We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at the Starlite Motel”
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty, Missouri, United States
1 review
“We loved our stay at the Starlite Motel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I knew when I saw the pictures online of how each room was painted and decorated in such a beautiful decor that this is the place we were to stay. When we arrived, the room felt so welcoming, not anything like a room at the Holiday Inn. The room was very clean. We loved the food basket with such a great variety of choices. It was great to have a backyard, as well. We had our own picnic table and grill. The outdoor rooms to sit in and relax outside were great and very comfortable.The wifi worked great with no problems. The kitchen was very well stocked. Michelle was very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend others to do so as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    55
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
77
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very clean room-quiet and scenic location.Almost like a slight step back in time (in the best possible way).Good beds,well equipped kitchen INCLUDING kettle if you look.Breakfast as much as I needed.Michelle very friendly and helpful .Excellent value and less than two and a half hours from NY City(and a world away)

Room Tip: They are all about the same,equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon in anticipation of our Sunday bicycle trip. We were welcomed with a wonderfully clean room with a breakfast basket and coffee ready to be brewed in the morning (and milk was also provided). TV and WI-Fi provided, nice little kitchen with frig all utensils and kitchen wares provided for those who would like to cook in, bathroom was small but very clean. Back yard was wonderful... picnic tables, B-B-Qs, screen rooms, fire pit, candles, etc. Michelle was very pleasant and helpful (came out back and hooked up my iPhone to a powered speaker for us). Ahhh...fire, music, drinks! Nice! We'll be back.

Also, Peekamoose down the road for some great dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingPlaces41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have a very lovely stay in the Catskills over Labor Day weekend. Room was large with kitchen. The breakfast basket was nice and the extra touch of a pint of milk in the refrigerator for coffee and cereal was an unexpected suprise. Very friendly and good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bnei Dror ,Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family crossed the Catskills and after just landing in the States, we needed a decent place in a great location and this is what Starlite Motel provided us with the great hospitality of Michel, the place owner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoronZohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first visit to the Catskills and we my sister found this place on-line. We had a great time. When we checked in we received a bag of marshmallows and sticks to roast them over the open fire pit they have in the backyard. Our room was clean although a bit dated. A fully equipped kitchen came in very handy as we brought food and drinks along. Close to a nice park with beach and Kaaterskill Waterfalls, very cool!!! We had dinner at the Peekamoose one night and the food and service were excellent!!!! The back door from the kitchen opened up to a big back yard with picnic tables, charcoal grills, chairs, fire pit, screened in room and even a swing bench. Basket with various breakfast items and did I mention the quart of milk waiting in the fridge for us to use. Pots, pans, dishes, glasses and silverware for 4. All in all we highly recommend the Starlite Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlettaS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent in every way! Comfortable and spotless; a quiet place where you can really rest and recharge. A great kitchen with a gift basket full of surprises. I also enjoyed the free whole milk!
So pleasant, I could live at the Starlite and proudly call it home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
3.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
88 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
290 reviews
17.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
48 reviews
23.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
4.4 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Property: Starlite Motel
Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing