We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little short on the sides”

Peekamoose Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a little short on the sides”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The food was delicious but the sides left a little to be desired. I ordered chicken (which was delicious) but the sides were a few blueberries, a very small onion and some sprouts. My husband had halibut (which was delicious) with 3 dime size potatoes. The manager was very polite and offered additional potatoes but we feel you should not have to ask for a reasonable portion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    92
    33
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shirley, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Ate at this place on a rainy Friday night in May. No reservations and we were concerned because it looked like the parking lot was full. Were offered a few seating places in the bar area and chose a table next to the door going out to the fire pit area. Good location with the rain pouring down and the smell of the burning wood. Bar was crowded and it seemed like the crowd had all been there before. Wife had the Chopped Salad which was excellent. I had the burger which was cooked as requested and also very good. I had the Bronx Brewery pale ale which was very good. My wife had a Cabernet suggested by the waitress which good. Coming from Long Island I didn't find the place to be too expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A cut above”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have eaten here several times over the last year and have only seen improvement. The quality of food has now gone from above average to a must try especially simple items like the chopped salad and as entree the chicken was the best. Good service and atmosphere

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High end dining in the Catskills”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is probably the most high-end restaurant in the Catskills, which is reflected in their prices, service and atmosphere. This may also be one of the only restaurants I've been to in the area that really does require reservations to avoid a lengthy wait for a table. There is a formal dining room and a bar area where they serve the same menu. The bar was hectic and the service slow on a recent busy night. I would recommend the main dining room if you want a calmer dining experience. The staff was professional, but didn't seem to have their sea legs yet for the busy season.

The food was mixed. Some dishes (chopped salad) were great, while the steak was obviously under a heating lamp a little too long. The beer list was solid and the cocktail menu was Brooklyn hipster.

They were quite thoughtful in how they created the atmosphere. We were encouraged to visit the fire pit outside the restaurant to roast a marshmallow on our way out. There was a little play room for kids built around a fairy-tale like tree which was completely charming. The staff were well versed on the food and drinks and happy to tell you more about them.

This is a great break from the usual Catskills dining experience. I'm sure a couple more weeks of high season traffic and they'll work out the kinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrklynTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Quite an indulgence - fresh produces and a great place for everyone”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stopped by a local cafe/ furniture store in Catskills and out of the blue just ask for a restaurant recommendation. The cafe staff recommended this place and we tried to make a reservation for dinner but nothing was available.

We asked the hotel and they said the outdoor seating is walk-in so we gave it a try. Love this place already from the look of it, it is very relaxing and just to look at all the trees surrounding it, it was a treat already.

We ordered asparagus, chicken and steak and they were all very tasty. I love the asparagus a lot, the seasoning pair with the asparagus very well. The asparagus tasted very fresh.

The chicken is organic and I saw some chickens roaming around in the restaurants too. Chicken tasted like they are farm chicken and has strong chicken flavor.

The steak was very tender and juicy.

Love this dinning experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luxship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peekamoose Restaurant also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Pine Hill, Catskill Region
 

Been to Peekamoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing