer battered onion rings and we are all set!
My in-laws always like to take us to Park Diner as they put this one at the top of their well researched list which also includes The Spot, Red Oak and Phil's Chicken in the Greater Binghamton area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank engraver124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Diner also viewed

 

Been to Park Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing