We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lenhart
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bemus Point
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Redwood Ranch Motel(Bemus Point)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Athenaeum Hotel(Chautauqua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carey Cottage Inn(Chautauqua)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The North Shore(Chautauqua)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
22
18
9
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
18
9
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchrocking chairsthird floormemorial dayprivate bathchautauqua lakehigh school and college kidsbreakfast and dinnerhotel guestsincluded in room rateno credit cardstvcharmperiodsummertransomwallpaper
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 65 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Lenhart each Summer for over 20 years, we look forward to the day we get our annual postcard in the mail announcing the coming season.

The hotel is over 130 years old, so make sure you have your expectations firmly established. This is not a state of the art resort, rather a charming step back in time.

Rooms are a bit small and definitely no frills - you're in Bemus Point for the atmosphere, not an ultra luxury hotel. The front porch is lined with rocking chairs and offers a spectacular view of Chautauqua Lake. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room is always delicious and included with your stay.

Be sure to request a room with a private bathroom (remember, 130+ years old). We always try to get room #11, it's on the third floor and is away from the front porch which can be a bit loud at night with people enjoying the night.

Room Tip: Request a private bathroom
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My biggest grip, and there are many, is that their website fails to mention the hotel's lack of amenities. I'm sure it's intentional because if people really knew what they were getting into they probably wouldn't stay there. They have an obligation to be upfront about their establishment and I think it's a crime that they aren't. Yes they mention it was built in 1880 but no where does it say it hasn't been touched since then, no where does it say it isn't handicapped accessible, no where does it say there's no AC, and no where does it say there are no bell hops to carry my luggage up the stairs (no elevators). In this day and age these things are standard in any hotel and people shouldn't and wouldn't even think to have to ask if a hotel provides them or not. This is why the website must make the public aware of such deficiencies in order for people to make informed decisions with their money especially at the rate they charge. Had they been truthful and not deceptive, I could have saved myself the nightmare experience I had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have to admit that we have never stayed at the Hotel but we have frequented the bar a number of times as well as enjoyed sitting on the porch on the various colored rocking chairs enjoying a fantastic sunset over Chautauqua Lake.
This place is very charming and warm and historic. It's a throwback in time when customers were really valued and excellent customer service was a given.
Location, location, location, sunsets extrodinaire, great food and some neat shopping, summer concerts and movies (just a short walk) on the "floating stage", and more.
Now, if you stay there just be warned that there are not any air conditioners in the rooms (at least that's how it was). Aside from that you will just love the charm and friendleness of the staff and owners.

Room Tip: Rooms to the West/North west face the lake
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

One of the highlights of my summer was sitting on the lawn at the Hotel Lenhart with a warm day with a cool cocktail watching the sunset over Chatauqua Lake. The staff and the culture at this hotel makes you feel as if you are at your family lakehouse making memories. Bemus Point is a treasure in my own backyard!

Room Tip: You will not miss elevators or air conditioning. Put the fan in the window and even on the hottest day the lake breeze cools the room naturally.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a uniquely perfect place. Old-time charm and gorgeous location.

Go to the bar, have a 'Rocker' and sit in a rocking chair on the porch. That's all you need!

Family friendly but also great for couples. Very romantic and lots of nightlife in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainking61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews