We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat in Catskills”

Peekamoose Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our first trip to the Catskills and we did not time our trip very well. It was dark and we were lost and then an oasis is the cold night. Peekamoose was a gift to our journey. The atmosphere,the cocktails,the service the food was more then I could have ever expected in this little town of Big Indian. If you are in the area please take the time to find this lovely little hideaway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GinaMDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Very beautiful restaurant. Atmosphere was very nice. Food was delicious however wait time was long. Perfect for me though. It gave me time to digest my meal. Dessert was spectacular. Owner was extremely attentive and kind. French server was quite rude. Overall food worth the wait. The decor made it a very nice experience. I will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ilovepurpletulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madzilla23, Owner at Peekamoose Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience. As we continually are trying to improve ourselves, would you mind contacting me directly to discuss your server? She has been with us since we opened - more than 10 years ago- and is our most requested server. I would welcome any insight or feedback so that I may know more specific details about your dinner.

Again, thank you for your glowing words of praise - We hope to have you back around our table again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Always a fantastic meal! The chicken dish is the best I have ever had, but order right away because it takes over 25 minutes to prepare. We always eat in the bar because it is cozy and the service is great. Dee, the bartender makes an amazing Cosmo!
Burger is fantastic and menu changes with the season.
They recently added a craft beer tap with local interesting beer.
And, always have a fire going outside in the firepit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The food and decor are excellent, but the prices are a bit on the high side for the area, but worth it for a special occasion. It was not the restaurant's fault, but we had 2 screaming babies at the table next to us which totally ruined the mood. I blame the classless parents who took their young children (under 2 years old) to an upscale restaurant at 8pm. SO RUDE when others are trying to enjoy a nice meal. I have no complaints about the food, service or ambiance, all of which were excellent.

Thank ogramrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had our wedding dinner at the Peekamoose Restaurant. We were a group of 14 and had our dinner in the private dining room, and it could not have been more perfect! We had pre-selected our wines, and a menu with a variety of choices for our guests. Marybeth and Van were wonderful to work with and our event was perfect! The room was rustic and cozy, but the food was anything but rustic! Every dish we had was contemporary and delicious! From the wood grilled squid to the local farm-raised rabbit to the amazing housemade ice creams...a simply amazing meal. And every one of our guests enjoyed theirs as much as we did! We highly recommend this little gem in the Catskills!

1  Thank Suepound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madzilla23, Owner at Peekamoose Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Sue and MaryJo - Thank you for your lovely review. The pleasure and honor of hosting your dinner was truly ours! We are always flattered to be considered for such a once-in-a-lifetime occasion. Thank you for letting us be a part of yours. The entire management and staff wish to extend our congratulations and gratitude! We are looking forward to spending a few anniversaries with you both around our table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peekamoose Restaurant also viewed

Pine Hill, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Been to Peekamoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing