We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likely the best in the area”
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Likely the best in the area”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent many hours researching where to stay and shied away from this place due to its 2 night minimum stay. Since we were only going to a wedding, we figured we didn't need 2 nights. However, based on our researching we couldn't find a comparable place so we stayed the 2 nights and LOVED it! We can't wait to go back and get another break from the city area. The breakfast is great, and you even get a quart of milk included. The kitchen is really a fully functional kitchen so you can easily make this a home away from home. We're looking forward to returning when the weather is nicer so we can take advantage of those grills and smokers in the back.

If I have to give one piece of constructive criticism it would be that the shower water temperature tends to randomly shift on you; its minor but worth noting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    58
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
78
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Kill, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I recently lost my whole house to a fire, being left with no where to go with my two dogs. When Michele, the owner heard of my situation, she did not hesitiate to say YES that they have a room for us. Michele has extended her arms in such a gracious way to me, to make my devasting situation into a caring, clean, cozy, comfortable, generous, loving one. Words cannot describe the feelings that Michele, her family and her staff (Lucy) gave so willing. While I was staying there (for 1 month), I noticed that Michele treats ALL her guests with such care, making sure everything is to their satisfaction. She definitely goes above and beyond. The accomodations you receive are much better by far than the larger hotels/motels. I would highly recommend the Starlite to everyone, no matter what season it is. There is a nice backyard area for gatherings, firepits, bbq's and more. Having these extras in a motel, made my stay a lot easier. They are really great, loving people. I will never forget them all. Thank you for being you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I am pleased to recommend the Starlite Motel if you are visiting the Catskill region for skiing or other recreation. The motel is located about 1 mile east of the Belleayre Mountain Access Rd. Upon arrival I was greeted by Jean, who checked me in and gave me my Breakfast Basket, filled with cereals, muffins, granola bars and milk. She is very friendly and made me feel quite at home. Cell service, depending upon your carrier, is not very good in the area. One of the KEY advantages for AT&T and other major carriers is that the motel possesses a Micro Cell (sort of a mini cell tower). All I needed to do was give my phone number, which was entered into the computer, and I immediately had cell service. The room itself is basic but very nice and clean complete with a kitchen. Television not only has cable , but also RokoTV which allows you to stream shows from many sources including Netflix, Blockbuster and HBOgo (all free). After a day of hard skiing and another to follow I was able to just "veg out" and enjoy television. The motel is also located near several restaurants and about a 1/2 mile east of Belleayre Shopping Plaza. This was my first time as a guest but won't be my last!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was very nice for a motel-style room. Decorated very cute - I loved the bathroom especially, it felt very homey and like my mom set it up for me. You can tell that this place is run by someone who really cares. It was nice to have the kitchenette to toast the bagels that came with the room and make tea - there was also cereal and there was milk in the fridge, as well as some granola bars and a muffin. Very conveniently located by Belleayre. I would definitely come back.

Also, I wanted to get my ski voucher for the day that I checked in, early in the morning, and the receptionist left the vouchers for me right on the door - good customer service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skigirl163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Needed inexpensive close to Belleayre, but didn't know area. Stayed at new farmhouse. Loved it. Great for family. Close to ski, Peekamoose, clean, great common spaces. Construction finishes bit rough.

Room Tip: The farmhouse is actually 1/2 mile down the road from the motel, and very easy to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyelspikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks so much, for taking the leap of faith and being one of the first guests at our farmhouse. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Rest assured that all the aestetic trimmings will be completed before the summer, hence our introductory 3rd night free promotion through the winter. Admittedly, our priority has been on making the house function in time for the many skiers' requests we've had, for more rooms and spaces that allow families and larger groups to gather together in common spaces. I'm glad to see that we have achieved this with the Maplewood Farmhouse with its 4 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen and great room. Please stay tuned to our progress as we estimate full completion by the middle of May 2014. Meanwhile, take advantage of our current discount promotion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

we wanted a clean, well priced room, close to Bellearye mountain and that's exactly what we got. The Motel was very warm and accommodating. The breakfast basket was a wonderful touch filled with coffee and cereal and muffins. The room was exactly as advertised and I'm certain that it's great in the summer as well--with the grills and outdoor picnic tables. I'd definitely stay here again. Thanks Starlite!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

It was a great staying. Michelle was awesome, and nice. She help out for dining recommendation, locations and vouchers discount for lift tickets. The place was clean and quite. It was so close to mountain. Wonderful customer service....We will be back again. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
3.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
89 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
17.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
52 reviews
17.5 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Property: Starlite Motel
Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing