We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, very clean, welcoming and warm feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value, very clean, welcoming and warm feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

For what it is, an inexpensive roadside motel , I give Starlite 5 Stars. We were attending a wedding nearby and decided to take a chance and stay here. We were happy we did. Spankingly clean and obviously lovingly looked after. The room was spacious, and had a little kitchenette. Open the back door and you have a backyard ! picnic tables grills, etc....
The beds were very comfortable .
Its NOT the Ritz , isnt trying to be , but I would defintely stay here again should I be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing us and thanks for taking the time to spread the word. Your 5 stars mean the world to us. Meeting and exceeding guests expectations, tells me that we're on the right track. I hope your travels will allow you to return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    52
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
72
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband, my dog and I stayed at the Starlite Motel over my birthday weekend. We were extremely comfortable and felt looked-after. There is a lovely back yard area with charcoal grills, lawn chairs, a fire pit and two screened-in gazebos. After coming back from dinner Sunday night, we sat with the manager, his son and his mother around the fire pit and talked. The family that runs the Starlite are just nice people. The room was clean and spacious, and it was great to have the stove and fridge. We visit this area frequently and I can say that we will be happy to stay at the Starlite again when we do. - NYC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietAmericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Happy Birthday again! We love it, when our guests make themselves at home in our great outdoors. We think it's what sets us apart as a Catskills Hotel, country-quaint and cozy. We look foward to you and your family visiting us again and again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Catskills, this is the place to go! Michelle will do anything in her power to make sure your stay is nothing less than perfect. The room was clean and very spacious, as well. Not to mention, the breakfast basket was the cherry on top! The grounds are well kept, dotted with picnic tables for you to take in the natural beauty of the mountains. In the backyard, there are closed in areas to eat as well. Family friendly, but great for a couple as well. Definitely give this place a shot! =)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much! We are still working toward prfection. But it warms my heart to be appreciated for the little things and to know that you felt the love in what we do. Please come again and bring friends too, lots and lots of friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at the Starlite. I found the motel on line. The price was great and the room was very clean and it had a family feel to it. The kitchen was great, even better with the basket of breakfast goodies. I felt more comfortable here than at many of other motels I have stayed at. But to me the backyard was a very special tough, with it's enclosed summer rooms and grills and tables. Michelle even had citronella candles to keep away the bugs. She thought of everything. I will be staying there again. Also telling all my friends and family about the Starlite.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much. We look foward to your return with your friends. We really enjoy seeing guests utilizing our outdoor spaces. Whether grilling, picnicing, playing badminton, playing cards or board games in the screened rooms or just having a quiet breakfast in the gazebo, we do what we can to encourage the Catskill outdoor experience. Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Starlite is amazing. Michelle is more than helpful with everything. Its a family environment. We stayed in a room with a queen and a double bed, and there were 3 adults a 3 year old and a 7 month old, and we were comfortable. Michelle stocked milk in our fridge to go with the bountiful basket of cereal, muffins, coffee, and other baked goods that she brought to us.
The full kitchen was great, as was the Webber grill each patio has. The fire pit out back kept us busy in the evenings. The closed in patios kept the bugs off of us. The many animals we saw kept us in awe with nature. There was a porcupine in the tree outside our room one morning! AMAZING for our 3 year old!
Id say its more like a Bed and Breakfast than a Motel, the way you are treated there. Even all the other guests were great, with hellos to full conversations.
If you could fill all 8 rooms with family or friends, you would have the time of your lives!
Stay here for a great experience and to support great people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
You are very kind. And wow, a porcupine? That is a very special Catskill experience. We look foward to your return with your friends and relatives. We may not be able to recreate that experience but we'll do all we can to make them feel right at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I found this motel online!!! It was a toss between this one and another one!! We decided on the Starlite because it had a kitchen. We were so happy to walk in and see an emaculate room and kitchen!! A basket of cereals,granola bars,coffee and bagels in a basket and fresh milk in the refrigerator. What an amazing surprise!! We arrived late so our key was in the door. Michelle is so sweet and so nice. It definately is "Home away from Home"! We already have another resevation made for next month! We can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffandCol2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you so much. Your return is the biggest compliment we could ever ask for. We look foward to being your "home away from home" in the Catskills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at the Starlite 3 years ago for Memorial Day weekend (we visit the Catskills every year at that time). This is before the new website and the renovations...and we liked so much we tried to come back the following year. Unfortunately, the entire motel was booked for a wedding party (smart people!!) so we had to stay elsewhere. The "elsewhere" was ok, but we wanted to get back to the Starlite. This year we will have the opportunity, and we can't wait! The ability to book the motel through the website was much appreciated (the previous method of "phone tag" didn't work all that well), and we can't wait to see the "new and improved" Starlite. It was great before (the breakfast basket is a charming and much-appreciated touch we've never experienced anyplace else), but if the photos are ANY indication of the improvements, we'll be back year after year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH_Scruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Eureka! This is what we strive for; to make the Starlite "a home away from home in the Catskills", a place where the whole family wants to return year after year, a tradition that everyone looks foward to.
-Adding some of the hi-tech amenities is something we realized we just had to do, like flat screem TV, DVD players and free WIFI. We are finally pleased that our Wifi signal is strong in all our rooms, even in the backyard.
- Being almost a one-man-show, made it impossible to avoid phone tag in some cases. I have to agree that Online-booking is one of the best things we have ever done for our guests and ourselves. Following up with an email gives guests the opportunity to ask questions about their accomodations and nearby attractions. It has enhanced our communication with guests in a way that is convenient to everyone.
- We have completed renovations in 3 of our 8 rooms. These have been well received. We will continue our renovations in this manner til all our rooms reflect an Updated-Catskill-Charm.
We look foward to your family making a home here at the Starlite Motel.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
3.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
1.2 mi away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pine Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Property: Starlite Motel
Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing