We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
201
77
8
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
77
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast basketpicnic tablesgranola barsfull kitchenfire pitbagelsmilk in the fridgeroom was cleanhome away from homebelleayre mountainplace to stayscreened in porchsmall kitchencharcoal grillpots and pansdefinitely stay here againdouble bed
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 293 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Let's start with the great service. The proprietor calls you up a few days before arrival to ask what time you plan to arrive, and if you want to get Belleyare tickets. She tells you the room number and you're all set. Just pull up to the room and the key is in the door, the continental breakfast is ready and your tickets are in an envelope. The motel is nicely laid out and very easy to find from the main road - RT 28. A big plus when the weather is bad and you just want to get there. You just pull in the driveway and park the car right in front of your room. The rooms will fit two adults and a child comfortably the kitchen is well sized and the bathroom is warm and stocked with comfortable towels. I can't mention enough how nice it is to have a well heated room and bathroom. It get's cold in the catskills and nothing like a well heated room to take the chill out of the bones after a long day skiing.
We highly recommend this motel. It's just two miles down the road from Belleayre and is our favorite place to stay for a weekend.
A few notes:
Cell phone service is very spotty in the area. If you have gear with Wi-fi bring it
The breakfast is typically a mix of cereal, a couple muffins, nature valley bars, roll or bagel and some butter and jelly.
Whole milk is in the fridge and regular coffee is included. Make sure to ask for decaf if you want it.
There are not a lot of restaurants or stores in the area, if you have special diet needs bring your own food otherwise the hotel stocks some goodies like ramen, etc.
Best restaurant in the area is Peekamoose a mile down the road going east on 28.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Thank you for choosing us. And thank you for this great review. Express Check-in and preparing in advance for late arrivals makes life easier for our guests and us too. Turning the heat up just right, breakfast waiting in your room and anything else like ski tickets, menus, movies, extra towels; is our way of making sure you feel at home. In fact, if you let us know 2 days in advance that you have a preference for skim milk and decaf coffee, that's what you'll find in your room. If during your stay you never have a chance to connect with us, feel free to call or email me with your feedback, good or bad. This is how we continue doing what works and improve on what needs work. Thanks again and see you next ski season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

the rooms were great, clean and warm and welcoming!

Room Tip: no complaints of any room
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

It's always a pleasure serving you. You've stayed with us so many years that we look foward to your visits every year. Thank you for making us your home away from home in the Catskills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

my family and i needed a place to stay for skiing on the winter weekends close to belleayre mountain. this motel is absolutely the best option in the area. the owner is sincerely friendly, helpful and kind. the room and the bathroom were very clean and the bathroom was well stocked with good towells, shampoo, etc. the room was nicely decorated and the mattresses were great. we saved money by staying here because we did not have to eat out and we cooked simple meals in the kitchen which was stocked with dishes, flatware, pots and pans. what really amazed my husband and me was that everyday after coming back from skiing, the house keeper had washed our dishes and cleaned up the kitchen!!! in addition, the owner stocks the room everyday with a breakfast basket which includes muffins, butter, single serving cereal, nature valley energy bars and a quart of milk is put in the frig! the price is very reasonable but best of all the palce was quiet at night and we actually got to relax and watch televsion and enjoy our weekends skiing without having to worry about going broke by the time the ski season ended. GREAT PLACE...

Room Tip: room seven is a pet room; we bought our small terrier. room 8 and six are a litte fancier but all the rooms are comfortable and clean.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomzhighlandfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you. Thank you. We live for this kind of review. And hope to have many more like this. We are not perfect but strive to do our best to make guests feel at home. And little by little we continue to do upgrades to our rooms in a manner that would encourage guests to lengthen their stay or return as often as they can. Good value, functionality, convenience and the comforts of home is what we strive to provide guests with, as they come to the Catskills to Ski NY. After a long day out in the cold, a warm and comfy place is where you'll want to be. Mornings should be just as easy to get started, hence the continental breakfast basket in your room was born 11 years ago. Its contents seem relevant to most guests' needs. It is sufficient for 2 persons and a good starter kit for a larger family. We do not charge extra for kids, so that is an added value for families. Now that you've found us, we look foward to your staying with us every year at the Starlite Motel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I've just left this place about 4 hours ago and i had to come on here and make a review. After traveling for 2 and a half hour to come to this place for a stay, i felt that it was worth the trip in many ways. The room was cozy and comfortable and the bathroom was extremely clean. Although the kitchen was a little behind in technology/time; me being me, I can live with whatever is being provided. For a motel with kitchen, that's a big plus. Anyways, i was making coffee and the coffee pot poped and they were nice enough to replace it without asking anything in return. The TV and the WIFI was as well enjoyable. The lady or owner of the place was EXTREMELY nice. If i ever come back to Belleayre mountain to snowboard, I wouldn't have second thoughts of coming back to this place. Hopefully next time the kitchen will be better :) It's a motel, and it has a kitchen, so what more can i asked for the price they provide? Although the cheaper the better :P
- Too bad AT&T and T-Mobile have no service in this area what so ever.
-Thank you.

Room Tip: Nice and quite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thank you for your enthusiasm and kind words of encouragement. We also look foward to your return. I'm glad you mentioned our kitchens. It really is a pleasant surprize to most people who expect the basic motel. We've made sure to include kitchen neccessities such as, fridge, stove microwave, cofeemaker and toaster and all that it takes to prepare and serve a basic meal for 4 persons.
And just as we've upgraded all our bathrooms this past year, the year ahead will see more renovations. We have in fact, just completed our first 2 kitchen upgrades as well. They contain the same basic amenities but with a more modern decor.
Sorry that the cell phone service in the area is out of our control. I've heard it through the grapevine that this will change within the next year. Still, we do have phones in some of our rooms and sell phone-cards. Also most Verizon users and some AT&T users get service in our parking lot. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family and I stayed here on our Catskill vacation. It is a small motel with BIG rooms. The rooms are very clean, nice quilts, and we had a small kitchen with microwave and mini fridge. The owner was a very sweet woman and very cheerful. When we went to our room we had a breakfast basket, completely filled with name brand items. It included coffee, cereal bars, mini cereal assortment and wonderful large variety of muffins! what a delight! behind the motel was a large lawn, picnic tables, grills , chairs and 2 nice sized screen houses lit up. also the entire backyard was was surrounded by tall trees and woods. Just gorgeous! I would not have a problem living there year round if that were ever possible : ) the other renters were pleasant and friendly and adored this diamond in the rough as well! also convenient location surrounded by lil old towns!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thank you. We're looking foward to being "Your Home away from Home in the Catskills".
We continue to think of ways to make our rooms and outdoor space more functional and accomodating. We are now on facebook as well to stay in touch with everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews