We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”
Review of The Orient

The Orient
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Bethpage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“better than expected”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

hadnt been here in years. they were closed for renovations and I had heard it wasnt as good but better than or as good as any LI Chinese ive been to

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holeeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    52
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'm guessing they are new owners”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Though when I ask, they say no. Food not good as good. In fact, I didn't like the same fried rice I always ordered. Don't know what's going on there, but the only thing worth the money is the crunchy noodles for the soup.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid restaurant for dim sum”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My family and I went for dim sum lunch today and feasted. This restaurant have all the basic dim sums items down pat, such as steamed shrimp dumplings, steamed pork dumplings, fried buns with chives, steamed and baked bbq pork buns, sticky rice with chicken wrapped and steamed in lotus leaves, shrimps wrapped in rice noodles, turnip cake, spring rolls, mini pork ribs, sesame balls with sweet filling, etc., as well as a few of their own creations. Taste is mostly authentic, portions are right, and price is very reasonable ($66 for 4 adults). Weekends are very busy so try to arrive earlier for lunch.

Looking forward to going back soon to try out their dinner entrees.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeaniMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hands down.. the tastiest chinese food in Long Island!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hands down the tastiest non greasy creative and distinctive preparation anywere. Unique spices makes this place a gem. Jumbo shrimp prepared any style, choice of a variety of fish, chicken dishes are so unique that you will come back. Don't forget the house soup, another specialty. Needless to say, when a restaurant is reviewed and rated by The New York Times as the best of its kind in Long Island, it will be crowded at peak times. Here is the trick as you should know, go early before 6:30 PM or late after 830 PM and you will not have any problems being seated within 15 minutes. Always ask the waiter for their recommendations since there will be dishes not listed on the menu. You will not regret!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BORIS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never a let down”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I order from this place weekly and there is a reason I keep coming back. This place has to have one of the most extensive Chinese food menus on Long Island. I have only had takeout from this from this establishment and let me tell you it is some of the best takeout food I have ever had. They have dim sum available everyday until 3pm for takeout. A huge selection of interesting small dishes that I had been oblivious of until this place then seeing similar menus in Chinatown. I am absolutely hooked on their yat gaw mein. It is a very generous portion that will very much work as a meal. I'm sure if you ask the owner,he will suggest or prepare almost anything. Worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garrett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orient also viewed

New Hyde Park, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
Wantagh, Long Island
 

Been to The Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing