We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good find.!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Certificate of Excellence
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a good find.!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

we were on vacation from Scotland and on our way back to new york having been to quebec and was looking for a place on route.We found this by chance and it was a great find.!!!! the staff were cheery and helpful and the food in the hotel restaurant was one of the best meals we had on route. the breakfast too was good. Considering we paid twice the price for other hotels on our trip this was great value. Ok the decor was a bit tired but the bed was comfortable, the place was clean and the room was large.
David on the desk was particularly helpful and the management should be proud of their staff. I hope Doubletree just decorate the place and hold onto their staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayandgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyW225, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, we will be converting to a Doubletree and management and staff will remain here!! We have an awesome team who take pride in their work so please come back and visit us soon!!

Patty Weist
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    340
    107
    30
    20
See reviews for
428
239
65
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was staying in the hotel and near the end of the day I got into the elevator from the Lobby level to go back to my room. When the doors opened, a young lady was in there. I noticed her name tag and knew she worked at the hotel. I didn't say much because my day had been so bad already and I thought for sure she didnt want to talk. But as soon as I got into the elevator, she asked what floor I was going to and how I was. I replied 5 and struck up a conversation about the hotels busy weekend. She said she hadn't been here because weekends are her days off. I asked what her position was and she said Administative Assistant. I never saw someone so cheerful at the end of a work day.
Before she got off on the second floor, She held the door open and said, "I hope you have a great day and the rest of your stay is wonderful too."

After a tough day and being down, this girl made my day so much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaSned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Traveling by car on the way to Fredonia, we were caught in a major thunderstorm, with torrential rain and tornado and were stranded at a rest area for some time just 9 miles from Binghamton, NY. We had hoped to drive further, but after our delay and anxious to get off the road, and with no reservation, we called ahead to the Binghamton Riverwalk hoping to find a room and spoke with Josh, who assured us that we would have our two rooms, and to urged us to take our time and travel safely. When we arrived, Josh was just as warm and professional as he was on the phone. He really was a welcome site after such a scary experience. He was so personable and good natured. His attention to detail was wonderful and was careful to direct us to park in the covered parking lot instead of the first outdoor lot we would see, as he said there may be hail associated with the storm. Our stay was lovely, so lovely, that on our way back through Binghamton the next night, we came back. Both nights, our rooms were clean, well appointed, beautiful bed linens, ample towels and toiletries - even a shower cap which no one bothers with anymore. Because the weather was so bad, we opted to dine in at the hotel's restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised, I imagine this is one of the better restaurants in all of Binghamton. Our service at the restaurant was attentive as well as the reception staff. Nicole waited on us with a beautiful smile, attention to detail (I have some food allergies), and as with everyone else we encountered at the Riverwalk, she was good natured, professional, and had a good sense of humor. We asked for her recommendations and they were spot on - you have to try the smoked beet salad! Miranda also checked in with us to make sure everything was OK and recommended the banana bread pudding for desert, which I ordered again the second night. When we came back the second night, even though the weather was fine, we opted not to venture out because there were several other dishes on the menu that we were still interesting in trying. The second night, Nicole and Miranda greeted us like old friends, and again fussed over us. Nicole took especially good care of us, when my monk fish was overcooked and was being refired, she brought me a beet salad on the house, as she said she remembered how much I liked it from the night before. Our experience was wonderful all around and whenever we are in the area again, we will come back. The hotel is beautiful and the staff really make this a special place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drrettwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyW225, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review. Myself and the rest of the management staff are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! The storm that came in that night was definitely a scary one! We are glad that you were able to make it safely to the hotel and welcomed in a pleasant way. We have a great staff dedicated to making our guests feel comfortable and relaxed.

Your review went a long way with the front desk and restaurant staff as well. The waitstaff you encountered in our restaurant and at the Front Desk were so overjoyed when I was able to share this review with them.

So again thank you and we look forward to your return very soon!

Patty Weist
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel was great. had a corner room with two double beds and a pull out sofa with plenty of floor space for a blowup matteress. Gym/pool area was also very good...new equipment and very clean. Dry sauna in very clean men's locker was excellent. Free breakfast buffet was good...typical buffet food: scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. Very welcome when travelling with four teenage kids. Didn't eat dinner at the hotel...nobody else was eating there so didn't want to be the first. Across the street was a cafe called something Dog. Food was ok but I thought it was high priced given this was Binghamton. Other than that there is not much else nearby. Another place nearby is something like Burger Mondays which wasn't open on Sunday so didn't get to try it but looking at the menu in the window the prices seemed more reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kep444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a lot of out of town guests for our daughter's wedding. The staff was more than helpful on several occasions. They attended to the smallest of needs with cheerfulness and professionalism.

We hosted a brunch on Sunday and couldn't be more pleased with the staff, the food, and the overall care given to us and to our guests.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was spacious. A microwave and some glassware would've been the only sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyW225, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Charlottte,

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review on your experience at the Hotel. We are so happy that we made you and your guests happy for your daughters wedding weekend!

Please keep us in mind for future events at the hotel. We look forward to working with you again very soon!

Keep in touch!

Patty Weist
Directorof Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is your best choice for a hotel when visiting Binghamton. It's priced reasonably, and the front desk is always super friendly. Located smack dab in the middle of downtown Binghamton (not that there's much going on there), so you're within walking distance of some bars and restaurants. The hotel has a decent bar, fitness center, and the best, the BEST free breakfast I have ever had at any hotel...and I travel a lot for work! It's a buffet, but you are served coffee by a waiter, nice white tablecloths, great food, hot eggs, meats, pancakes, etc. Their free eggs are the best I have ever had in a hotel. Since there's a waiter you probably want to tip a couple bucks, but well worth it. The rooms are also nice, lobby is nice, and last I was there they were renovating the rooms, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 455Lin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyW225, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Patty Weist
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Looking back on the reviews, you get the picture: They are always remodeling. No one however seems to get the 'new' rooms. Now, they are remodeling as a Doubletree due for December. Something tells me next summer they will be remodeling as a Marriott.
Other than that, not much different from the other reviews and from my review last year...when they were 'remodeling'. . Average rooms. The beds are now sinking to the floor (new ones I'm sure will be coming with the 'remodel'). The hall carpet still has ripples. OK TV line up. Food is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBigTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyW225, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your past experience at the hotel.

We are definitely making progress to becoming the DoubleTree by Hilton, you have my word on that!! I do apologize that it seems that we are not making progress when you do come back and stay with us everytime. The devestating flood that occured in September of 2011 set us back a few months, unfortunatley.

But again you have my word that ownership and management is taking every possible step to making sure that the DoubleTree Flag will be flying by February 2013. We are so excited to know that we will part of the Hilton Family soon.

Please stop in to the Sales Office next time you are in town, I would love to say welcome!!!

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Patty Weist
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
Address: 225 Water St, Binghamton, NY 13901-2704 (Formerly Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, where the little things mean everything! We offer the finest accommodations in the Binghamton area. Guests enjoy free use of the Riverwalk Athletic Club located onsite and fine dining at our restaurant, the River Bistro. We also have exceptional facilities for gala occasions and corporate meetings. We can host events from 2 to 1,000 people and have a variety of meeting spaces to fit the needs of any event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel Binghamton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing