We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing time with family”
Review of Cold Spring Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cold Spring Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
1 review
“Great relaxing time with family”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We liked our stay and planning to come back- kids and adults enjoyed the fresh air, nature's views and cozy setting. The service was great- our requests were satisfied speedily and courteously. We liked the outdoors and the warmth of a fireplace in a family atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmoozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
41
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I returned to Cold Spring Lodge this March after an absence of close to 2 years. I was happy to say the place was as great as when I was last up there. The new manager is a local person so the place has not become too “citified” like some other places in the area. The land is as beautiful as ever, and I can’t wait to return in the late spring for some good hiking. Next year I am hoping to come up for turkey hunting season, the back hill around the stream directly behind the cabins was packed with them. If you are looking for a break from the city, this is the spot. I highly recommend Cold Spring to all who enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Went up in January with a bunch of ladies. We had a ball. Everyone is so nice and it is beautiful up there. Close to great food and cute shops. They went out of their way to accomodate anything we needed. Definitely going back this summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina_688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Last summer, me, my sister and my daughter were looking something trying to escape from the hot city to some place with nature, secluded dwelling, pool, quite neighbors. And we found one - Cold Spring Lodge. The price was fair, perfect location, far from the main road, separate house and a lot of green grass around, deers, bunnies are everywhere. I recommended this place to my friends and they stayed there too and were very satisfied. Although kitchen and cafe n the main building were closed, we went to buy food on our own and cooked in our houses's kitchen. Also you can you grill outside on the porch. Nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at Cold Spring in mid Jan 2014. The beginning of my experience with Cold Spring was very positive. I emailed the lodge late night asking if they had availability and they responded almost immediately (within 1/2 hour at 12 midnight!). I was very impressed! The manager (I believe her name is Joan) was so friendly upon arrival and very willing to answer all questions we had. Given the fact that we arrived fairly late day #1 (around 8pm), we ate at a local restaurant (Peek-a-moose --- I highly recommend) and retired to bed early. The next morning I awoke to the sound of what I thought was the house settling. I dozed off and then was quickly awakened again by the same sound. At this point, I decided to wake up and shower. As I was stepping out of the shower, I hear my sister scream and tell me that she just saw a mouse scurrying around in the kitchen (I realized at this point that the sound I heard must have been mice crawling in the walls). I quickly dressed and looked in the kitchen. I saw the mouse in the kitchen and thought well it is winter, its not a big deal. We then went out for approx. 4 hrs. Upon our return, we noticed there were MULTIPLE mice running from a closet in the kitchen to the area behind the stove. There was some sort of mouse bait there, and one at a time, they would run, then eat the bait and then run back inside the pantry. We stood there for over 15 mins and could not believe how many mice we saw running back and forth. We decided we could not stay a minute longer and checked out about 12 hrs early. I'd also like to note that the mouse problem was so bad that we checked out in the middle of the night. The amount of mice in the cabin was indicative of a severe infestation that was obviously not properly managed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank NatalieGpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kundapa W, Owner at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and experienced mice issues. Thank you for letting us know. We really appreciate it. We actually have never had other guests complaining about the mice infestation. Our lodge manager checked with other guests who stayed at the same cabin you did a few months before and after your stay and no one experienced any mice issues. After receiving your review, we had our maintenance staff check to see if there were any holes in the wall and any signs of mice infestation and he could not find any. We also contacted an exterminator to investigate the issues and the result was no mice infestation. Our apologies again for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Finding this place was like finding my very own treasure. The altitude on this side of the mountain is so calm and peaceful, it really allows you to re-connect with yourself from the hustle and bustle of busy NYC. Upon every visit my experience keeps getting better as I discover new trails and activities. With the help of Joan, the most thoughtful and informative hotel manager, you are sure to have a memorable experience. The rooms are very neat and spacious and the fireplace helps make a most cozy and relaxing ambiance. The hotel office is very helpful therefore, do not hesistate if you have any questions. I wouldn't worry about cell phones or laptops while on your visit to ColdSprings rather bring a nice book or a camera to really get out and explore Nature. It's a great place for couples as well as children, as it has a little bit of something for everyone and enough space for everyone to really enjoy their moments of peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ieasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauvelt, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family stayed in a cabin at Cold Spring Lodge for three nights over the New Years holiday. Upon arrival we were all pleasantly surprised by the well stocked spacious and clean cabin. We were concerned that we may have forgotten some things that we may need for the 4 day 3 night stay, but everything we needed was there. The proximity to skiing and some great food was perfect, yet just far enough off the beaten path to give you the feel of being in your own little wilderness. Warming up in front of the fire after a day of skiing was priceless. Being able to bring our dog Sierra was a big plus. She had plenty of room to run and play without being a disturbance to others staying at the lodge. The best part of this place is the staff and service. Joan and the young men that were helping her could not have been more friendly and accommodating. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask and it was taken care of with a smile. There were friends of ours staying at another location and we kept telling them that we couldn't believe how the people at Cold Spring Lodge went out of their way to make sure that everything was as you needed and that nothing was going to interfere with you having a great stay. We are already planning another trip to Cold Spring Lodge with a group of families for a long ski weekend. Thanks Joan and staff!!

Room Tip: Cabin 5 is at the end of the row of cabins so it feels a little more offset from the others. Cabin 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
17.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
19.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
288 reviews
24.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
17.8 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
47 reviews
20.0 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Spring Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Lodge

Property: Cold Spring Lodge
Address: 530 Oliverea Rd, Big Indian, NY 12410-5322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cold Spring Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round lodging featuring two and three bedroom efficiency cabins with wood burning fireplaces located in the Catskill Mountains. For lovers of hiking, skiing, hunting, tubing, fishing, tennis, golf, sitting by the fireplace, or enjoying the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cold Spring Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Big Indian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing