We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at Starlite Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience at Starlite Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

10 of us stopped at Starlite for 1 night of a motorcycle trip. The owner Michelle was really nice and friendly. The place was full of amenities. Each room got a breakfast basket. There is even fresh milk in the frig. The rooms were very clean with extra towels. There were BBQ at the back with candles, lights, bug repellents, screened patio with comfortable chair. A++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikingJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Pleasing a large group of well travelled folks, is sometimes challenging. But you guys are super easy. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    51
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
72
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Altamont, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went with three friends to see Manhattan Transfer at Belleayre Mountain. I wasn't sure what this place would be like, but it was very close to the mountain and easy to get to. When we arrived we were all pleasantly surprised. While not "fancy", it was clean and comfortable and the staff had gone out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, including a large variety of breakfast foods and real milk in the fridge for our coffee and cereal. An added feature was a very nice "back yard" where we met some fellow travelers who were sitting around the open-air fireplace. Each unit had its own picnic table and barbeque grill and there were two nicely furnished outdoor structures for those who wished to be outside but in a covered, screened-in area. Next time we go to an event at the Belleayre Music Festival, we will definitely stay at the Starlite. It would also be a great place for people who go to Belleayre to ski in the winter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you ladies. We look forward to your return. Belleayre always has a lot of fascinating concerts lined up for the Summer. We're very lucky to be located within 3 miles. So I'm sure we'll see you lovely ladies again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rockaway, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Starlite has got to be the best motel in the Catskills.Michelle and her staff couldn't be nicer,and her recommended restaurants-the Peekamoose,for example,rivals anything in the city-are perfect.
And,for me,the motel's location is ideal;interesting small towns to explore and nearby trails to hike.
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertms_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Yay!! Thank you for making us your home away from home in the Catskills. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

my husband and son attened a concert on saturday. They enjoyed the wonderfur room atStarlite motel.tjhe vroom was very clean with nice towels. They enjoyed the country breakfast in their room. The owner was very nice ans suggested Peekamoose reataurant which provided an excellent meal. My husband plans to take me to the motel soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryfemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Starlite Motel has everything you need for a great trip. It has a full kitchen with everything: a stove, microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee pot, and more. There are plenty of BBQ grills in the rear of the motel if you want to have a cookout. The rooms are clean and comfortable. This is a nice place to stay in the Catskills for couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfemia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Starlite. The details and all the extras were a pleasant surprise. The room was clean, had all the items their website claimed. The kitchen was perfect and each room also has a BBQ in the rear of the property, along with picnic tables. Nice for families that like to cook and not have to go out for all meals!! Be sure to check out all the candles and lanterns that light up in the back in the evening - such a nice touch! I will definitely be staying here again. I do recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a pleasant surprise the Starlite was for a band of gypsies traveling all over the area in search of a place to stay. When plans at our original destination fell through, 10 of us were left "homeless" and desperate for a bed. We were all so pleased with the accommodations here. Each room is decorated in such a cute and funky retro style, and comes with a kitchen, and a complimentary breakfast basket. Beds were comfy, and our favorite part was the backyard space. Each room had a door in the back that led to your own deck space with a grill. Beyond that were screened in gazebos where we all would gather for laughs, drinks and roasted marshmallows. The woman who runs the place was a complete doll. The Starlight saved our vacation. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
3.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
1.2 mi away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gateway Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Property: Starlite Motel
Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing