We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, peaceful spot.”
Review of Cold Spring Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cold Spring Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely, peaceful spot.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay here with friends. Needed a bit of peace after a manic week in NYC. Lovely spot, peaceful and quiet. Great campfires and amazing stargazing. Went for a couple of hikes, well marked trails but a bit hot for mountain climbing! Nice little towns nearby but would suggest bringing most of the food you will need. Cabin reasonably well equipped, snug for 4 adults and not enough comfortable chairs. Cabins need a bit of TLC, and I think the new owners have a renovation plan. Brad (manager) could not have been more helpful, and great company! if you want a nice cabin in the woods experience, but not too far from everything, then this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbeeDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
41
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I have been going here since I was a kid, always a great trip. New owners are making improvements while retaining the wilderness feel of the place. Attention hunters: come the fall make this a stop spotted big bucks up the back mountain and if you go for turkey, they are all over the clearings up the mountain. Leave the city attitudes behind and go up, have a beer and relax by the campfire!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The amenities are you would expect in your average cabin. Clean, pleasant and very good service. Fireplace worked great and the property is nice. Far enough from the main roads to feel secluded and close enough to drive to the next town over for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank af2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

spent the weekend with my brothers and our 8year old daughters,in a really cool 3 bedroom cabin in big indian ny,plenty of room girls loved the outdoor setting and surrounding areas,were a little scared at night,but that just added to the adventure.it was a great ski trip,looking foward to a awsome fishing trip in the summer.my daughter keeps saying "when are we going back to the cabin"as if it were her own,all I say is soon.

Room Tip: all the cabins seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
17.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
19.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
288 reviews
24.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
17.8 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
47 reviews
20.0 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Spring Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Lodge

Property: Cold Spring Lodge
Address: 530 Oliverea Rd, Big Indian, NY 12410-5322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cold Spring Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round lodging featuring two and three bedroom efficiency cabins with wood burning fireplaces located in the Catskill Mountains. For lovers of hiking, skiing, hunting, tubing, fishing, tennis, golf, sitting by the fireplace, or enjoying the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cold Spring Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Big Indian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing