We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peekamoose Restaurant”

Peekamoose Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peekamoose Restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved the atmosphere and food so much!! The service was excellent!! Highly recommended. Kids meals were plentiful and great quality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyudmila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    93
    33
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Tremper, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant is consistently above the rest. The atmosphere is awesome and the food is always delicious and beautifully presented. Never seems to amaze me just how much this chef puts in to his food. Locally grown, a well planned menu always fresh and I have never been disappointed. The wine choices are excellent and the staff is great. Bar seats are the best.!!!
My favorite place in the region

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karina2u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault anything. I know most people eat out for the meat, but it was the quality of the veg dishes that set Peakamoose apart. Onion tart and beets as starters and excellent roast sprouts set off a fine steak and succulent pork. Service was just right, and the drink in the bar beforehand was a great decision. Beautiful dining room and bar. We have eaten in 35 States in the last couple of years, and I cannot remember a better meal.

Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Thanksgiving Ever”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a lovely Thanksgiving at the rustic Peekamoose Restaurant this year. Everything here is locally grown/raised or pretty close anyway. The menu is based on whatever happens to be fresh and available.

We had made reservations, when we arrived the hostess asked us if we would like to wait for a table by the window or be seated immediately elsewhere. We opted to wait while having a drink in the rustic bar. The slection of craft beers is amazing and the winelist is incredible! For the wine-challenged, the list even has a description of every wine offered. The prix-fixe Thanksgiving menu included an appetizer, entree and dessert for $36 per person. Everything was excellent! The pumpkin dessert (a mousse or custard, I can't remeber what they called it) was phenomenal, the pumpkin was fresh, not canned. The service was friendly and attentive, even for a busy holiday.

I can recommend this place without hesitation. We had a lovely, romantic evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryregent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Place gets busy because the food is good”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We ate here with a group of 4 a few months back. The place was absolutely packed, we had a reservation and did not wait long to be seated. The service was rather slow (10 min + to get a drink or refill) but the waiter did a decent job otherwise.

The food was amazing!

Apps were large enough to share, very creative in their flavor combinations and very tasty.

I had the pork loin entree and WOW! I didn't know pork could be so good, really great.To clarify, I mean great like this meal ruined me for all other pork dishes I will ever eat, none will compare. Others in the group had the short ribs and roasted chicken and everyone was pleased. I think the pork and short ribs were enjoyed slightly more than the chicken though.

Dessert was very good as well but dinner was definitely the star of the show, as it should be.

Entrees ranged from $17-$30, they have a great beer selection and a pretty solid wine selection.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Four20AllDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peekamoose Restaurant also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Pine Hill, Catskill Region
 

Been to Peekamoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing