We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow”

The Museum at Bethel Woods
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bethel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

the real story of Woodstock and the Woodstock generation the ground put most country clubs to shame and don't miss the monument

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    68
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must stop in at the museum and relive history!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family spent over 4 hours at the museum and checking out the actual location of the Woodstock Music Festival. Lot's of history that took place when the world was different and people cared about each other. If you like music and history go and spend some time at the museum, you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hockey_FanPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unique Museum of the 1960's”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This museum offers an educational yet enjoyable way to learn about the Woodstock Festival of 1969. Even my two teenagers enjoyed the museum. In addition to the Woodstock exhibits, there are some other exhibits pertaining to other aspects of the 1960's. My only complaint is that I wished these exhibits included more information instead of a few sentences. This is why I gave a rating of 4 instead of 5. To cap off this wonderful museum visit, I highly suggest to walk outside to the field where the concert took place. Also there are paved walkways and beautiful landscaping on several acres adjoining the museum. My family and I spent about 3 hours there. My husband thought admission was a little pricey ($52 for a family of 4), but I thought the money was well spent for a unique part of American history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kota281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you came of age in the 60's (or 70's, even!) this is a sure hit”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wow. The museum is hands-down the best multi-media museum experience I have ever encountered. It explains the social, political and cultural context of the 60's, explores all details of the Woodstock festival, and examines the lessons that apply today. Allow 2.5 hours to leisurely experience every booth/display. Go on a day when it is less busy. The finale, in the movie theater, is uplifting and evocative. Wow.

Then, walk the hill and stage area of the original festival. Imagine 450,000 people there...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Willspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Remember "Our" Past in a Dramatic Way”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This past weekend I visited Bethel Woods Center for the Arts in Bethel, New York. During the summer there are many types of musical venues and guest artists at the Center, mostly held outdoors but sheltered from the elements.

However, there is the Museum at Bethel Woods in a large building which is on the site of the Woodstock concert (fiasco) which took place during August, 1969. The museum has a collection of photos, videos, interactives, clothes and memorabelia from that experience. Social events are also presented especially during the "season". All ages seem interested, and people who are now in their 50's - 70's seem to enjoy reliving that adventure if they were part of the "Woodstock Experience". Other people enjoy it just because they remember the experience of the concert. People who visit that site often are encouraged to become patrons and are given special priviledges for being such. Being a patron and attending many functions is a good way to meet neighbors and others who live in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum at Bethel Woods also viewed

 
Bethel, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Museum at Bethel Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing