We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice experience to add to a lovely weekend in Big Indian, NY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Unionville, CT
1 review
“A very nice experience to add to a lovely weekend in Big Indian, NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hostess is unusually gracious, helpful, and extremely generous. We were treated to totally unexpected breakfast baskets, an excellent selection of quick breakfast foods for those not quite up for preparing breakfast in the fully equipped kitchen provided. The bed and bath facilities are modest but fully adequate and in excellent repair, fresh and clean throughout. When invited to enjoy the backyard for a restful and lovely place to recoup, I thought she was joking. Not so. It turned out be be a lovely and peaceful environment where we got to know a few fellow travelers and put a nice conclusion to our evenings.

Room Tip: If coming from the West without a reservation, be on the look out. It's sort of hidden by a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nosterreic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you very much.
We thrive on making our guests feel at home. Plus, we really enjoy what we do and feel fortunate that we get to do it here in the Catskill Mountains.
In the Summer and Fall, having an outdoor experience in the Catskills, is a must.
This year we've made a few additions to the oudoors to encourage that; like more picnic tables scattered throughout the property, more grills so that each room has its own, more backyard lighting, and an additional screened in gazebo.
This past weekend, with the weather being as nice as it was, we were at an all time high with all of our guests enjoying the outdoor space. Families were grilling and picnicing, couples were sitting out relaxing and groups of friends were dining in our screened-rooms and playing board games and card games into the late night.
This was Euphoria for us. I'm glad you were a part of it.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    51
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
72
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband, myself, our pets and sometimes friends have stayed at the Starlite for almost a decade on our annual fly fishing trip. We love it here. This is not a luxury spa or an overly precious B&B. It is totally Catskills--an upgraded older motel with efficiency kitchen and utensils, something essential to us when we are fishing early AM or late evening. Michelle has worked very hard on a recent upgrade and will do anything to make you comfortable during your stay. Now all the rooms have Wi-Fi. Best of all is the back yard, like one big sunny outdoor room nestled against the ridge. We grill almost every night and there are picnic tables to eat outside or a screened in porch if you want to escape the bugs.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2flyfishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you. We always look foward to your return throughout the years. And although we have formed a longterm bond with many of our guests, be assured that we won't take this for granted. Growing with the times and meeting guests' expectations is just as important to us, as maintaining our Catskills charm. You are always welcome. And again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

went skiing at Beleayre Mountain with the family, wife and two kids(11 & 12). The mountain was like a mile away and the rooms were really well priced. The 'luxery hotel" in the area is at least 20 miles away from the skiing and they want somewhere around $400+ a night. For what? Seriously. Our room had cable, wi-fi, and a whole kitchen. It was awesome. They give you a giant gift basket with muffins, coffee, milk, and other stuff. Seriously, this is the only place I will stay when I come back up.

Room Tip: Ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajo828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you. It's nice to see that we've lingered on your mind, in a nice way (smile).
Since your stay in January, we've been busy making upgrades to the Starlite Motel, which you can see on our new website. By next Winter we'll have additional ammenities in our rooms that can help keep the kids and adults entertained, so be sure to ask.
If you liked Belleayre in the winter, don't miss out on their Summer Events, not to mention all the other activities the Catskill Region has to offer. Check them out on our new website and please follow us on facebook. See you soon. And thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

My family an I have stayed at the Starlite multiple times over several years. We have visited in the fall to admire the foliage, attend the Margaretville cauliflower festival and in the summer to enjoy the Pine Hill lake/beach, just minutes away. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are modest, cozy and accomodating. The breakfast baskets are a nice treat and the muffins provided are very yummy. We always enjoy the back yard and utilize the grills available to barbecue as well as roast marshmallows with our children. The owners are always very hospitable and extremely nice. We will continue to return to the Starlite in the future as it feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look foward to your familiy's visits and feel like you've come home when you're here. It is a delight for us to see our guests enjoy the property and give life to our vision. Now that summer is peeping at us, we look foward to many families like yours, returning home to the Starlite Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We booked four rooms for four families with small kids who all skied and celebrated New Year's there. We all enjoyed the stay, and kids had a blast. Rooms were clean and warm. There were breakfast baskets, but we brought tons of food so I didn't care about them. The room closest to the office had a large kitchen and served as the party room for all of us. WiFi was great in that room, but a couple of rooms further from the office the signal was too weak. They have mobile signal booster, but I didn't have reception (Verizon). The owner was very friendly and helpful in pointing us to the local stores. We took advantage of discounted ski lifts. Overall, this was a great place to stay for the money.

Room Tip: Get the room closest to the office!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoranLazarevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer
I remember your group well. You were a dream to host; low maintenance, no disturbance to any other rooms, yet clearly you were all having a great time. I even got some of that Birthday cake, Yumm.
I'm happy to say that since then we've solved our teething problems with our internet signal by placing a signal extender at a central location on the property. So now, even our very last room #8 has a fair-to-good signal and the other rooms have a good-to-excellent signal. Whoopee!

Our Cellphone signal is still random, in spite of our booster. We know how important it is to stay connected. And even with in-room phones in some of our rooms, we know that today's traveller relies on their cellphones and smartphones, as do we. So we are working on it. There is one spot on the property where we have observed the best signal and we've placed benches there. We recognize that this is not the most convenient situation and that in the winter it is covered in snow. But trust me, we won't give up.

Hope to see you and your extended family next winter holiday. Thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

I have stayed at the Starlite Motel upstate NY before and have always been more than satisfied, but now I am happy to report that it is better than ever. The bathrooms are updated, clean as a whistle and lovely. The personal touches show an attention to detail and the location is perfect - right near Belleayre Ski Center and the Pine Hill Lake State Park - another little known gem in the Catskills. Starlite continues to be my headquarters for hiking (outstanding in this area), fishing and the Summer Concert series at Belleayre.
Plus, the rates are more than reasonable!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunnybunny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer
It is our vision to become a "Home away from home, in the Catskills" to all our guests. It warms my heart whenever I see that we've achieved this. There is so much to do here in our region. It may not be Disneyworld, but people who find their niche of activities here in the Catskills are able to create family rituals and memories that last a lifetime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed just one evening (Friday in March) with wife and teenage child. If you are seeking comments and reviews for this establishment, you already should know what to expect. This is in no way a knock on the property just a reality on what the review will entail.

The Starlite is a "mature" roadside motel set in the Big Indian area for travelers seeking what this area brings them....fishing, skiing at nearby Belleayre, festivals, summer activities, passing through. Single story, 8 or so units. This review is based on others in this category. The units are dated with dark paneled walls, older furnishings, a very old kitchen area and a valiant attempt in updating the bathrooms. The key here with motels in this category is not in luxuries, but practical usage and cleanliness. Both rank high. The beds were comfortable. Attempts to upgrade the beddings using memory foam are appreciated and a good effort. The rooms are clean, in fact, very clean. Soft towels, plenty of them, even utensils in the kitchen (we used the plates) were clean. The rugs were great, the bathroom floors recently updated with vinyl flooring. Water was hot and pressure in the shower was great. If you are staying here, your requirements should simply be safe, clean and comfortable. They are excellent in these categories compared to other motels of this type.

The folks running the place are extremely friendly. They provide a great morning breakfast goodie bag that is well thought out and a phenomenal touch. For the price ($77 with tax late ski season), this place was a steal. For those skiing in Belleayre, they are part of the association offering great value priced lift tickets.

All in all, this was a surprise for us and we felt this was a great value. There are other establishments nearby that offer more for more but for different clientele. This place nails it on value, cleanliness, friendly staff and convenience to the area attractions. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I recommend it to those who want everything that the above review describes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank We3ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your practical approach and that you were able to make so many observations on your short stay. As you can see, we make every effort to encourage guests to return and stay longer.

Our bathroom and bedding renovations have been well-received by our regulars. We've listened to our guests and our next renovation project is about to take place in the main room/bedroom of our units. We have a well thought out plan with the aim of brightening the rooms with overhead lighting, refacing or painting the walls and adding the same fine decorative details we've done in our bathrooms, like corner molding, chair rails and such. And then we move on to the kitchens as well.

Upon your return, I think you'll have even more details worth talking about and by then we should be able to show more than just "great value, cleanliness, functionality and convenient location". We hope that on a longer stay that all these details fade into the background so that all you feel is comfort. We hope to effect an emotional response from you and become your home in the catskills, where great family memories are formed; in Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
3.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
1.2 mi away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gateway Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Property: Starlite Motel
Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing