We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, busy restaurant”

Peekamoose Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, busy restaurant”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a Saturday night reservation in April at Peekamoose. I had heard great things, so we were excited. First off, the food lives up to the hype. All the dishes were awesome, and even better than you expected. The restaurant decor is nice too, it's a little quirky, and the restaurant is huge.

The drawbacks are that, despite having a pretty big staff, the staff still doesn't seem big enough for the restaurant. There's no hostess to greet customers at the front -- the desk is usually unmanned until a waitress notices that there's people waiting in the front. Our water was often overlooked so we were thirsty for most of our meal. And the decaf coffee tasted like sanka coffee.

That being said, everything else was excelled and our waitress and server was friendly. We got lots of the amazing bread that they brought to the table. I had the scallops and chicken livers, witht he apple tart and mint ice cream dessert. My boyfriend had the fisherman's stew, mussels and rainbow trout. Everything was amazing. We'll definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plural39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    92
    33
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Delicious and fresh”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a great find! Amazing and creative food cooked to perfection! A very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. If you are in the area, check out this place for a special night. You won't be disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford , NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peekamoose is worth the trip”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a gem ! The atmosphere is really great and the foods pretty good too. The dining areas have a lot to look at , including an entire wall of old tools and nic nacks that has to be seen to be understood. The owner chef even stopped by our table. The food was excellent . If I had to try and come up with a complaint it would be that the menu is very small but considering the foods are fresh and from local farms I would say that it's not really a problem unless you have a very picky eater. Worth the trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KD_Oxford_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, NY
Level Contributor
365 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in the Catskills”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

High end food in a great surrounding, perfect for celebrating a good day skiing at Belleayre. They will do,children's portions. Cocktails and beers are excellent. Decor is perfect, service is great. The bar is really good, and everyone loves the adjacent outdoor fire pit with free marshmallow toasting for the kids. If this were closer to her I would go once a month. The only downside is that it is expensive, but its worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindagaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shandaken, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful restaurant; culinary expertise”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you're craving some finely executed food in a beautiful but not fussy environment, this is the place ! Bar room atmosphere and service is friendlier and definitely quicker than dining room ...same menu available. Food is delicious, though entrees do not come with vegetables ( must be ordered ala carte) which is disappointing, considering the price point ...menu descriptions mention vegetables but show up as a miniscule garnish or "foam" . Other than that, the food is consistently wonderful !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Binno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peekamoose Restaurant also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Pine Hill, Catskill Region
 

Been to Peekamoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing