We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value but fading”
Review of Motel 6 Binghamton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Binghamton
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent value but fading”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Several friends and I have stayed here many times over the last 15 years while golfing in the area. The motel still offers reasonable value for basic facilities as we expect from a Motel 6 but it is not as good as it used to be, needing a good overhaul and refreshing. The lobby area has been stripped of almost all decoration and amenities, the manager was friendly and efficient at arrival. The hallways were dim and worn. My non-smoking room had some smell of smoke and the toilet was blocked when I arrived. No other negatives showed up but no real positives either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    41
    29
    23
See reviews for
48
43
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I did a lot of research before choosing this motel and then found a coupon at a nearby rest area for an additional discount. It was by far the cheapest option with no extra charge for a dog to stay, which was good. My room was clean and had a nice large table and a refrigerator. I made a phone call from the room, and the phone went dead after a few minutes. I could not get the t.v. to turn on, and the sink in the bathroom did not flow well. The shower was excellent. With the air conditioner on, I could not hear the highway from a back room. The lock on the outside door from the back of the building did not work. People were pounding on doors and making a lot of noise at 4:15 a.m. The staff was very kind and gave me good directions when I missed the exit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunfl0werVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well ... what to say? It's a Motel 6 that cost us about $60 or $70 for the night.

There is no extras here.

The sign in the lobby said they are UNDER CONSTRUCTION.... so we accepted and knew what we were going to get.

The halls need a lot of work. Carpeting is shot. Walls need paint and cleanup. Seem very dark and uninviting but who knows what it will be like when they paint and put down new floors.

Sean (I believe was his name) at the front desk was very cooperative and kind.

Considering the fact we just stayed overnight, it was worth the savings compared to the $150 per night rooms right next door at the Comfort Inn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean room, comfortable stay. They're in the middle of renovating, so there are cosmetic issues in the hallway. My mattress wasn't exactly comfortable, and when I asked the manager to change the mattress, he did. Very happy with our 2 day stay. Nothing fancy, but good for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tizadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to Cornell, they were in the middle of renovations & our room hadn't been renovated yet. The staff was friendly, and it was fine for just one night, but wouldn't have stayed here longer. Bed was springy, and the whole room felt a bit moist. Otherwise, generally a good stay for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Toilet was not flushing,meaning they didnt clean it so I went to the nearest McDonalds instead...Hallways smell smoke even though they say non-smoking...I know it's only 56$ but I expect a clean bed and functioning bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julienbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Binghamton, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Julienbois - Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The maintenance issues and hallway odor you experienced are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience with us. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel needs renovations.....the halls need a lot of work....the rooms need new beds....very uncomfortable....the whole room needs updating. This hotel did have a fantastic front desk clerk....which was very pleasant to deal with. You get what you pay for. We were here for only 1 night....it suited our purpose. It was very well priced....which is why we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erieangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Binghamton
163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Binghamton
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Binghamton

Property: Motel 6 Binghamton
Address: 1012 Upper Front St, Binghamton, NY 13905-1204
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Binghamton 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Binghamton is conveniently located off of I-81 and just 5 miles from the several golf courses, the Oakdale Shopping Mall and Ross Park Zoo! Free Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. Truck parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Binghamton Hotel Binghamton
Motel Six Binghamton
Binghamton Motel Six
Binghamton Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing