We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Public spaces are lovely, rooms are fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent one night here as stopover on a long road trip. The lobby is very swank, and the rooms were not quite up to that level but were perfectly fine. The gym is GREAT--a proper gym that non-guests belong to--with a lovely pool we were able to spend a little time in. We had breakfast in the cafe, which was also just fine but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BostonTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place is awful. I have no idea how they can possibly claim that this is a 3 star hotel! The lobby has been renovated, but the rooms are very, very old and outdated. Peeling wallpaper, drapes hanging by a thread from the window, concave beds that seemed about 20 years old, cracked/broken tile work in the bathroom, and rust abounds (on the light fixtures, elevator, closet door). When I asked for one of the renovated rooms as seen on the website, I was told that those don't actually exist as of yet. Included breakfast was basically stale donuts, juice, and coffee. YUM! Surely there is a better place to stay in Binghamton.

Room Tip: Looked at several rooms because I was unhappy with the first one. They are all awful.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyW225, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Good Afternoon, Paula.

We are very sorry that you were not happy with your overnight stay here at the hotel recently. We are in the process of completely renovating the property to become a 4 star hotel, late this fall. In the meantime, for the comfort of all of our guests, we have upgraded our amenities in all rooms including upgraded bathroom amenities, new linens for all the beds and flat screen televisions. The hotel room showcased on our website is indeed our current room, not renovated. We strive each day for 100% guest satisfaction. Again, we are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay, please reconsider staying with us again in the near future.

Patty Weist
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Good Solid Hotel. Stayed there for a conference. It's my understanding it was in receivership, and under new management from the previous Best Western. The conference rooms and everything was nice. They are undergoing the room renovations this spring, but the bed and linens were still really nice despite the furniture and carpet to be in need of replacement.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmckim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hotel has been remodeled in lobby and restaurant is very pleasant. Rooms were acceptable but they will be remodeling in the Winter of 2012. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The weather turned out to be frigid during the holidays so instead of going out one night for dinner, ate in restaurant. Food was fine for the occasion. Cleaning staff for some reason forgot to clean our bathroom. However, because I am originally from Binghamton, will go back for the holidays in 2012

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boogie87, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Good Morning! Thank you for your recent review to Trip Advisor on your stay at the Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel.

Yes, we are in the stages of renovating the Hotel to become a franchise hotel in the Winter of 2012 or even sooner. We all are very excited for this change to happen. The Main Lobby and Restaurant have been completely renovated and all of the guestrooms will be completly renovated as well.

I apologize for your bathroom not being clean, this is not our standard practice.

We look forward to your stay in December 2012.

Patty Weist
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The front desk staff were very friendly. The lobby was bright and appealing. My room was super clean and the bed soft and comfortable. Nice location; easy traveling distance from attractions. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soonerj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boogie87, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Good Morning!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during the holidays!

You mentioned "Wonderful Hotel" in your review, well, we will be better than just wonderful here soon! We are in the process of becoming a franchise hotel with all of our rooms being renovated.

We are very excited for the change and we hope you stay with us very soon!

Patty Weist
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Where to begin. The first room we had the bathroom was not clean when we checked in. Add to that the fact that the walls were stained as well as all the chairs had huge stains on them we went back to the front desk and asked for a 2nd room. The second room was better but the carpets and chairs were still stained and the cold water barely worked. I had much bigger expectations for this place based on the Tripadvisor reviews. Only positive note was the desk clerk was helpful and didn't question us when we asked for 2nd room. She even was willing to give us some money towards breakfast, but the fact that the 2nd room wasn't much better has me give this place low marks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottpowerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Needed a place to stay for Christmas holidays. Son's gf is from Binghamton and after
dating a year, Mom was invited to meet her very extensive family.

First night was miserable as the heating system was VERY LOUD every time it came on.
Asked for a different room with a river view and got it; very few people in the hotel over the
holidays.

Forgot how these older hotels have such BIG rooms. I booked this because it said the hotel was renovated----but that was the lobby & common rooms, not the individual rooms.
Notes are left saying the hotel room will be renovated in the winter; so of course, you are looking to see what needs to be renovated.

The standard of cleanliness for these rooms is apparently quite high; quite pristine.

The beds are, I must say, as good or better than Marriott rooms! Very cozy and nice.

My 2nd room, a nice view of the river; the hotel was close to my son's gf's family.

There are many restaurants close to this hotel. I did eat breakfast the first morning and
it was very good; potatoes cooked well with little grease, great rye marbled toast.

Nice staff, very accommodating.

Room Tip: As for a river view room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jansjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
153 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton

Address: 225 Water St, Binghamton, NY 13901-2704 (Formerly Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range: $118 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, where the little things mean everything! We offer the finest accommodations in the Binghamton area. Guests enjoy free use of the Riverwalk Athletic Club located onsite and fine dining at our restaurant, the River Bistro. We also have exceptional facilities for gala occasions and corporate meetings. We can host events from 2 to 1,000 people and have a variety of meeting spaces to fit the needs of any event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel Binghamton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing