We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just a bit outdated but renovations are only a few months away. This hotel is perfectly quiet and the beds are so comfortable - great place to sleep! Very clean and staff is top notch. The hotel's bar/restaurant is also very good; great food although the atmosphere is a bit sterile (again, this will be improved in the next few months). Plus, the Lost Dog Cafe is right across the street - great atmosphere and awesome food and staff...it's not really a "cafe" - it's a seriously good restaurant with many unique dishes to sample.

I always stay here when I travel to Binghamton...best value in town and nice to be near everything downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biztraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time you took to let us know that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we will soon be a Doubletree by Hilton with all new renovations. We are very excited for this change! The downtown area has also gone through some major changes with additional restaurants and shops. We look forward to your stay with us again real soon!

Thank You!

Patty Weist
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

All staff was wonderful. Minor problem with sink drain was fixed immediately.

Room Tip: Will be a Hilton in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFP216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel!

I am very happy that you found the staff to be very accomodating! Please visit us again soon!

Patty Weist
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The bath was updated w/ a new insert & wonderful shower heads. Plush towels & nice shampoo/lotions. The linens were new & clean but the carpet was gross. They are planning renovations for August & will become a Doubletree I think. It's an older building but they keep it looking nice. The hot complimentary breakfast was mediocre-the chaffing dishes wre kept too hot so the food was overdone. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HardToPlease72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

It's a hotel with rooms for sleeping. Relatively clean. Parking is convenient.

Other than that it is quite mediocre. The whole atmosphere is cold and withdrawn. Minimal employees visible and they don't acknowledge you if you do see any. Hallway carpet on 4th floor was wrinkled with raised ridges throughout. What's up with that? The pool is in a separate building at an associated fitness center. A bit annoying.

All in all, there was simply nothing to rave about. On par with a low/mid-range business hotel (HI express, etc)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike18062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is in transition to be a Doubletree later in the year. So all rooms are in transition as well. Our room was supposed to be non smoking however it smelt strongly of cigarettes. A return to the front desk and we were swiftly moved to another room. The room was wonderfully large and had everything we needed however it was very much in need of redecoration. Good wifi for keeping in touch however the continental breakfast was a huge disappointment compared to other properties where we have stayed. The quality was poor and you were relegated to sitting outside the dining room balancing your food on your lap. If you paid the extra for a cooked breakfast you were allowed in the dining room. Poor policy for this property. Oh I must commend David on check in for the quality of his customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

but that doesn't help if you are looking to stay here soon. This hotel is soon to become a Hilton Doubletree and signs to that effect abound. the hotel is transforming the lobby, the bar, the restaurant are all lovely but the rooms are DATED!

I reserved a room at the Grand Royale in Binghamton nearly a year before this stay as my daughter was graduating from SUNY Binghamton and it is a given that rooms are at a premium. That hotel lost me reservation and put me up at the Riverwalk.

Our room was 2 full size (not queen) beds. My husband and I are not used to sleeping in this small a bed and our sleep suffered. The other bed was occupied by another daughter so there was no help to be had. The heating/cooling system was way too loud and there was a severe shortage of outlets. This day and age with all the electronic gadgets we carry - one outlet is farr too little. I had to rearrange the furniture to get the iron and ironing board to the outlet!

There was a card on the dresser alerting us to the fact that come August all the rooms were to be refurbished. GREAT for anytone staying after that time!

The bathroom was too outdated to have guests. The sink knobs turned on in the wrong direction, the facuet was too close to the back of the sink and there was no drain plug whatsoever! To fill the sink we had to use a plastic bag to stop it up! There was one hook in the entire bathroon - and that was on tha back of the door. They touted a green policy about only taking the towels you leave on the floor. Without hooks to dry them after use, where else are you supposed to put these?

Housekeeping made the stay better - the rooms were clean and tended to - just outdated.

They had the old fashioned hangers that are permanently attached to the rod and just the lower portion comes off - which is fine, but give more more than a few when you know there are 3 of us for 2 nights!

All of that said, with all rooms in the city sold out I was happy to have a room. Had I paid the asking price of $195.00 per night I would have been less happy.

This will be really nice, AFTER the rooms are refurbished!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, New York, USA
13
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel was hosting some sort of party. The loudest and most obnoxious guests I have ever encountered. While it wasnt the hotel's fault that these guests were horrible, they could have done more to stop the noise. They should have called the police and had these people arrested -- that's how bad it was. Loud, profane, and filthy ----no exaggeration. Every guest I spoke to the next day said the same thing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton

Address: 225 Water St, Binghamton, NY 13901-2704 (Formerly Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range: $104 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, where the little things mean everything! We offer the finest accommodations in the Binghamton area. Guests enjoy free use of the Riverwalk Athletic Club located onsite and fine dining at our restaurant, the River Bistro. We also have exceptional facilities for gala occasions and corporate meetings. We can host events from 2 to 1,000 people and have a variety of meeting spaces to fit the needs of any event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel Binghamton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing