We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popei's Clam Bar

Popei's Clam Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Popei's Clam Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Bethpage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fresh food served from warn, friendly staff! Joe the owner, chief does an excellent job ensuring that your every taste bud is singing! I am a regular here!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    32
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood at a Good Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This little place is do great. The Shrimp and fish are fresh and tasteful. I try to go at least once a month for lunch

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Griselda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Huge portions of cooked to perfection Seafood. Wait staff is always friendly and accommodating, and the owner often comes out of the kitchen to check how the food/service is. Delicious free garlic bread. Place is especially amazing on the all you can eat shrimp night. This place is in a run down ugly strip mall and you would never just stop there, luckily I stumbled upon it when searching for a seafood restaurant in Nassau county. The fish is fresh and everything we have tried is great, including the italian food. This is a perfect place for the family. It is informal and loud and definitely not a romantic dinner but who needs romantic with food this good. Prices are fair and portions are huge. We share and still bring home loads of food. Don't miss this hidden gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theleeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau County, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bethpages' Little Seafood Secret..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are new to TripAdvisor but not new to Popei's Clam Bar. Warm and friendly causal atmosphere. Food is always fresh. Plates are filled to the rim with fresh lobster, clams, shrimp and all shell fish varieties.... not to forget the "waves" of other seafood there is for the asking. Love the "All you can eat" menu. Don't be embarrassed to ask for a bib you're gonna need it! The wait staff are friendly and accommodating. Popei's is Bethpages' little seafood secret..Enjoy !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Essopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Did I forget to mention WOW! This is truly one of the best crab legs I have ever had. Delicious in every way. Unlimited Crab legs all you can eat. It's $30, but it's worth every penny. It's Atlantic City taste in Bethpage, NY. Atlantic City came to Popei. Yummy! If I am ever in the area again, I will make sure to visit this fantastic restaurant. The owner is fantastic and he's the reason after the Lord of course, that this place is the best!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popei's Clam Bar also viewed

Bethpage, Long Island
Bethpage, Long Island
 
Bethpage, Long Island
 
Merrick, Long Island
Carle Place, Long Island
 

Been to Popei's Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing