We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable home away from home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pickle Hill B&B

Pickle Hill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Binghamton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pickle Hill B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Binghamton B&B and Inns
Charlotte
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable home away from home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Tom and Leslie are experts in hospitality. Their bed and breakfast is not lavish, but very comfortable. On a quiet street, they made sure we had everything we needed in a peaceful surrounding. The beds were comfortable, the rooms as warm or cool as you prefer, the shower hot, and a fresh pot of coffee awaited every morning when we awoke. Tom and Leslie went out of their way making sure we enjoyed our stay, and even welcomed additional family members on our last day for a scrumptious breakfast of apple stuffed french toast. Thank you for making our stay even better!
Jeff and Lisa Smith

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irjagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
9
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

I traveled to Binhamton with a team mate and stayed at Pickle Hill B&B the day before our athletic event.
The owners were very friendly and gave us very sound advise regarding places to go and very good directions to wherever we wanted to go.
The room was clean and it had everything we needed.
We needed to depart early and they had no problem having breakfast ready at 7:00 AM. Breakfast was good and abundant.
Needless to say that the price was more than reasonable.
It was a nice experience and we would go back anytime.

  • Liked — Friendliness and wishing to meet our needs.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fencingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

My girlfriends and I were looking for an inexpensive, simple B&B to have a weekend get-together and booked 3 rooms at Pickle Hill B&B. the owner told me we would have the house to ourselves and we could bring cold drinks to put in their fridge if we wished. When we arrived, we pulled into the driveway and followed the path to the back door. One look at the piles of clutter on every surface, covered with years of dust ,and we knew we should've run, but the owner came to greet us and proceeded to scold us for coming to the "servants' quarters" door. He then collected himself, made polite conversation, and carried our luggage around to the front entrance. Walking through the door, I saw nothing that looked like the bright and airy rooms on their website - rather, I saw crummy brown shag carpeting and dark paneled walls and furniture, and a dreary, dark, depressing house. I felt like we'd stepped into the 70's at its worst. But we thought we'd make the best of it and stay the one night. The rooms were clean, thankfully, but the towels were old and musty and rack-dried; my bed sheets were a mismatched topsheet thrown over the old, pilly mattress pad, with another topsheet and cat-pulled blanket over; the bathroom was dark, old barnwood, with a torn shower curtain and extra towels stored by the toilet (how sanitary!). When I inquired if there would be half-n-half for our coffee, he said he had those little packets but 'you have to shake them up because they separate'! Needless to say, I bought some fresh and asked him to use ours. The clincher was the third room which was basically a walk in closet behind the bathroom, where that guest would have to lock himself in and we would have to lock him out of the bathroom, his only way out! The final straw...when the owner said he was going to have a male guest come in Sat. night to use that room, we decided we were outa there. Oh, and the fridge he offered for our use? When he very hesitantly allowed us to go into the kitchen to get our drinks, and we saw the entire rest of the house was a cluttered, dirty mess, we knew there was no way we were eating food there. These people have no business calling themselves a B&B. Yuck... I'm still skeeved.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Weezie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinghamtonSourpuss, Owner/operator at Pickle Hill B&B, responded to this review, September 28, 2007
It was recently called to our attention that we were given a poor review recently on the TripAdvisor site. We were appalled at the report Weezie01 gave about us! To be fair I want to point out that there are bed and breakfast people that understand what b and b's are and there are guests who are not so informed. Weezieo1 obviously is not and my husband had a sense of that.
Had I been available that weekend perhaps her experiance would have been different but after reading her following report of going to the local Comfort Inn, I am glad she found a more suitable room. I bet she paid more than 33 dollars a night too. She can be "skeeved" all she wants, but it doesnt come close to how we feel about her response to the discounted rate she asked for and recieved.
We now know not to come home with paperwork we must do while waiting for guests to arrive and to keep private areas locked so no one will have access to our office and living quarters. Yes, we are angry that after doing this business for almost 20 years, we had to encounter someone as petty and ill natured as she was.
Thank you for providing this forum so people can hear the other side of the story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickle Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickle Hill B&B

Property: Pickle Hill B&B
Address: 795 Chenango St, Binghamton, NY 13901-1844
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Binghamton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pickle Hill Bed And Breakfast
Pickle Hill Hotel Binghamton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing