We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches”
Review of J Michael's Restaurant & LNG - CLOSED

J Michael's Restaurant & LNG
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Http://www.binghamtoncvb.com/finedining.asp
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cockroaches”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

While dining here we were greeted by cockroaches on the wall and a dead one under our table. We were wondering why the place was dead at 7pm on a Saturday night-now we know.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apalachin, New York
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Above Average Italian food”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Their wood fired pizzas are great. We have eaten there many times and are never disappointed with the food. J. Michael's is located in a grotto type atmosphere which we enjoy. The red sauces at J. Michaels's are the best being equal to the best sauces in this area. There are a high level of Italian eateries in this area due to Italian emigrants in the early 1900's and very good Italian food is the average around her. J. Michael's has some of the best quality Italian foods around. Some live piano music is played here which adds to the ambienance. Cost is reasonable in most cases $10-20 for a full meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msmacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was expecting so much more. Not bad, but don't think we will go back because it was just average.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our "neighborhood" bistro. Great Italian Food.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This has become our "comfort" restaurant. We're regulars.In a cellar downtown, an interesting ambience. Waitstaff is great. Portions are generous and reliable. The brick oven pizzas are great as appetizers. We always take home half the meal. try the pork chop pizziola or the veal carciofe!

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tops in Binghamton”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

J. Michael's has a very different atmosphere from anywhere else in Binghamton. Formerly called The Cellar, you go a set of stairs to the basement. Far from claustrophobic, however, the ambience is cozy and Mediterranean feeling. Waitress was excellent, and the food was phenomenal, although too much to eat at one time. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank legalsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Michael's Restaurant & LNG also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing