We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Dog Cafe - Always found quality!”
Review of The Lost Dog Cafe

The Lost Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 215 Restaurants in Binghamton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Lost Dog Cafe, now in its 21st year is locally owned and operated by Marie McKenna & Elizabeth Hughes. We feature fresh, innovated cuisine that is locally sourced when possible including grass-fed beef, and many gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan options. Lost Dog Cafe is a 150 seat restaurant and has a full-bar and an extensive coffee, tea and dessert menu as well. Next door is Lost Dog Cocktail Lounge where guests can stay later and enjoy live music! The Lounge is open until midnight on weekdays and 1 a.m. on Friday & Saturday evenings. We also do catering!
NE USA
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Lost Dog Cafe - Always found quality!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Throughout the years, The Lost Dog Cafe has been consistantly delivering quality food, drinks, & service. Creative food offerings: never fail to delight. Staff are personable, professional, & trained. The Lounge is a great place for a cocktail -our bartender shared her fabulous Effen Cucumber drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    256
    53
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Locals and Students”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I went to the Lost Dog with a vegetarian friend and was very impressed with the menu. They cater to a variety of dietary options. My friend was able to order a vegetarian bean plate (which she loved!) while I order a delicious Turkey sandwich and fries. Overall we were very pleased with the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Happenin' place with fantastic food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was in town on business and found The Lost Dog via recommendations from a friend. It was surprising to find this hole in the wall in a sleepy town packed on a Tuesday night. It's a fun atmosphere and the food is so good. The service was good - attentive and food came out pretty quickly. I'd definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank minnow1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best In Binghamton”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Lost Dog is always great. When friends are in town and I know I want a great dinner I take them to "The Dog."

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NINII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Mardigras in downtown Binghampton!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

On an average I eat out at least twice a week in different cities around the country and have never been so impressed with one restaurant.

The initial impression as you enter the place is that it's so lively and the vibe is so positive, you wonder what are they feeding the customers :) They serve food, wine,coffee and teas, beer, speciality cocktails and what not.This also doubles up as a lounge when they have live musical performances. The place is so eclectic, that its worth checking of having a drink just to check it out.

Now about the food. The food here can be best described as flavorful, healthy with a twist that is unique to lost dog. For instance I ordered the veggie burger which did not come with a pattie but instead a grilled and slightly spiced garden burger with the usuals onions, tomatoes with garlic mayo. Every bite was heavenly and the size and portions seem right not excessive. My bar neighbor ordered the house special Rigatoni ala vodka which looked equally tempting. I opted for an organic rooibus tea to go with my dinner (why not) and the barista/ hostess was more than happy to share all the info about it.

Also this place is vegan friendly, gluten free(if you prefer). So they can substitute anything on their menu with vegetarian options.

If you are headed for dinner call ahead and make reservations or you may need to wait. Alternatively the bar is not a bad option either, no wait. Street parking is available in plenty around, I believe validated parking is also available.

Although the whole experience was excellent, it was not glitch free. I had to wait an additional 10 mins at the end of my dinner so the manager could come to take off the 50 c from my check, since they did not have the wheat wrap I ordered. Small annoyance that hope doesn't recur. I would gladly head back to try everything on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lost Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Lost Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing