We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bethel Woods in full swing”

Bethel Woods Center for the Arts
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Bethel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bethel Woods Center for the Arts is a not-for-profit cultural organization committed to inspiring expression, creativity, and innovation through the arts. Located at the site of the 1969 Woodstock festival in Bethel, NY., just 90 miles from New York City on a lush campus featuring bucolic countryside views, the center is comprised of the Pavilion Stage amphitheater that accommodates 15,000, an intimate 440-seat indoor Event Gallery, and the award-winning Museum at Bethel Woods. The center offers a diverse selection of popular artists, culturally-rich performances, and educational and community programs that inspire creative expression and civic engagement to enrich the human spirit. Bethel Woods is exemplary in its efforts to engage, inspire and advocate for the accessibility of the arts for all ages and to connect with community partners to broaden programmatic reach and to strengthen support and resources for its activities.
Roscoe, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bethel Woods in full swing”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Finally, the concert season is here and you will not be disappointed. Bethel Woods has something for everyone. The Dave Matthews concert was a Sold Out success. My son attended that one again (it was sold out last year also) and had a ball. Audience well behaved and music unbelievable.
Coming up this weekend, something for us older concert goers, the New York Philharmonic(7/7/12) You will love it and it's not just unfamiliar music---"Tovey" always has a little of every type of music and then, to top it off, there are Fireworks and the 1812 Overture. Be there!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HILDA S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    68
    16
    7
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Great concert experience!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Attended a Dave Matthews Band concert here, and must say, having been to a LOT of concert venues throughout the US, this is definitely one of the nicest ones. The grounds are beautifully kept, and quite frankly are worth a visit even if you're not there to see a concert. The lawn is incredible, and the acoustics were excellent. The only negative is the entry and exit of the venue. Plan to arrive early, as in expect it to take an hour to get for the entrance off 17B to your parking spot. Expect it to take at least an hour to get out of the venue too, and then expect the back roads to be slow moving as well. Our hotel was 14 miles away. Concert ended shortly after 11pm, and we didn't get back to our room until after 1am. That aside, it's definitely still well worth it in my opinion. Arrive early to take in the Woodstock Museum, and the site of Woodstock too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDaveHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hippiedom gone wrong.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Went to see DMB last night. 12 dollar beers always seems to sum things up to me any more. We rented chairs for five dollars and ended up so far up the hill we couldnt see crap. Fair warning, theres nothing amplified that far back either so you cant hear crap. Staff WAS very friendly though, i saw one guy just ask a person to put out the joint they were burning, so pretty chill on that end. Do NOT bother with the bus service from the Monticello casino, it was the biggest cluster I have seen in a long while. The facility is quite beautiful, i wish we had the time to tour the museum, but how much crap can you tie to three days of mud and pot smoking, honestly?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Weezulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I visited here in 2011 for a music concert (Phish), and am going again in a few weeks for another concert (DMB). I was very impressed by my experience at Bethel Woods. I have been to many outdoor amphitheaters, and it is among the best. It may even be my very favorite. The viewing for concerts was great, it had a nice angle on the lawn and the lush grass was wonderful. The whole venue was well taken care of. I was worried about the drive in/out because of it being located in a small town, but it wasn't a problem when I went.

Also (and this is a big deal for people who go to a lot of concerts), they had real bathrooms and there were attendants in the bathrooms re-stocking and cleaning up during the show. That made the whole experience that much more pleasant.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank rachel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tasting”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a very beautiful area and property. I live a few miles from Bethel Woods and was there for a Wine Tasting event. It was a great time. Be sure to visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank bpak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bethel Woods Center for the Arts also viewed

 
Bethel, Catskill Region
Narrowsburg, Catskill Region
 

Been to Bethel Woods Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing